In publica commoda

Slavic Philology (B.A.) (2 subjects)

Are you interested in Slavic countries, literature and languages? Here, you will acquire knowledge in at least one Slavic language and receive comprehensive linguistic, literary, regional and cultural training. Choose one of seven specialisation options: Slavic Studies, Russian Philology/Russian Studies, Polish Philology/Polish Studies, Czech Philology/Czech Studies, Bulgarian Philology/Bulgarian Studies, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Studies, Ukrainian Philology/Ukrainian Studies - previous knowledge of the respective languages is not a prerequisite.

Subject: Slavic Philology
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard duration of study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Language requirements: None
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)

Subject description
The subject Slavic Studies deals with the languages, cultures and literature of the Slavic speaking regions. The contents and objectives of the programme are especially (a) acquiring extensive active and passive language competence in at least one slavic language; (b) acquiring cultural knowledge on Eastern Europe, Eastern Central Europe, and South Eastern Europe and on the cultural network of this region with the rest of Europe, (c) acquiring the capability to prepare and convey information from the Slavic speaking region, (d) acquiring subject-specific competencies and philological working methods in the area of literature and linguistics.

Research foci in Göttingen
The subject Slavic Studies is represented in Göttingen by a chair for literary science as well as one for linguistics. In both areas, the main research topics are connected with synchronic, historical – and not only inner slavistic – comparative issues.

Language requirement to be fulfilled during studies
As a rule, active and passive knowledge is to be acquired in at least one slavic language. The educational aim of the language modules is the attainment of the corresponding international certificates for language teaching on level B1 according to the Council of Europe's recommendations.

Structure of the degree programme
In Göttingen, students of Slavic Philology can choose from seven different elective compulsory subject areas which lead to individual areas of specialisation: Slavic Studies (interlinguistic approach), Russian Philology/Russian Studies, Polish Philology/Polish Studies, Czech Philology/Czech Studies, Bulgarian Philology/Bulgarian Studies, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian studies, Ukrainian Philology/Ukrainian Studies. A module introducing techniques and methods of scientific work is followed by subject-related basic and advanced modules about literature and linguistics, as well as professionalisation modules primarily oriented towards cultural science about the cultural areas of Eastern Europe, East Central Europe and Southeast Europe. Furthermore, students are required to attend language practice modules to the extent of 18 credits. Where previously acquired language skills are present, attendance of the language courses will take place according to the results of a compulsory placement test at the start of the programme.

Subject combinations
Combinations are not prescribed. However, students are particularly recommended to select combinations qualifying them for professional work, combining Slavic Philology with non-philology subjects, such as sociology, economics/business, economic and social psychology, education and Eastern European History.

In the two-subject BA not designed for a teaching profession, the subject Slavic Philology is offered in three different profiles with the following descriptions: "In-depth Studies"; "Occupational Qualifications"; "General Studies".

Occupational fields
The aim of the programme is to qualify the student for occupations in the fields of culture, language and literature communication relating to the Slavic language regions. The graduates have acquired competencies qualifying for economic, political and social activities in this language region. In connection with the consecutive programme Slavic Philology (MA), the Bachelor's programme qualifies graduates for academic, publishing, diplomatic, journalistic and artistic activities relating to the Slavic language region as well as for work in corresponding cultural, social and political institutions and programmes.

In publica commoda

Slavische Philologie (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Sie haben Interesse an slavischen Ländern, Literaturen und Sprachen? Hier erwerben Sie Sprachkenntnisse in mindestens einer slavischen Sprache und erhalten eine umfassende linguistische, literaturwissenschaftliche und landeskundliche Ausbildung. Wählen Sie unter sieben Spezialisierungen: Slavistik, Russistik/Russlandstudien, Polonistik/Polenstudien, Bohemistik/Tschechienstudien, Bulgaristik/Bulgarienstudien, Bosnien-Kroatien-Serbienstudien, Ukrainistik/Ukrainestudien - auch ohne sprachliche Vorkenntnisse. Der Studiengang ist mit fast 60 anderen Fächern kombinierbar und ermöglicht ein aufbauendes Masterstudium.


