In publica commoda

Iranian Studies (M.A.)

Social, religious and cultural questions arising from the region where Iranian languages are spoken will be examined using concrete examples. Understanding will then be advanced with ideas regarding pre-Islamic religion and history, gender roles in Iranian literature and media and also religious and ethnic minorities. Within the framework of the M.A. degree programme, Questions about the methodology of analysis and interpretation will be discussed in order to attain the most objectifiable insights into the cultural processes of Iranian society.

Programme: Iranian Studies M.A.
Degree: Master of Arts
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Summer and winter semester
Degree programme options: Joint Honours MA in Iranian Studies (42 C); module packages: Iranian Studies as MA minor subjects (36 C/18 C)
Admission requirements for Joint Honours MA: B.A. degree or equivalent degree
Verification required of academic achievement in Iranian Studies totaling at least 50 credits, including knowledge of modern Persian and knowledge on the cultural history of Iran
Language requirements: Persian and English language skills are recommanded.
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)
Language of the programme: German

Description of the degree programme
In the Master's degree programme of Iranian Studies, the students are to acquire in-depth knowledge about the application of current scientific methods and theories to research in the cultures, history, literatures and religions of Iranian peoples. These methods, such as discourse and text analysis, are applied in particular to the study of modern media as well as the cultural and religious history of Islamic and pre-Islamic Iranian peoples. This degree programme also conveys a detailed knowledge of the Iranian religions, including their literatures handed down both orally and in writing, and their culture-specific implications.

Research foci in Göttingen
Research foci in Göttingen include the religions of Iranian peoples during the pre-Islamic and Islamic periods, literature, media and communication in Persian and Kurdish, and aspects of identity-forming processes in Iranian societies.

Language requirements to be fulfilled during studies
The minimum requirement is a knowledge of Persian and sound reading skills in English. In addition, the acquisition of a basic knowledge of other languages of the region is recommended (such as Kurdish, Arabic, Turkish, Hindi, Middle Persian, Avestan, Sanskrit, Hebrew or Aramaic).

Structure of the degree programme
The main emphasis lies on the acquisition of methodological skills and their application to actual research questions. Courses about religious traditions of Iranian peoples, their views of history and historiographical writings are offered just as regularly as courses about cultural traditions, media and communication in Iranian societies. Moreover, students are given the opportunity to expand their knowledge of Persian and Kurdish by means of literature and media analyses or, depending on the current programme, to learn and practise pre-Islamic languages or to obtain insights into Iranian archaeology and art. The objective is to enable students to prepare for either an academic or a practical career.

Occupational fields
Depending on the choice of individual fields of specialisation and completion of specialist specific internships and studies abroad, the degree programme can prepare students for a variety of occupations through the acquisition of methodological, regional social and cultural competencies, and language skills. Graduates of Iranian Studies can, for example, qualify for consulting public authorities and organisations concerning migration issues or intercultural topics. But they can also take up employment in the areas of journalism, the publishing industry, development cooperation, or in tourism, cultural institutions and museums, or in private or public research institutions.

In publica commoda

Iranistik (M.A.)

Gesellschaftliche, religiöse und kulturelle Fragen des iranischen Sprachraumes werden an konkreten Beispielen untersucht und vertieft wie etwa Vorstellungen von der vorislamischen Religion und Geschichte, Geschlechterrollen in iranischen Literaturen und Medien oder religiöse und ethnische Minderheiten. Im Rahmen des MA-Studiums werden insbesondere methodische Fragen zur Analyse und Interpretation diskutiert, um möglichst objektivierbare und differenzierte Einsichten in kulturelle Prozesse iranischer Gesellschaften zu erhalten.

Name des Studienangebots: Iranistik
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Iranistik (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Iranistik (36 C/18 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
Nachzuweisen sind Leistungen in der Iranistik im Umfang von wenigstens 50 Anrechnungspunkten, darunter grundlegende Kenntnisse des Neupersischen und Grundkenntnisse der iranischen Kulturgeschichte.
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Gute persische und englische Sprachkenntnisse werden empfohlen.
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)


Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Im Master-Studiengang Iranistik sollen die Studierenden vertiefte Kenntnisse über die Anwendung aktueller wissenschaftlicher Methoden und Theorien zur Erforschung der Kulturen, Geschichte, Literaturen und Religionen iranischer Völker erwerben. Diese Methoden, wie zum Beispiel Diskurs- und Textanalyse, werden insbesondere bei der Beschäftigung mit den modernen Medien sowie der Kultur- und Religionsgeschichte islamischer und prä-islamischer iranischer Völker angewandt. Zudem vermittelt der Studiengang vertiefte Kenntnisse über die iranischen Religionen mit ihren schriftlich und mündlich überlieferten Literaturen und den hiermit verbundenen kulturspezifischen Implikationen.

Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen:
Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen sind die Religionen iranischer Völker in vorislamischer und islamischer Zeit, Literatur, Medien und Kommunikation in Persisch und Kurdisch sowie Aspekte identitätsbildender Prozesse in iranischen Gesellschaften.

Sprachanforderungen, die während des Studiums zu erfüllen sind:
Vorausgesetzt werden mindestens Kenntnisse des Persischen sowie gute Lesefähigkeiten des Englischen. Darüber hinaus ist der Erwerb von Grundkenntnissen weiterer Sprachen der Region sinnvoll (z. B. Kurdisch, Arabisch, Türkisch, Hindi, Mittelpersisch, Awestisch, Sanskrit, Hebräisch oder Aramäisch).

Aufbau des Studiums:
Der Nachdruck liegt auf dem Erwerb von methodischen Fähigkeiten und deren Anwendung auf konkrete Fragestellungen. Veranstaltungen zu religiösen Traditionen iranischer Völker und deren Geschichtsbilder und historiographische Schriften werden ebenso regelmäßig angeboten wie Veranstaltungen zu kulturellen Traditionen, Medien und Kommunikation in iranischen Gesellschaften. Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit, Persisch- und Kurdisch-Kenntnisse im Rahmen von Literatur- oder Medienanalysen zu erweitern oder, je nach Angebot, vorislamische Sprachen zu lernen und zu vertiefen oder Einblicke in die iranische Archäologie und Kunst zu erhalten. Dies soll den Studierenden ermöglichen, sich auf eine wissenschaftliche oder praktische Berufstätigkeit vorzubereiten.

Berufsfelder:
Je nach Wahl der individuellen Schwerpunkte und der Absolvierung von spezifischen Fachpraktika und Auslandsaufenthalten kann das Studium durch den Erwerb von methodischen, regionalen gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und sprachlichen Kompetenzen berufsvorbereitend für verschiedene Tätigkeiten dienen. Zum Beispiel können sich Iranistik-Absolventen für die Beratung von Behörden und Organisationen zu Migrationsfragen oder zu interkulturellen Themen qualifizieren. Sie können aber auch Aufgaben im Bereich des Journalismus und des Verlagswesens oder des Entwicklungsmanagements, der Tourismusbranche, in kulturellen Einrichtungen und Museen oder in privaten und öffentlichen Forschungseinrichtungen übernehmen.