Master’s degree in Iranian Studies (M.A.)




How is the study program structured?

Studies start in both the summer and winter semesters. The standard period of study is four semesters. The course of studies comprises altogether 120 credits, which are distributed as follows:

  • 78 C for the core studies (78 C mono MA or 42 C major subject + one other 36 C minor or two other 18 C minor subjects)
  • 12 C for key competencies
  • 30 C for the master’s thesis


What are the requirements for commencing studies?

The basic requirement is a B.A. degree with a grade of 3.0 or higher. Proof of applicable achievements totaling 50 credits is required for admission to the M.A. program, including basic knowledge of modern Persian (at least 36 C) and Iranian history and culture. Skills and certificates that are lacking can be acquired subsequently by means of a learning agreement.

The MA in Iranian and Persianate studies is an international program. The language of instruction in both the mono MA (78 C) and the major MA (42 C) is English. Theses can be submitted in English or German.

Language requirements :

Knowledge of English on the level of C1 or Knowledge of English on the level B2 in combination with knowledge of German on the level of DSH2.

The two MA-packages of 36 C and 18 C require sufficient knowledge of German, since some of the compulsory modules are taught in German.


What does the M.A. program of Iranian and Persianate Studies offer in Göttingen?

In the M.A. degree program students acquire knowledge of the concepts, methods and theoretical foundations for researching Iranian culture, religions, history and languages to prepare them for independent, specialist and interdisciplinary work in the public or private sector later. They can specialize in topics relating to religious and cultural studies, history or linguistics. Indo-Persian studies are one area of specialization in Göttingen. The study program also provides the basis for a further academic qualification (PhD).

The media in present-day Iran (press, film, Internet) and means of communication in the pre-Islamic and Islamic past are examined in their respective cultural context. Different methods of discourse, media and text analysis and interpretation are applied and developed by means of specific research questions. Besides printed material, manuscripts and records as well as news media, film and internet are also analyzed


How can I combine Iranian Studies with another subject in the M.A. program?

In the M.A. degree program you can do Iranian Studies as as Mono MA, as the major subject or as minor subjects in two module packages of varying credit value

  • 78 C mono master – no other subjects / modul packages are required
  • 42 C major subject in combination with one other subject/module package worth 36 C or two other subjects/module packages worth 18 C each
  • 36 C module package – in combination with a major subject worth 42 C
  • 18 C module package – in combination with a major subject worth 42 C and another external subject module package worth 18 C


What do I have to study in the 78 C single honours M.A.?

The mono master of 78 C consists of three different areas of compulsory elective modules.

Area one (36 C): Modules belonging to this area are characterized by intensive source studies in the original language (modern or classical Persian). Only students with sufficient knowledge of Persian can take part in these courses. Three of the following modules have to be successfully completed:

  • M.Ira.101 Aspects of Iranian Religious Traditions (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.103 Views of History in the Iranian Cultural Area (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.105 Methods and Theories between the Science of Texts and Cultural Studies (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.112 Cultural Traditions, Media and Communication in Iranian Societies (12 C/4 contact hours)

Area two (at least 18 C) consists of a range of other courses offered by the department of Iranian studies. Manuscript studies, art and architecture, language courses, student trips and summerschools also belong to this area.

Area three (up to 24 C) comprises courses from neighboring disciplines as e.g. religious studies, modern South Asian studies etc. The language of instruction in all these courses is English.


What do I have to study in the 42 C major subject?

The 42 C major subject Master consists of two different areas of compulsory elective modules.

Area one (24 C): Modules belonging to this area are characterized by intensive source studies in the original language (modern or classical Persian). Only students with sufficient knowledge of Persian can take part in these courses. Two of the following modules have to be successfully completed:

  • M.Ira.101 Aspects of Iranian Religious Traditions (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.103 Views of History in the Iranian Cultural Area (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.105 Methods and Theories between the Science of Texts and Cultural Studies (12 C/4 contact hours)
  • M.Ira.112 Cultural Traditions, Media and Communication in Iranian Societies (12 C/4 contact hours)

Area two (18 C) consists of a range of other courses offered by the department of Iranian studies. Manuscript studies, art and architecture, language courses, student trips and summerschools also belong to this area.


What do I have to study in the 36 C module package?

The 36 C package consists of compulsory and compulsory elective modules. Some of the courses are in German.

Compulsory modules (18 C): B. Ira 106 and B. Ira 108 (Advanced Modern Persian I and II). These compulsory modules do not apply for students who have already acquired 36 C in Persian language courses during their BA

Elective compulsory modules (at least 18 C): a range of other courses offered by the department of Iranian studies, including student trips or manuscript studies. Some courses require sufficient knowledge of Persian and can only be taken after successfully completing B. Ira 108.

Requirements: Basic knowledge of modern Persian (18 C) and Iranian history and culture (12 C).


What do I have to study in the 18 C module package?

