Faculty of Chemistry

Research-oriented studies

Research-oriented studies at the faculty are very important and make a considerable contribution to the attractiveness of the study courses. The percentage of research-oriented activities increases in steps from the Bachelor to the PhD level.

Bachelor courses:
First own scientific project in the Bachelor thesis. The students are generally supervised and guided by experienced Master and PhD students. They use the methods common in the respective research area, which they get to know in the study modules "Research Methods in Chemistry" (e.g. different spectroscopic methods). The topics for Bachelor theses are mostly part of on-going research projects currently worked on in the respective research group. In this way, the Bachelor students can experience how their contribution is included in this research project and may even be mentioned in a later publication.


















Bachelorbild Forschung 267 px

Masterbild Forschung 267 px

Master course:
Internships in the research groups at the faculty or in other groups after application (e.g. at an MPI) play an important role. Two modules for research internships exist for each of the three core areas of chemistry (inorganic, organic and physical chemistry). The students are involved in specified research activities of the supervised group and learn about the methods used there and the required literature in depth. In different study modules of the Master course, methodological knowledge is taught in depth, which is often clarified in specific applications in research projects. The independent research work in collaboration with the supported group is supported in the Master thesis even more than in the Bachelor thesis. Very often, the results of the Master thesis lead to publications or may form significant parts in other publications. In this context, it is also often possible that Master students participate in scientific congresses to present their results there e.g. as poster together with the supported group. In this way, they also become familiar with the typical format of scientific events.

PhD studies:
PhD studies are characterised largely by independent research for the doctoral thesis. The topic is part of the research area of the supported group. This creates links between PhD projects running at the same time. Participation in conferences or stay with other research groups or at large research institutions to use specific devices or expertise not available at the faculty are frequent and supported e.g. with SFBs. In the PhD curriculum, the results of one's own research must be presented in a scientific environment. Furthermore, scientific services for other groups, e.g. measurements at specialised large appliances, are recognised. In this way, the PhD students are exposed to an intensive scientific exchange which often goes beyond their own research area. Results of the PhD project are often published; a PhD project can even result in several publications.


















Promotion Gänseliesel 267 px

Göttinger Chemie-Forum 267 px

Göttingen Chemistry Forum:

The Göttingen Chemistry Forum is generally held annually and provides a framework for students and PhD students to learn about the scientific processes at conferences and to get involved in the organisation. Furthermore, scientific work can be presented in posters or short presentations. Participation is recognised as course achievement.


Transfer between high-level research and school
Based on a project as part of SFB 803 introduced by the Faculty of Chemistry, a project "sfb@school" has been established in several SFBs with chemistry involvement, which is largely conducted by subject-specific didactics in chemistry. Especially teacher training students contribute to transfer achievements to make the high-level research conducted as SFBs accessible and understandable for pupils. In this way, they get closer to the most current research problems and realise independent achievements by combining this knowledge with knowledge on subject-specific didactics.


















Transfer Spitzenforschung 2015

continue to "Ins Labor geschaut"

Fakultät für Chemie

Forschungsorientiert Studieren

Forschungsorientiertes Studium ist an der Fakultät sehr wichtig und macht einen wesentlichen Anteil an der Attraktivität der Studiengänge aus. Dabei nimmt der Umfang der Forschungsorientierung vom Bachelorstudium bis hin zum Promotionsstudium schrittweise zu.

Bachelor-Studium:
Erstes eigenes wissenschaftliches Projekt in der Bachelor-Arbeit. Die Studierenden werden dabei in der Regel eng von fortgeschrittenen Master-Studierenden und Promovierenden betreut und angeleitet. Sie nutzen die im jeweiligen Forschungsgebiet üblichen Methoden, die sie in den Lehrveranstaltungen "Methoden der Chemie" kennen lernen (z. B. verschiedene spektroskopische Methoden). Die Themen für die Bachelorarbeiten sind weit überwiegend Teilaspekte aktuell in der jeweiligen Forschungsgruppe laufender konkreter Forschungsprojekte. Auf diese Weise erleben die Bachelor-Studierenden mit, dass ihr Beitrag Eingang in diese Forschung findet, im Idealfall sogar in einer späteren Publikation mit Erwähnung findet.


















