Doctorate at the Faculty of Biology and Psychology

For doctorate, the Doctoral degree regulations (RerNat-O, July, 2012) of the faculties of Mathematics and Nature Sciences at the Georg-August-Universität Götingen (pdf, German) is authorative.
Admission prerequisites the certification of a completed Master's degree or of an eligible degree. If the degree not has been awarded in Germany eligibility will be assessed in consideration of the guidelines of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany (documented at www.anabin.de). For assessment of eligibility the respective certificate should be submitted to de Dean's office of the Faculty of Biology and Psychology.

Applicants should apply for the dissertation with the provided form (submission to the Dean's Office) before beginning the experimental work. The applicant should denominate three supervisors, who should agree with the nomination, see guidelines for application.

After admission for doctorate by the Faculty the PhD student should register at the Universities student office.
PhD students should be enrolled during the whole period of a dissertation. In this period achivements of at least 20 Credits should be secured. Also a PhD student has to report periodically at least once a year to the thesis committee.
Completion of the dissertation needs

  • preparation of a scientific doctoral thesis in German or English.
  • an oral examination in form of a colloquium (disputation) in German or English. The head of the examination committee is chair for the disputation. At least two third of the members of the examination committee should attend the colloquium, there of at last two referees.



The date of the disputation should be announced to the Dean's office with date, exact time and place (building and room). You can find further information at examination procedure.



Note on the admission to the doctoral examination (pdf) Sample title page of a dissertation (pdf) Application form for the doctoral examination (pdf) Please note, that for a doctorate with former regulations (before July 2012) a certified copy of the Master's degree / diploma should be handed in.

Promotion an der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie

Maßgebend für das Promotionsverfahren ist die „Gemeinsame Promotionsordnung der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultäten der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen“

I Admission

Zulassungsvoraussetzung ist ein abgeschlossener konsekutiver Masterstudiengang oder der Nachweis eines vergleichbaren Abschlusses. Abschlussprüfungen, die nicht im Inland erworben wurden, bedürfen der Feststellung auf Gleichwertigkeit unter Berücksichtigung der Vorgaben unter www.anabin.de. Zur Feststellung der Gleichwertigkeit muss der Nachweis im Dekanat der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie eingereicht werden.

Die Dissertation ist vor Beginn der experimentellen Arbeit im Dekanat der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie mit dem dafür vorgesehenen Formular zu beantragen. Es sind drei Mitglieder für den Betreuungsausschuss zu benennen. Diese müssen dem Antrag zustimmen, siehe Leitfaden für den Zulassungsantrag.

Nach der Zulassung zur Promotion durch die Fakultät muss sich der/die Promovierende im Studierendenbüro der Universität einschreiben.

II Period of a Dissertation

Die Studierenden müssen während der gesamten Zeit der Promotion immatrikuliert sein. In dieser Zeit sind Studienleistungen im Umfang von 20 Credits zu erwerben. Außerdem muss die oder der Promovierende dem Betreuungsausschuss regelmäßig, mindestens jedoch einmal jährlich ausführlich berichten.

III Doctoral Examination

Der Abschluss der Promotion besteht aus

  • der Anfertigung einer wissenschaftlichen Dissertationsschrift in deutscher oder englischer Sprache.
  • einer mündlichen Prüfung als Kolloquium (Disputation) in deutscher oder englischer Sprache. Sie wird von der oder dem Vorsitzenden der Prüfungskommission geleitet. Mindestens zwei Drittel der Mitglieder der Prüfungskommission müssen anwesend sein, darunter mindestens zwei Referierende
  • Der Disputationstermin muss dem Dekanat unter Angabe von Ort (Raum) und Zeit bekannt gegeben werden.

    Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: Ablauf des Prüfungsverfahrens



    Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei einer Promotion nach einer früheren Ordnung eine beglaubigte Kopie des Abschlusszeugnisses mit abgegeben werden muss.