Faculty of Economic Sciences

Double degree programme in finance, accounting, taxes, and business economics in cooperation with Ghent University

Starting in the 2016/17 winter semester, the University of Göttingen Faculty of Economic Sciences offers a double degree programme with the Ghent University Faculty for Economics and Business Administration (in Belgium). Within four semesters, well-qualified students can complete both a M.Sc. degree in finance, accounting, and taxes at the University of Göttingen, as well as a parallel M.Sc. degree in business economics (with a focus on corporate finance or accounting) at Ghent University.


The double degree programme is an excellent opportunity to study abroad, and offers graduates excellent career opportunities in multinational companies, national and international organizations, and last but not least, the ability of applying for international PhD programmes.


Overview of the double degree programme

  • Language: German and English
  • Duration: 4 semesters
  • Type: Full-time study
  • Degree: M.Sc. in Finance, Accounting, and Taxes/ M.Sc. in Business Economics
  • Required credits: 120 ECTS
  • Begins: Winter semester
  • Accreditation: ZEvA (M.Sc. in Finance, Accounting, and Taxes)/ NVAO (M.Sc. in Business Economics)
  • Capacity: 5 students per year



What does it mean to study in a double degree programme?

A double degree programme is an integrated international course of study that takes place partly at a German institute of higher education and partly at an international partner university. In a double degree programme, national degrees from both partner universities are awarded, as opposed to a single joint-degree from both partner universities.

In this programme, you spend two semesters at Ghent University (in the first year, beginning in September) and two semesters at the University of Göttingen (in the second year). In Göttingen, you complete a master's thesis in the fourth semester. As a graduate of the double degree programme, within four semesters, you earn two degrees from accredited master's programmes at two prestigious European universities with long traditions.



What are the advantages of a double degree?

When you participate in a double degree programme, you have the possibility to be part of a new academic programme at a partner university. This gives you access to courses that may not be offered at your home university, to gain exposure to a new study or research field, and to develop intercultural competencies in an international environment. The one-year study abroad period creates the possibility to develop an intensive familiarity with the culture and lifestyle of the host country. Take the opportunity to develop an international network and through this, to expand your professional career opportunities.


How do I apply to a double degree programme?

You apply simultaneously for the master programme in finance, accounting and taxes at the University of Göttingen and to participate in the double degree programme at Ghent University. You only need to apply to the University of Göttingen. An additional application to Ghent University is not necessary: Application for a Double Degree.

Please note that applications for double degree programmes can only be accepted in the winter semester (the application period is from 1 April to 15 May).

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Double-Degree-Programm in Finance, Accounting and Taxes und Business Economics in Kooperation mit der Universiteit Gent

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität Göttingen bietet ab dem Wintersemester 2016/ 2017 ein Double-Degree-Programm mit der Fakultät für Volks- und Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Universität Gent (Belgien) an. In vier Semestern können besonders qualifizierte Studierende den Abschluss "M.Sc. in Finanzen, Rechnungswesen und Steuern" an der Universität Göttingen und parallel dazu den Abschluss "M.Sc. in Business Economics" (Schwerpunkt Corporate Finance oder Accounting) an der Universität Gent erwerben.


Das Double-Degree-Programm bietet eine exzellente Möglichkeit, international zu studieren und eröffnet den Absolventinnen und Absolventen ausgezeichnete Karrieremöglichkeiten in multinationalen Unternehmen, nationalen und internationalen Organisationen und nicht zuletzt bei der Bewerbung um internationale Promotionsprogramme.


Profil des Double-Degree-Programms

  • Sprachen: Deutsch und Englisch
  • Dauer: 4 Semester
  • Modus: Vollzeit
  • Abschlußziel: M.Sc. in Finanzen, Rechnungswesen und Steuern/ M.Sc. in Business Economics
  • Kreditpunkte: 120 ECTS
  • Beginn: Wintersemester
  • Akkreditierung: ZEvA (M.Sc. in Finanzen, Rechnungswesen und Steuern)/ NVAO (M.Sc. in Business Economics)
  • Kapazität: 5 Plätze pro Jahr



Was bedeutet es, in einem Double-Degree-Programm zu studieren?

Ein Double-Degree-Programm ist ein integrierter internationaler Studiengang, der nach einem teilweise an der deutschen Heimathochschule und teilweise an der ausländischen Partneruniversität verbrachten Studium zu den nationalen Hochschulabschlüssen beider Universitäten führt. Bei einem Double-Degree-Programm werden die Abschlüsse beider Partnerhochschulen verliehen, in Abgrenzung zu einem Joint Degree, bei dem ein gemeinsamer Abschluss beider Partneruniversitäten verliehen wird.

Sie studieren in diesem Programm zwei Semester an der Universität Gent (erstes Studienjahr, Beginn im September) und zwei Semester an der Universität Göttingen (zweites Studienjahr). In Göttingen schreiben Sie im 4. Semester Ihre Master-Arbeit. Als Absolventin oder Absolvent des Double-Degree-Programms erwerben Sie in vier Semestern Abschlüsse in zwei akkreditierten Master-Studiengängen an zwei renommierten und traditionsreichen europäischen Universitäten:



Welche Vorteile hat ein Double Degree?

Wenn Sie sich für einen Double Degree entscheiden, eröffnet sich für Sie die Möglichkeit, eine neue Studienstruktur an der Partneruniversität kennen zu lernen. Sie erhalten Zugang zu vertiefenden Modulen, die an der Heimatuniversität nicht angeboten werden, lernen ein neues Studien- und Forschungsfeld kennen und entwickeln Ihre sozialen und interkulturellen Kompetenzen in einem internationalen Umfeld weiter. Der einjährige Studienaufenthalt ermöglicht ein intensives Kennenlernen der Kultur und Lebensweise des Gastlandes. Nutzen Sie die Chance, sich ein internationales Netzwerk aufzubauen und damit Ihre beruflichen Karrieremöglichkeiten zu erweitern.


Wie bewerben Sie sich für das Double-Degree-Programm?

Sie bewerben sich gleichzeitig für den Masterstudiengang "M.Sc. in Finanzen, Rechnungswesen und Steuern" an der Universität Göttingen und die Teilnahme am Double-Degree-Programm mit der Universität Gent. Sie müssen sich nur an der Universität Göttingen bewerben. Eine zusätzliche Bewerbung an der Universiteit Gent ist nicht erforderlich: Bewerbung Double Degree.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Bewerbung zum Double-Degree-Progamm nur zum Wintersemester möglich ist (Bewerbungsfrist: 1. April bis 15. Mai).