In publica commoda

Taxation (M.Sc.)

The Master's degree programme in Taxation trains specialists for the corporate, consulting, academic, science, political and administrative sectors. Applicants should be interested in institutional taxation structures and their micro- and macroeconomic impacts. The substantive focus of the degree programme is on the field of taxation. This focus creates space for broad-based research into tax-related topics. These cover the legal foundations of corporate taxation and fiscal policy alongside methods of empirical and theoretical tax research.


Programme name:
Degree: M.Sc.
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Starting semester: winter semester
Admission terms: limited admissions, application to the faculty
Admission requirements: Admission
Application deadline: April 1st to may 15th (winter term); october 1st to november 15th (summer term)
Application: Application process
Language of the Programme: German


The Master's degree programme in Taxation trains specialists for the corporate, consulting, academic, science, political and administrative sectors. Applicants should be interested in institutional taxation structures and their micro- and macroeconomic impacts. The substantive focus of the degree programme is on the field of taxation. This focus creates space for broad-based research into tax-related topics. These cover the legal foundations of corporate taxation and fiscal policy alongside methods of empirical and theoretical tax research.

The Taxation degree programme sets itself apart from other degree programmes in Economics offered by the Faculty of Business and Economics in that it teaches a great profundity of institutional expertise and methodological breadth whilst conveying substantial knowledge of business administration partnered with certain legal aspects. Unlike the business administration M.Sc. degree programme in Finance, Accounting and Taxes also offered at the Faculty of Business and Economics, the M.Sc. in Taxation is orientated along the overall economic situation and builds on micro- and macroeconomic theories.

Its aim is to give our graduates highly marketable skills with high-profile potential in the field of taxation. Students who have earned a bachelor's degree in the economic sciences are the main target group. Economists looking to gain practical skills to be applied in politics or business as well as business administration majors with a special interest in fiscal policy are particularly well-suited candidates.

The degree programme is entirely modular, comprising a standard period of study of four semesters and requiring 120 credits. The breakdown is summarised below:

  • 1. Elective-compulsory courses (60 C)
    1.1 Basic modules (minimum 24 C)
    1.2 Finance (minimum 12 C)
    1.3 Corporate taxation (minimum 12 C)
    1.4 Law (minimum 6 C)
  • 2. Business administration (6 C)
  • 3. Methodology (12 C)
  • 4. Electives (12 C)
  • 5. Master's thesis (30 C)

Knowledge in German must be proven, proficiency in English is recommended.

Possible occupational fields are: corporate sector (especially tax departments), consulting, academic and research institutes, associations, public sector, banks and insurance companies

In publica commoda

Steuerlehre (M.Sc.)

Im Masterstudiengang „Steuerlehre“ werden Fachkräfte für Unternehmen, Beratung, Wissenschaft, Politik und Verwaltung ausgebildet. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sollten sich für die institutionelle Ausgestaltung von Steuern und für deren einzel- und gesamtwirtschaftliche Wirkungen interessieren. Der inhaltliche Fokus des Studiengangs liegt auf dem Fachgebiet Steuern. So schafft er Raum für eine breite Auseinandersetzung mit steuerlichen Themen. Sie umfassen die rechtlichen Grundlagen über Einzelheiten der Unternehmensbesteuerung und des Fiskalföderalismus sowie Methoden der empirischen und theoretischen Steuerforschung.

Name des Studienangebots: Steuerlehre (M.Sc.)
Abschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt, Bewerbung bei der Fakultät
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen: Zulassungsverfahren
Bewerbungsfrist: 1. April bis 15. Mai (zum Wintersemester);
1. Oktober bis 15. November (zum Sommersemester)
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren


Im Masterstudiengang „Steuerlehre“ werden Fachkräfte für Unternehmen, Beratung, Wissenschaft, Politik und Verwaltung ausgebildet. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber sollten sich für die institutionelle Ausgestaltung von Steuern und für deren einzel- und gesamtwirtschaftliche Wirkungen interessieren. Der inhaltliche Fokus des Studiengangs liegt auf dem Fachgebiet Steuern. So schafft er Raum für eine breite Auseinandersetzung mit steuerlichen Themen. Sie umfassen die rechtlichen Grundlagen über Einzelheiten der Unternehmensbesteuerung und des Fiskalföderalismus sowie Methoden der empirischen und theoretischen Steuerforschung.

Zu den anderen volkswirtschaftlichen Masterstudiengängen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät grenzt sich der Studiengang Steuerlehre durch die Tiefe des institutionellen Wissens, die methodische Breite und durch substanzielle betriebswirtschaftliche und gewisse juristische Kenntnisse ab. Im Gegensatz zum betriebswirtschaftlichen Masterstudiengang Finanzen, Rechnungswesen, Steuern, der ebenfalls von der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät angeboten wird, ist der Masterstudiengang Steuerlehre mehr gesamtwirtschaftlich orientiert und baut auf mikro- und makroökonomischen Theorien auf.

Die Studierenden sollen sich auf dem Themengebiet Steuern profilieren und marktfähig gemacht werden. Zielgruppe sind Studierende, die einen wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Bachelorabschluss aufweisen. Insbesondere angesprochen sind Volkswirtinnen und Volkswirte, die Praxiskompetenz für Politik und Unternehmen erwerben wollen sowie Betriebswirtinnen und Betriebswirte, die besonderes Interesse an steuerpolitischen Fragestellungen haben.


Der Studiengang ist vollständig modularisiert und umfasst in einer Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern 120 Credits. Diese setzen sich wie folgt zusammen:

  • 1. Wahlpflichtbereich (60 C)
    1.1 Basismodule (mindestens 24 C)
    1.2 Finanzwissenschaft (mindestens 12 C)
    1.3 Betriebswirtschaftliche Steuerlehre (mindestens 12 C)
    1.4 Recht (mindestens 6 C)
  • 2. Betriebswirtschaftslehre (6 C)
  • 3. Methodenbereich (12 C)
  • 4. Wahlbereich (12 C)
  • 5. Master-Arbeit (30 C)



Ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse müssen nachgewiesen werden, gute Englischkenntnisse werden empfohlen.


Sie können tätig werden in: Unternehmen (insbesondere Steuerabteilungen), Beratung, Wissenschaft/Forschungsinstitute, Verbände, öffentlicher Sektor, Banken und Versicherungen