Statistical Consulting for Students

Consulting for Students


Since the 1st of October 2011, the Centre offers consulting services in statistical questions for students of the University of Göttingen working on their Bachelor or Master thesis. The service comprises the choice of an appropriate statistical model and analysis tool for a data set at hand (e.g. generalized linear models, survival analysis, mixed models, nonparametric regression etc.), general questions concerning different kind of data (e.g. cross-sectional data vs. panel data vs. time series data) as well as the choice of an appropriate estimation method (e.g. likelihood vs. bayesian). Furthermore, the consulting service includes the support in implementing the data analysis in established software packages (Excel, R, Stata, SPSS etc.), as well as interpretation and presentation of the obtained results.

Students from Agricultural Sciences (except for students from the Department of Crop Sciences), Biology (except Microbiology and Genetics), Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Forest Sciences, Geosciences, Geography, Law, Physics, Psychology and Social Sciences address themselves to

Dr. Jennifer Lorenz
Centre for Statistics
Humboldtallee 3, room 0.113

by filling in the questionnaire for students (see the right column of the page) .

We kindly ask all those who have already participated in the consultancy, to fill in the evaluation form.

Students having questions concerning the design and realization of empirical research projects (e.g. questions concerning research and samling design, survey method etc.) or concerning qualitative methods address themselves to the Center of Methods in Social Sciences.

Medical students address themselves to the corresponding service by the UMG Göttingen.

Students from the faculty of psychology address themselves to the corresponding service by the Statistics laboratory of psychology.

Agriculture students of the Department for Crop Sciences address themselves to the corresponding service by Christian Kluth.


PhD students from the graduate Schools GAUSS, GGG, GFA or GSGG address themselves to the corresponding service by the Statistical Consulting for PhD students.

Zentrum für Statistik

Statistische Beratung für Studierende

Beratung für Studierende


Seit dem 1. Oktober 2011 bietet das Zentrum Studierenden, die an der Universität Göttingen in einem Bachelor- oder, Masterstudiengang eingeschrieben sind, wieder eine Beratung in statistischen Fragen bei ihrer Bachelor-, Seminar oder Masterarbeit an. Die Beratung umfasst insbesondere die Frage nach der Auswahl eines geeigneten Modells / eines geeigneten statistischen Analyseverfahrens für gegebene Daten (z.B. generalisierte lineare Regression, Verweildaueranalyse, gemischte Modelle, Strukturgleichungsmodelle, nichtparametrische statistische Verfahren, etc.), allgemeine Fragen nach der Behandlung von Datentypen (z.B. Zeitreihen vs. Querschnittsdaten vs. Paneldaten) sowie die Wahl eines geeigneten Schätzverfahrens (z.B. likelihood-basiert, bayesianisch, etc.). Darüber hinaus beinhaltet die Beratung auch die Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung der Datenanalyse in gängigen statistischen Software-Paketen (Excel, R, Stata, SPSS etc.), die Interpretation der erzielten Ergebnisse und die Unterstützung bei der wissenschaftlichen Darstellung der Ergebnisse.

Studierende der Agrarwissenschaften (außer im Bereich Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften), der Biologie (außer Mikrobiologie und Genetik), der Chemie, der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, der Forstwissenschaften, der Geowissenschaften, der Geographie, der Rechtswissenschaften, der Physik und der Sozialwissenschaften wenden sich bitte an

Franziska Dorn
Zentrum für Statistik
Humboldtallee 3, Raum 0.113

durch das Ausfüllen des Fragebogens für Studierende in der rechten Spalte. Beratungstermine sind ausschließlich nach Voranmeldung über den Fragebogen möglich und finden generell am Montag, Dienstag und Mittwoch statt.

Bei Fragen zur Planung und Durchführung empirischer Untersuchungen (z.B. Fragen zu Forschungsdesign, Erhebungsverfahren, Stichprobenentwicklung etc.) sowie zu qualitativen Forschungsmethoden wenden sich Studierende bitte an das Methodenzentrum Sozialwissenschaften .

Studierende der Medizin, der Mikrobiologie und der Genetik wenden sich bitte an die entsprechende Einrichtung der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen: Beratungsangebot UMG.

Studierende der Psychologie wenden sich bitte an die Statistikwerkstatt Psychologie.

Studierende der Agrarwissenschaften im Bereich Nutzpflanzenwissenschaften wenden sich bitte an die Christian Kluth.


Doktoranden der Graduiertenschulen GAUSS, GGG, GFA oder GSGG wenden sich bitte an Beratung für Doktoranden.