Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
Neurowissenschaften_206

Contact
Academic Advising
Programme Coordinator
Prof. Dr. Michael Hörner
Grisebachstr. 5
37077 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 3912307
Fax. +49 551 3912308

gpneuro@gwdg.de
Programme Assistant
Sandra Drube
Grisebachstraße 5
37077 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 39 91244
Fax. +49 551 39 12308

gpneuro@gwdg.de
Neuroscience Coordination Office
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Grisebachstr. 5, 37077 Göttingen
Tel. +49(0)551 / 39-12307 (Hörner) -91244 (Drube)
Fax +49(0)551 / 39-12308
Email: gpneuro@gwdg.de





Subject information



Before studies begin



Related programms



Related links

Neurosciences (M.Sc./Ph.D./MD-Ph.D.)


Name of study program: Neurosciences
Degrees: Master of Science (M.Sc.) / Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) / Medical Doctor - Doctor of Philosophy (MD-Ph.D.)
Duration: 18 months (Master); three years (Ph.D.)
Beginning of program: Winter semester
Admission requirements: Bachelor in Biology, Medicine, Physics, or related fields
Language prerequisites: very good knowledge of English at the time of application (proof of proficiency)
Application deadline: January 15th of year of enrolment



Description of Study Program
In this international study program, students holding a Bachelor’s degree can achieve a Master’s degree (M.Sc.) within 18 months. After a three-year doctoral program, the title Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) or Dr. rer. nat. respectively can be earned. Alternatively, after successful completion of both their medical studies and the Ph.D. study program, medical students may apply for the degree of a “Medical Doctor – Doctor of Philosophy” (MD-Ph.D.). Due to the lack of a semester structure, the integration of different subjects into a consistently structured curriculum, and the possibility to directly change to the doctoral program without writing a Master’s thesis, the duration of study is shortened. All courses are held in English.

The study program is divided into two segments. The first year comprises 36 weeks of lectures, tutorials, seminars, methods courses, and individually supervised research projects. Laboratory rotations and individual supervision as well as the involvement of lecturers from the Max Planck Institutes and the German Primate Center in the teaching assure a combination of theory, practical projects, and intensive research work. The first study year ends with one written and two oral examinations which qualify for the Master’s thesis. The Master’s thesis can be waived for students who have passed these examinations with good or excellent results so that they can change to the three-year doctoral program directly.

In the postgraduate segment of the program, the student is accompanied by a ‘thesis committee’, consisting of the supervisor of the thesis and two additional faculty members of the study program. Also the participation in scientific conferences and courses at an early stage as well as the publishing in international journals are part of the prerequisites for graduation. The graduate program encourages research stays in and co operations with external guest laboratories.

A very important aim of the study program includes social integration. The coordination office facilitates the students’ start in Göttingen and offers a central contact point throughout the entire course of studies from ‘Application to Graduation’.

The faculties of Biology and Psychology, Medicine, and Physics, the German Primate Center, the European Neuroscience Institute, as well as the Max Planck Institutes for Biophysical Chemistry, for Experimental Medicine, and for Dynamics and Self-Organization participate in the interdisciplinary study program Neurosciences. At the same time, the study program is an International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS).

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Neurowissenschaften_206

Kontakt
Fachberatung
Programme Coordinator
Prof. Dr. Michael Hörner
Grisebachstr. 5
37077 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 3912307
Fax. +49 551 3912308

gpneuro@gwdg.de
Programme Assistant
Sandra Drube
Grisebachstraße 5
37077 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 39 91244
Fax. +49 551 39 12308

gpneuro@gwdg.de
Neuroscience Coordination Office
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Grisebachstr. 5, 37077 Göttingen
Tel. +49(0)551 / 39-12307 (Hörner) -91244 (Drube)
Fax +49(0)551 / 39-12308
Email: gpneuro@gwdg.de





Informationen zum Fach



Vor dem Studium



Verwandte Studiengänge



Fachliche Links

Neurowissenschaften (M.Sc./Ph.D./MD-Ph.D.)


Name des Studienangebots: Neurowissenschaften
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.) / Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) / Medical Doctor / Doctor of Philosophy (MD-Ph.D.)
Regelstudienzeit: 18 Monate (Master); drei Jahre (Ph.D.)
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Zulassungsbedingungen: Bachelor in Biologie, Medizin, Physik oder verwandten Fächern
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)
Sprachvoraussetzungen: sehr gute Englischkenntnisse zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung (Nachweispflicht)
Bewerbungsfrist: 15. Januar (für Studienbeginn im Oktober)



Darstellung des Studienangebots
Der internationale Studiengang führt Absolventen mit einem Bachelorabschluss innerhalb von 18 Monaten zum Master of Science (M.Sc.). Nach einem dreijährigen Promotionsprogramm können wahlweise die Titel Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) oder Dr. rer. nat. erworben werden. Studierende der Medizin können nach einem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Medizinstudiums und des Ph.D.-Studiengangs alternativ die Verleihung des Titels "Medical Doctor - Doctor of Philosophy (MD-Ph.D.) beantragen. Durch eine Aufhebung der Semesterstruktur, die Integration verschiedener Fächer in ein einheitlich aufgebautes Lehrangebot und die Möglichkeit, ohne Masterarbeit direkt in das Promotionsprogramm zu wechseln, wird die Studienzeit verkürzt. Sämtliche Veranstaltungen sind englischsprachig.

Das Studium ist in zwei Teile gegliedert. Im ersten Studienjahr finden innerhalb von 36 Wochen Vorlesungen, Tutorien, Seminare, Methodenpraktika und individuell betreute Forschungsprojekte statt. Laborrotationen und Einzelbetreuung sowie die Einbindung von Dozenten aus Max-Planck-Instituten und aus dem Deutschen Primatenzentrum in das Lehrangebot garantieren Praxisnähe und intensive Forschungsarbeit. Das erste Studienjahr schließt mit einer schriftlichen und zwei mündlichen Prüfungen ab, die für die Abfassung der Masterarbeit qualifizieren. Diese kann bei guten bis hervorragenden Studienleistungen während des ersten Studienjahres entfallen, so dass die Studierenden direkt in den dreijährigen Promotionsstudiengang überwechseln können.

Im Promotionsabschnitt wird die Promotion durch ein 'Thesis-Committee' begleitet, das aus dem Betreuer der Arbeit und zwei weiteren Dozenten des Studiengangs besteht. Auch die frühzeitige Teilnahme an wissenschaftlichen Tagungen und Kursen sowie das Publizieren in internationalen Fachzeitschriften gehören zu den Voraussetzungen eines Promotionsabschlusses. Der Promotionsstudiengang ermöglicht Forschungsaufenthalte in ausländischen Gastlabors.

Ein besonders wichtiger Bestandteil des Studiengangs ist auch die soziale Integration. Eine Koordinationsstelle hilft den Studierenden bei ihrem Start in Göttingen und bietet einen zentralen Anlaufpunkt während des gesamten Studiums.

An dem interdisziplinären Studiengang Neurosciences beteiligen sich die Fakultäten für Biologie und Psychologie, Medizin und Physik, das Deutsche Primatenzentrum, das European Neuroscience Institute sowie die Max-Planck-Institute für Biophysikalische Chemie, für Experimentelle Medizin und für Selbstorganisation und Dynamik. Der Studiengang ist zugleich eine International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS).