In publica commoda

Business Information Systems (M.Sc.)

The programme aims to enable its graduates to master the business field of business information systems in scientific manner, and to acquire the high-level skills needed for managerial positions and positions requiring especially strong analytical capability in the IT branch and other industrial and service-providing companies.

Programme: Business Information Systems (M.Sc.)
Degree: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Standard duration of study: 4 semesters
Starting semester: every winter and summer semester
Admission: limited admission (application to the Faculty)
Application deadlines: April 1st to May 15th (for the winter semester); October 1st to November 15th (for the summer semester)
Admission requirements: application and admission procedures
Language requirement: verification of knowledge of German
Language of the Programme: German


The programme aims to enable its graduates to master the business field of business information systems in scientific manner, and to acquire the high-level skills needed for managerial positions and positions requiring especially strong analytical capability in the IT branch and other industrial and service-providing companies.

In order to realize new business ideas, changes and improvements, business information systems must constantly be developed further. Students will therefore learn to redesign business information systems, for example, using internet-based solutions and to constructively implement their own ideas in the operative system. The balance between theoretical and practical know-how as well as knowledge of current research topics are suitable tools of the trade that can be used to question conventional procedures and develop innovative solutions.

The programme is four semesters in duration and comprises 120 credits. It is divided into two parts: the course phase (1st- 3rd semester) and the master thesis (4th semester). The courses of the Master's Programme in Business Information Systems fall into three categories: optional, optional compulsory, and compulsory.

In the compulsory section, students take the three modules ”Integrated Application Systems”, “Modelling and System Development”, as well as “Information Management”, each worth six credits.

Seminars totaling 30 credits are taken in the optional compulsory section.

Students may select courses totaling 42 credits in the optional section from the subject areas Business administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, Informatics, Law or from the free optional section. A maximum of 18 credits may be acquired in law and the free optional section.

The remaining 30 credits are acquired by way of the master's thesis.

Sufficient German language skills are required. Good language skills in English are recommended.

Graduates of the master's programme can expect to find attractive and demanding managerial positions in the IT branch, which are characterized by holding considerable scope for decision-making and high responsibility.

Potential employers include IT firms as well as enterprises in all other sectors. Graduates may go on to work in management (e.g. as an area manager) or in staff departments of larger companies. A good entry position would be as an assistant to the executive board.

In publica commoda

Wirtschaftsinformatik (M.Sc.)

Ziele des Studiums sind die wissenschaftliche Durchdringung des betriebswirtschaftlichen Fachgebietes Wirtschaftsinformatik sowie die Vermittlung einer hervorragenden Berufsfähigkeit für Führungspositionen und Positionen mit besonders hohen Analyseanforderungen in der IT-Branche und sonstigen Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen.

Name des Studienangebots: Wirtschaftsinformatik (M.Sc.)
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)
Bewerbungsfristen: 1. April bis 15. Mai (für das Wintersemester); 1. Oktober bis 15. November (für das Sommersemester)
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen: Zulassungsverfahren
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren


Ziele des Studiums sind die wissenschaftliche Durchdringung des betriebswirtschaftlichen Fachgebietes Wirtschaftsinformatik sowie die Vermittlung einer hervorragenden Berufsfähigkeit für Führungspositionen und Positionen mit besonders hohen Analyseanforderungen in der IT-Branche und sonstigen Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen.

Um neue Geschäftsideen, Anpassungen und Verbesserungen umzusetzen, müssen die betrieblichen Informationssysteme fortlaufend weiterentwickelt werden. Sie lernen, betriebliche Informationssysteme zum Beispiel mittels internetbasierter Lösungen aktiv neu zu gestalten und eigene Konzeptionen im operativen System nutzbringend umzusetzen. Die ausgewogene Vermittlung von theoretischer und praktischer Fach- und Methodenkompetenz sowie die Einbeziehung aktueller Forschungsinhalte sind ein geeignetes Handwerkszeug, um die üblichen Vorgehensweisen in Frage zu stellen und innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln.


Der Studiengang ist auf vier Semester ausgelegt, in denen insgesamt 120 Credits zu erbringen sind. Er gliedert sich in die Kursphase (1.-3. Semester) und die Master-Arbeit (4. Semester). Das Masterstudium in Wirtschaftsinformatik ist in einen Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlbereich aufgegliedert.

Im Pflichtteil absolvieren Sie die drei Module „Integrierte Anwendungssysteme“, „Modelling and System Development“ sowie „Informationsmanagement“ im Umfang von jeweils 6 Credits.

Im Wahlpflichtteil sind ein Hausarbeitenseminar im Umfang von 12 Credits und ein Projekt/ Forschungsseminar im Umfang von 18 Credits zu absolvieren.

Im Wahlbereich können die Studierenden insgesamt 42 Credits aus den Themengebieten Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Informatik, Recht und Schlüsselkompetenzen einbringen. Im Bereich Recht und Schlüsselkompetenzen dürfen allerdings nur maximal 18 Punkte erworben werden. Module mit Modulnummern auf „SK.AS.“ werden im Umfang von höchstens 6 Credits berücksichtigt.

Mit der Masterarbeit werden die restlichen 30 Credits erworben.


Als Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Masterprogramms stehen Ihnen attraktive und anspruchsvolle Führungspositionen im IT-Umfeld offen, die durch große Entscheidungsspielräume und einen hohen Verantwortungsumfang gekennzeichnet sind. Als Arbeitgeber kommen sowohl IT-Unternehmen als auch Unternehmen jeder anderen Branche in Frage.

Absolventinnen und Absolventen arbeiten beispielsweise in der Geschäftsleitung (z.B. in der Bereichsleitung) oder in Stabsabteilungen großer Unternehmen. Eine gute Einstiegsposition ist die Vorstandsassistenz.