In publica commoda

How to apply?

How you apply depends on the discipline you have chosen for your doctoral degree. Whilst all doctoral candidates in the natural sciences are enrolled in structured PhD programmes, the humanities and social sciences also offer individual doctoral degrees. Individual doctoral degrees are the rule at the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Law.

  • Individual doctoral degrees
  • The path to an individual doctoral degree starts with the search for a professor who is willing to supervise your doctoral studies. The topic of your doctoral thesis should be appropriate to your supervisor's field of research. The person willing to supervise your doctoral studies becomes your academic supervisor, called "Doktormutter" or "Doktorvater" in German.
    Once you have found a suitable supervisor, you must apply to the faculty responsible for you to be accepted as a doctoral candidate. Usually, there are no fixed deadlines for these applications.

  • Structured PhD programmes
  • The University of Göttingen offers a number of structured PhD programmes. These programmes provide an outstanding framework for doctoral studies by offering structured curricula, intensive supervision by a team of supervisors, mentoring programmes and a range of tailored seminars. If you would like to apply for a structured PhD programme, your selected topic should be substantively relevant to the focus of the programme. In structured PhD programmes, it is also a general rule that the candidate's first task is to find a supervisor. The exact application modalities and deadlines vary. Please visit the websites of the doctoral degree programmes for further information.


Next step:

3What to do when accepted?

In publica commoda

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Wie Sie sich bewerben müssen, hängt davon ab, in welchem Fachgebiet Sie promovieren möchten. Während in den Naturwissenschaften alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in Studiengängen oder Programmen promovieren, sind in den Geistes- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften auch Individualpromotionen möglich. Diese Form der Einzelpromotion ist in der Philosophischen und Juristischen Fakultät die Regel.

  • Individualpromotion
  • Der Weg zu einer Individualpromotion beginnt mit der Suche nach einer/einem Professorin/Professor, die oder der bereit ist, Ihre Promotion zu betreuen. Das Thema Ihrer Promotion sollte zu dem Forschungsgebiet dieser Wissenschaftlerin / dieses Wissenschaftlers passen. Wer bereit ist, Ihre Promotion zu betreuen, wird Ihre "Doktormutter" beziehungsweise Ihr "Doktorvater".
    Nachdem Sie eine passende Betreuung gefunden haben, müssen Sie sich an der für sie zuständigen Fakultät bewerben, um als Doktorandin/Doktorand angenommen zu werden. Feste Termine für die Bewerbung gibt es in der Regel nicht.

  • Promotion in Studiengängen und Programmen
  • Die Universität Göttingen bietet strukturierte Promotionsprogramme und -studiengänge an. Sie ermöglichen eine hervorragende Struktur für Ihre Promotion mit Lehrplänen, intensiver Begleitung durch ein Betreuungsteam, Beratung und speziell zugeschnittenen Seminaren. Wenn Sie sich für ein Promotionsprogramm bewerben möchten, sollte Ihr gewünschtes Thema inhaltlich zu dem Fokus des Promotionsprogramms passen. Auch bei Promotionsprogrammen und -studiengängen ist es in der Regel zunächst erforderlich, eine Betreuerin/ einen Betreuer zu finden. Die genauen Bewerbungsmodalitäten sowie Fristen sind unterschiedlich. Bitte informieren Sie sich auf den Webseiten der Promotionsprogramme und Promotionsstudiengänge.


Nächster Schritt:

3Ich wurde angenommen, was jetzt?