History of the Department

Göttingen is one of the outstanding and traditional locations for Christian oriental cultures and languages. There has been a professor of Oriental Church History with a focus on Syrian church history since 1962. This ties in with the Göttingen tradition associated with Johann David Michaelis and Paul de Lagarde.

From 1958 to 1972 Prof. Werner Strothmann occupied the first Chair of “Syrian Church History, with initiation into reading Syriac Bible texts" at the Faculty of Theology in Göttingen. Numerous publications on Syriac literature and religious history helped to make the subject of Syrian Church History internationally famous. In particular, his studies on, and text editions of, the Syriac Bible, the writings of Makarios / Symeon, Theodore of Mopsuestia, John of Apamea, Dionysius the Areopagite, Jacob of Sarug, Moses Bar-Kepha, Dionysios Bar-Salibi and John of Mosul should be mentioned.

Prof. Strothmann was also the initiator of the "Göttingen Work Group for Syrian Church History" and he succeeded in introducing the Christian Orient into the Collaborative Research Centre for Oriental Studies (supported by the DFG).

From 1975 to 1981 Wolfgang Hage succeeded Prof. Strothmann as Professor of “Oriental (especially Syrian) Church History” focusing research on Central Asian Christianity and the history of the Syrian Orthodox Church, and on the St. Thomas Christians.

From 1984 onwards, Prof. Jouko Martikainen headed the department. The research of the native Finn concentrated on Ephrem the Syrian, Philoxenos of Mabbug and John I. Sedra.

In winter semester 2001, the administration of the Department of Oriental Church History was taken over by Prof. Martin Tamcke and affiliated to the Institute of Ecumenical Theology.

The addition of a mission-historical focus has allowed the present "Institute for Ecumenical Theology and Oriental Church and Mission History" to attain its current thematic form and unique position in this field.

Theologische Fakultät

Geschichte

Göttingen ist einer der herausragenden und traditionellen Standorte für die Kulturen und Sprachen des christlichen Orients. Seit 1962 besteht eine Professur für die Kirchengeschichte des Orients mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der syrischen Kirchengeschichte. Diese knüpft an die Göttinger Tradition an, die mit Johann David Michaelis und Paul de Lagarde verbundene ist.

Professor Werner Strothmann war von 1958 bis 1972 der erste Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für „Syrische Kirchengeschichte, insbesondere Einführung in die Lektüre des syrischen Bibeltextes“ an der Theologischen Fakultät in Göttingen. Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen zur syrischen Literatur und Kirchengeschichte trugen dazu bei, dass das Fach Syrische Kirchengeschichte schon bald zu internationalem Ansehen gelangte. Zu nennen sind hierbei vor allem seine Studien und Texteditionen u. a. zu dem syrischen Bibeltext, zu den Schriften des Makarios/Symeon, Theodor von Mopsuestia, Johannes von Apamea, Dionysios Areopagita, Jakob von Sarug, Moses bar Kepha, Dionysios bar Salibi und Johannes von Mosul.

Prof. Strothmann war außerdem Initiator des „Göttinger Arbeitskreises für Syrische Kirchengeschichte“, und es gelang ihm, den christlichen Orient in den Sonderforschungsbereich Orientalistik (getragen von der DFG) mit einzubringen.

Sein Nachfolger war von 1975 bis 1981 Wolfgang Hage als Professor für „Orientalische (insbesondere syrische) Kirchengeschichte“ mit einem Forschungsschwerpunkt zum zentralasiatischen Christentum und zur Geschichte der Syrischen Orthodoxen Kirche, sowie der Thomaschristenheit.

Ab 1984 übernahm Professor Jouko Martikainen die Leitung des Lehrstuhls. Die Forschungen des gebürtigen Finnen konzentrierten sich auf Ephraem dem Syrer, Philoxenos von Mabbug und Johannes I. Sedra.

Zum Wintersemester 2001 wurde die Verwaltung des Lehrstuhls für Orientalische Kirchengeschichte von Professor Martin Tamcke übernommen und dem Institut für Ökumenische Theologie angegliedert.

Mit einer zusätzlichen Erweiterung um einen missionsgeschichtlichen Schwerpunkt gelangte das heutige "Institut für Ökumenische Theologie und Orientalische Kirchen- und Missionsgeschichte " zu seiner derzeitigen thematischen Gestalt und seinem Alleinstellungsmerkmal auf diesem Gebiet.