The 18 C package consists of compulsory and compulsory elective modules. Most of the courses are in German.

Compulsory module: B. Ira 103. This compulsory module does not apply for students who have already taken part in this course during their BA.

Compulsory elective courses: at least 6 C from the BA and MA courses of the department of Iranian studies.


What are my career options after graduation?

Depending on the specialization chosen, a wide range of opportunities is open to our graduates in areas such as journalism, diplomatic service, business, in university libraries and museums, or as a translator or tour guide. You can also do consulting work for public authorities and organizations concerned with migration issues and intercultural topics. Another possible area of employment is with public and private research institutions engaged, for example, in studying modern and extinct Iranian languages, analyzing Iranian politics and society, or researching Iranian religions.

M.A. Iranistik




Wie läuft das Studium ab?

Beginn des Studiums ist im Sommer- und Wintersemester möglich. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt 4 Semester. Das Studium umfasst insgesamt 120 C, die sich folgendermaßen verteilen:

  • 78 C für das Fachstudium (78 C Monomaster oder 42 C Hauptfach + 36 C oder 2 * 18 C Modulpakete/-e)
  • 12 C für Schlüsselkompetenzen
  • 30 C für die Masterarbeit


Welche Voraussetzungen gibt es für den Beginn des Studiums in Göttingen?

Grundvoraussetzung ist ein abgeschlossenes B.A. Studium mit einer Note von 3,0 oder besser. Für die Zulassung zum MA Iranistik müssen Leistungen im Umfang von 50 C anrechenbar sein und nachgewiesen werden, darunter Kenntnisse des Neupersischen im Umfang von 36 C sowie Kenntnisse der iranischen Geschichte und Kultur. Nicht vorhandene Kenntnisse und Nachweise können im Rahmen eines Lernvertrages nachgeholt werden.

Das M.A. Studium Iranistik ist international ausgerichtet. Im M.A. Iranistik (78 C / 42 C) ist die Unterrichtssprache Englisch. Schriftliche Arbeiten können in Deutsch oder Englisch eingereicht werden.

Es gelten daher folgende sprachliche Voraussetzungen:

Englischkenntnisse auf dem Niveau von C1 oder Englischkenntnisse auf dem Niveau von B2 zusammen mit Deutschkenntnissen auf dem Niveau der DSH2.

Die beiden Modulpakete (36 C und 18 C) umfassen im Pflichtbereich Lehrveranstaltungen, die auf Deutsch gehalten werden. Für die Modulpakete sind daher ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse erforderlich.


Was bietet das M.A.-Studium Iranistik in Göttingen?

Im M.A.-Studium werden Konzepte, Methoden und theoretische Grundlagen zur Erforschung iranischer Kultur, Religionen, Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Sprachen für spätere selbständige, fachspezifische und interdisziplinäre Tätigkeiten in privaten oder öffentlichen Bereichen vermittelt. Das Studium bietet die Möglichkeit, sich auf religions- und kulturwissenschaftliche, historische oder linguistische Fragen zu spezialisieren. Einen Schwerpunkt der Iranistik in Göttingen bildet die Beschäftigung mit dem Indo-Persischen Raum. Im Rahmen des MA-Studiums werden außerdem Grundlagen für eine weiterführende Qualifikation (Promotion) erworben.

Im Iranistik-Masterstudium werden kulturspezifische Medien in ihrem jeweiligen Kontext untersucht. Dazu werden verschiedene Analyse- und Interpretationsverfahren der Diskurs-, Medien- und Textanalyse angewendet und anhand bestimmter Fragestellungen entwickelt und vertieft. Neben gedruckten Texten werden auch Handschriften und Dokumente sowie Presse, Film und Internet als Quellen genutzt.


Wie kann ich Iranistik im M.A. mit einem anderen Fach kombinieren?

Der M.A.-Studiengang Iranistik kann als Hauptfach mit 78 C oder 42 C studiert werden. Außerdem gibt es zwei Modulpakete im Umfang von 36 C und 18 C

  • Hauptfach zu 78 C – als Monomaster ohne weiteres Fach oder Modulpaket
  • Hauptfach zu 42 C – in Kombination mit einem weiteren Fach / Modulpaket im Umfang von 36 C oder zwei weiteren Fächern / Modulpaketen mit je 18 C
  • Modulpaket zu 36 C – in Kombination mit einem Hauptfach im Umfang von 42 C
  • Modulpaket zu 18 C – in Kombination mit einem Hauptfach im Umfang von 42 C und einem weiteren fachexternen Modulpaket zu 18 C


Wie ist das 78 C Hauptfach aufgebaut?

Der 78 C Master setzt sich aus drei Wahlpflichtbereichen zusammen.