Bachelorbild Forschung 267 px


Masterbild Forschung 267 px

Master-Studium:
Im Master-Studiengang spielen Praktika in den Forschungsgruppen der Fakultät bzw. auf Antrag z.B. an einem MPI eine wichtige Rolle. In Anorganik, Organik und Physikalischer Chemie sind hier je zwei Wahlpflichtmodule für Forschungspraktika vorhanden. Die Studierenden nehmen dabei für mehrere Wochen an der konkreten Forschungsarbeit in der betreuenden Arbeitsgruppe teil, lernen vertieft die dort verwendeten Methoden und die benötigte Literatur kennen. In der Masterarbeit wird dann - noch stärker als in der Bachelorarbeit - das schon sehr eigenständige Forschen im Zusammenhang mit der betreuenden Gruppe laufenden Projekten gefördert. Relativ häufig entstehen aus den Ergebnissen von Master-Arbeiten eigene Publikationen oder sie bilden wesentliche Anteile in Publikationen. In diesem Rahmen ist es auch regelmäßig möglich, dass bereits Master-Studierende an wissenschaftlichen Tagungen teilnehmen und dort ihre Ergebnisse präsentieren. Aus diese Weise kommen sie auch in Kontakt mit typischen wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungsformaten.

Promotionsstudium:
Das Promotionsstudium ist einerseits sehr stark von der eigenständigen Forschung für die Doktorarbeit geprägt. Das Thema ist Teil des in der betreuenden Gruppe bearbeiteten Forschungsfeldes. So entstehen wichtige Vernetzungen mit parallel laufenden Promotionen. Tagesbesuche oder Aufenthalte in anderen Forschungsgruppen bzw. an Großforschungseinrichtungen zur Nutzung spezifischer an der Fakultät nicht vorhandener Geräte oder Expertisen sind sehr häufig und werden gezielt, z.B. im Rahmen von SFBs gefördert. Im Promotions-Curriculum andererseits sind Vorstellungen der eigenen Forschungsergebnisse im wissenschaftlichen Umfeld gefordert. Zudem werden wissenschaftliche Serviceleistungen für andere Gruppen, z.B. Messungen an spezialisierten Großgeräten, angerechnet. Auf diese Weise praktizieren die Promovierenden einen engen wissenschaftlichen Austausch, häufig auch über das eigene Forschungsgebiet hinaus. Die Publikation der Ergebnisse der Promotion ist sehr häufig, oft entstehen aus einer Promotion sogar mehrere Publikationen.


















Promotion Gänseliesel 267 px

Göttinger Chemie-Forum 267 px

Göttinger Chemie-Forum:

Das in der Regel jährlich stattfindende Göttinger Chemie-Forum bietet Studierenden und Promovierenden einen Rahmen, um den wissenschaftlichen Betrieb auf Tagungen kennen zu lernen und selber in der Organisation tätig zu werden. Zudem können dort in Postern und Kurzvorträgen eigene wissenschaftliche Arbeiten vorgestellt werden. Die Teilnahme wird als Studienleistung anerkennt.


Transfer Spitzenforschung - Schule
Ausgehend von einem Projekt im Rahmen des von der Fakultät für Chemie geführten SFB 803 ist mittlerweile in mehreren SFBs mit Chemie-Beteiligung ein Projekt "sfb@school" etabliert, das wesentlich von der Fachdidaktik Chemie durchgeführt wird. Vor allem Lehramtsstudierende erbringen hier wesentliche Transferleistungen, um die in den SFBs durchgeführte Spitzenforschung auf ein für Schülerinnen und Schüler verständliches Niveau herunter zu brechen. Sie nähern sich auf diese Weise selber aktuellsten Forschungsfragen und erbringen eigenständige Leistungen dergestalt, dass sie dieses Verständnis mit ihrem fachdidaktischen Wissen kombinieren.


















Transfer Spitzenforschung 2015







zum "Ins Labor geschaut"