Department for Molecular Structural Biology
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
Welcome at the Department of Molecular Structural Biology


The Department of Molecular Structural Biology (MSB) at the Institute for Microbiology & Genetics is accommodated in the Ernst-Caspari-Building of the Göttingen Centre of Molecular Biosciences (GZMB).
» READ MORE



The MSB offers lectures and pratical courses in Biochemistry and Structural Biology within the Bachelor programs Biology and Biochemistry, respectively, as well as in the Master program Microbiology & Biochemistry.
» READ MORE



The goal of all research activities in the MSB Department is to understand the relation between the three-dimensional structure of a biological macromolecule (such as a protein, or a protein-RNA complex) and its cellular function. In order to achieve this we use different methods of structural biology and biochemistry, with a strong focus on structure determination by means of X-ray crystallography. Current research projects are:



  • Nucleocytoplasmic Transport
    The active transport of proteins or RNA molecules from the nucleus to the cytoplasm, or vice versa from the cytoplasm to the nucleus is accomplished by specific transport proteins, or so-called importins or exportins. Importins and exportins specifically recognize their respective cargos, mediate interaction with the nuclear pore complex and allow passage through the nuclear pore.
    By the crystal structure analysis of the exportin CRM1 and of functional CRM1 complexes we were able to elucidate its function at an atomic level.
    » READ MORE


  • RNA-modifying enzymes
    RNA molecules contain in addition to the four standard nucleosides (A, G, U, C) a variety of different modified nucleosides. They all are generated by RNA-modifying enzymes post-transcriptionally, with the type of modification and their position in the RNA sequence being exactly determined.
    Our crystal structure analysis of the 4-thiouridine synthetase in complex with a bound substrate RNA explains, why exclusively the uridine at position 8 in tRNAs is transformed into a 4-thiouridine.


  • Spliceosomal RNA Helicases
    The splicing of pre-mRNA, which removes non-coding introns and ligates the exons, is catalysed by a huge macromolecular machine, the spliceosome. Within the pre-mRNA splicing process several RNA helicases are involved, each with a specific task. By crystallographic and biochemical studies we aim to understand the how this specificity is achieved and how their activities is controlled.


  • Eukaryotic Translation Initiation Factors
    In eukaryotic cells the initiation of ribosomal mRNA translation requires the interplay of more than 20 proteins, which are referred to as eIFs. By the elucidation and analysis of the crystal structures of eIF3b and eIF5b we could gain important insights into their respective function.






MSB_Institut_01

Address


Department for
Molecular Structural Biology
Institute for Microbiology & Genetics
GZMB
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Justus-von-Liebig-Weg 11
37077 Göttingen
Deutschland


Contact


Tel.: +49 (0)551-39-14072
Fax: +49 (0)551-39-14082


Secretary


Marita Kalck



We are here:


Größere Kartenansicht

Abteilung für Molekulare Strukturbiologie
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Willkommen bei der Abteilung für Molekulare Strukturbiologie


Die Abteilung für Molekulare Strukturbiologie (MSB) des Instituts für Mikrobiologie & Genetik befindet sich im Ernst-Caspari-Haus des Göttinger Zentrums für Molekulare Biowissenschaften (GZMB).
» weiterlesen



Die MSB bietet Vorlesungen und Praktika in Biochemie und Strukturbiologie in den Bachelor Studiengängen Biologie und Biochemie sowie im Master Studiengang Microbiology & Biochemistry an.
» weiterlesen



Das Ziel aller Forschungsprojekte in der MSB ist es ein molekulares Verständnis für den Zusammenhang zwischen der drei-dimensionalen Struktur eines biologischen Makromoleküls (z.B. eines Proteins, oder eines Protein-RNA Komplexes) und dessen zellulärer Funktion zu erhalten. Um dies zu erreichen verwenden wir unterschiedliche Methoden der Strukturbiologie und Biochemie, wobei die Strukturaufklärung mit Hilfe der Röntgenkristallographie im Mittelpunkt steht. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte sind:




  • Kern-Zytoplasma-Transport
    Der aktive Transport von Proteinen oder RNA-Molekülen vom Zellkern ins Zytoplasma oder umgekehrt vom Zytoplasma in den Zellkern wird durch spezielle Transport-proteine, sog. Importine bzw. Exportine, bewerkstelligt. Die Importine bzw. Exportine erkennen spezifisch ihre jeweiligen Cargos, vermitteln die Interaktion mit dem Kernporenkomplex und ermöglichen den Durchtritt durch die Kernpore.

    Wir konnten durch die Kristallstrukturanalyse des Exportins CRM1 dessen Funktionsweise im Detail aufklären.
    » weiterlesen


  • RNA-modifizierende Enzyme
    RNA Moleküle enthalten neben den vier Standard Nukleosiden (A, G, U, C) eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher modifzierter Nukleoside. Diese werden erst posttranskriptional, also nach der RNA Synthese, durch RNA-modifzierende Enzyme erzeugt, wobei die Art der Modifikation und deren Position in der RNA Sequenz genau fest gelegt sind.

    Die Kristallstrukturanalyse der 4-Thiouridine Synthetase im Komplex mit einer gebundenen Substrat-RNA erklärt, warum nur das Uridin an Position 8 in tRNAs zu einem 4-Thiouridin verwandelt wird.


  • Spleißosomale RNA-Helikasen
    Das Spleißen von prä-mRNA, bei dem nicht-codierende Introns entfernt und anschlißend die Exons miteinander verbunden werden, wird durch eine sehr große makromolekulare Maschine, das Spleißosom, katalysiert. Am Spleißvorgang sind mehrere RNA-Helikasen beteiligt, die jeweils eine ganz bestimmte Aufgabe haben. Durch Kristallstrukturanalysen versuchen wir zu verstehen, wie diese Spezifität erreicht wird bzw. in welcher Form die Aktivität der Helikasen kontrolliert wird.


  • Eukaryotische Translations-Initiationsfaktoren
    Die Initiation der ribosomalen mRNA Translation erfordert in eukaryotischen Zellen das Zusammenspiel von mehr als 20 Proteinen, die als eIFs bezeichnet werden. Durch die Aufklärung der Kristallstrukturen von eIF3b und eIF5b konnten wir wichtige Einblicke in deren jeweilige Funktion gewinnen.






MSB_Institut_01

Adresse


Abteilung für
Molekulare Strukturbiologie
Institut für Mikrobiologie und Genetik
GZMB
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Justus-von-Liebig-Weg 11
37077 Göttingen
Deutschland


Kontakt


Fon.: +49 (0)551-39-14072
Fax: +49 (0)551-39-14082


Sekretariat


Marita Kalck



Wir sind hier:


Größere Kartenansicht