Der erste Wahlpflichtbereich (36 C) besteht aus Modulen, in denen intensiv mit Persisch als Quellensprache gearbeitet wird. Diese Module können nur von Studierenden mit entsprechenden Persischkenntnissen belegt werden. Es müssen drei der folgenden Module absolviert werden:

  • M.Ira.101 „Aspekte iranischer religiöser Traditionen“ (12 C / 4 SWS)
  • M.Ira.103 „Geschichte und Geschichtsbilder im iranischen Kulturraum“ (12 C / 4 SWS)
  • M.Ira.105 „Methoden und Theorien zwischen Text- und Kulturwissenschaften“ (12 C/ 4 SWS)
  • M.Ira.112 „Kulturelle Traditionen, Medien und Kommunikation in iranischen Gesellschaften“ (12 C / 4 SWS)

Der zweite Wahlpflichtbereich (mind. 18 C) besteht aus einer Reihe weiterer in der Iranistik angebotener Lehrveranstaltungen. Dazu zählen Veranstaltungen zur Handschriftenkunde, Kunst und Architektur oder auch der Erwerb einer vorislamischen Sprache. Exkursionen und Sommerschulen fallen ebenfalls in diesen Bereich.

Im dritten Wahlpflichtbereich (bis zu 24 C) können Studierende Module aus dem Angebot englischsprachiger Module benachbarter Fächer auswählen, die inhaltlich in einem Bezug zur Iranistik stehen.


Wie ist das 42 C Hauptfach aufgebaut?

Der 42 C Master setzt sich aus zwei Wahlpflichtbereichen zusammen.

Der erste Wahlpflichtbereich (24 C) besteht aus Modulen, in denen intensiv mit Persisch als Quellensprache gearbeitet wird. Diese Module können nur von Studierenden mit entsprechenden Persischkenntnissen belegt werden. Es müssen zwei der folgenden Module absolviert werden:

  • M.Ira.101 „Aspekte iranischer religiöser Traditionen“ (12 C / 4 SWS)
  • M.Ira.103 „Geschichte und Geschichtsbilder im iranischen Kulturraum“ (12 C / 4 SWS)
  • M.Ira.105 „Methoden und Theorien zwischen Text- und Kulturwissenschaften“ (12 C/ 4 SWS)
  • M. Ira.112 „Kulturelle Traditionen, Medien und Kommunikation in iranischen Gesellschaften“ (12 C / 4 SWS)

Der zweite Wahlpflichtbereich (18 C) besteht aus einer Reihe weiterer in der Iranistik angebotener Lehrveranstaltungen. Dazu zählen Veranstaltungen zur Handschriftenkunde, Kunst und Architektur oder auch der Erwerb einer vorislamischen Sprache. Exkursionen und Sommerschulen fallen ebenfalls in diesen Bereich.


Welche Module gehören zum 36 C Modulpaket?

Das 36 C-Modulpaket besteht aus einem Pflicht- und einem Wahlpflichtbereich. Die Veranstaltungen sind teilweise auf Deutsch.

Der Pflichtbereich (18 C) umfasst die beiden Module B. Ira 106 und B. Ira 108 (Vertiefung Persisch I und II). Für Studierende, die bereits im Rahmen ihres BA 36 C in Persisch erworben haben, entfällt dieser Pflichtbereich.

Der Wahlpflichtbereich besteht aus mindestens 18 C aus dem Bereich des MA-Angebots der Iranistik. Hierzu zählen auch Exkursionen oder Veranstaltungen zur Handschriftenkunde. Einige Module aus dem Angebot können erst nach Abschluss von B. Ira 108 besucht werden, da sie entsprechende Persischkenntnisse voraussetzen.

Voraussetzung für das 36 C Modulpaket sind Persischkenntnisse im Umfang von 18 C sowie Grundkenntnisse im Bereich der Iranistik im Umfang von 12 C.


Welche Module gehören zum 18 C Modulpaket?

Das 18 C-Modulpaket besteht aus einem Pflicht- und einem Wahlpflichtbereich.

Der Pflichtbereich besteht aus dem Modul B. Ira 103. Für Studierende, die dieses Modul bereits im Rahmen des BA besucht haben, entfällt der Pflichtbereich.

Der Wahlpflichtbereich besteht aus mindestens 6 C aus dem Bereich des MA und BA-Angebots der Iranistik.


Welche Berufsmöglichkeiten habe ich nach dem Studium?

Es gibt vielfältige Berufsmöglichkeiten, je nach der gewählten Spezialisierung, z.B. in den Bereichen Journalismus, Diplomatie, Wirtschaft, in Universitätsbibliotheken, Museen, als Übersetzer oder Reiseleiter. Außerdem können Sie im Bereich der Beratung für Behörden und Organisationen tätig werden, die sich mit Migrationsfragen und interkulturellen Themen befassen. Des Weiteren stellen private und öffentliche Forschungseinrichtungen, die z.B. moderne und ausgestorbene iranische Sprachen untersuchen, sich mit der Analyse der iranischen Politik und Gesellschaft befassen oder sich der Erforschung iranischer Religionen widmen ein mögliches Arbeitsfeld dar.