Name des Studienfachs: Slavische Philologie
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachvoraussetzungen: keine

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Gegenstand des Studiums der Slavischen Philologie sind die Sprachen, Kulturen und Literaturen des slavischsprachigen Raumes. Zu den Inhalten und Zielsetzungen des Studiums gehört insbesondere (a) der Erwerb aktiver und passiver Sprachkompetenz in mindestens einer slavischen Sprache; (b) der Erwerb kulturellen Wissens über Ost-, Ostmittel- und Südosteuropa und über die kulturelle Vernetzung dieses Raumes mit dem übrigen Europa; (c) der Erwerb der Fähigkeit, Informationen aus und über den slavischen Sprachraum zu ermitteln, aufzubereiten und zu vermitteln; (d) der Erwerb fachwissenschaftlicher Kompetenzen und philologischer Arbeitstechniken in den Bereichen Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft.


Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen
Das Fach Slavistik ist in Göttingen mit einem literaturwissenschaftlichen sowie einem sprachwissenschaftlichen Lehrstuhl vertreten. Besonderes Gewicht haben in beiden Bereichen Forschungen zu Themenbereiche, die mit synchronen, historischen und - nicht nur innerslavistisch - komparatistischen Fragestellungen verknüpft sind.


Sprachanforderungen, die während des Studiums zu erfüllen sind
Im Regelfall sind aktive und passive Kenntnisse in mindestens einer slavischen Sprache zu erwerben. Ausbildungsziele der Sprachkursmodule sind die entsprechenden internationalen Zertifikate für den Sprachunterricht nach den Empfehlungen des Europarats auf dem Niveau B1.


Aufbau des Studiums
Studierende der Slavischen Philologie können in Göttingen zwischen sieben Wahlpflichtbereichen wählen, die eine individuelle fachliche Spezialisierung ermöglichen: Slavistik (sprachübergreifende Ausrichtung), Russistik/Russlandstudien, Polonistik/Polenstudien, Bohemistik/Tschechienstudien, Bulgaristik/Bulgarienstudien, Bosnien-Kroatien-Serbienstudien, Ukrainistik/Ukrainestudien. Auf ein Modul zur Einführung in wissenschaftliche Arbeitstechniken folgen vertiefende fachwissenschaftliche Basis- und Aufbaumodule zur Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft sowie primär kulturwissenschaftlich orientierte Professionalisierungsmodule zu den Kulturräumen Ost-, Ostmittel- sowie Südosteuropa. Darüber hinaus werden Sprachpraxismodule im Umfang von 18 Credits besucht. Sind sprachliche Vorkenntnisse vorhanden, erfolgt der Besuch der Sprachkurse entsprechend einer obligatorischen Einstufung am Studienbeginn.


Fächerkombination
Es sind keine Kombinationen vorgeschrieben. Hingewiesen sei hier jedoch auf in besonderem Maße berufsqualifizierende Kombinationsmöglichkeiten der Slavischen Philologie mit außerphilologischen Fächern wie Soziologie, VWL/BWL, Wirtschafts- und Sozialpsychologie, Pädagogik sowie auf die Osteuropäische Geschichte.


Profile
Im nicht lehramtsbezogenen Zwei-Fach-BA wird das Fach Slavische Philologie in drei verschiedenen Profilen mit folgenden Bezeichnungen angeboten: "Fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung"; "berufsfeldbezogene Qualifikation"; "Studium Generale".


Berufsfelder
Der Studiengang soll zur kultur-, sprach- und literaturvermittelnden Tätigkeit mit Bezug auf den slavischsprachigen Raum qualifizieren. Die Absolventen haben Kompetenzen erworben, die sie für wirtschaftliche, politische und soziale Aktivitäten in diesem Sprachenraum qualifizieren. In Verbindung mit dem konsekutiven Studiengang Slavische Philiologie (MA) qualifiziert der Bachelor für akademische, verlegerische, diplomatische, journalistische und künstlerische Aktivitäten mit Bezug auf den slavischsprachigen Raum sowie für die Arbeit in entsprechenden kulturellen, sozialen und politischen Institutionen und Programmen.