Studying Ancient History in Göttingen

At the University of Göttingen, Ancient History is taught with an emphasis on cultural history. Our chief research interests are religious and cultural history as well as classical reception. Current projects deal, for instance, with:


  • religion and education
  • myth analysis
  • concepts of sustainability
  • gender history
  • the history of engineering and science
  • the ancient Black Sea region.



The University of Göttingen offers the full range of disciplines dealing with ancient civilizations. The departments are closely connected through the Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO). For a list of all institutions involved click here.


The degree program
Our MA course structure offers the unique opportunity to enrich your ancient historical education with a wide interdisciplinary perspective. You may choose to combine your Ancient Cultures - Ancient History studies (aka "main subject") with one or two module packages (aka "subsidiary subjects") to suit your personal interests and professional goals.
All MA programs at the University of Göttingen are listed under Studienfächer A-Z .

Here you can find further information on the structure of the MA program Ancient Cultures - Ancient History.


What do we offer?
The MA program Ancient Cultures - Ancient History allows you to experience and explore main fields and topics of ancient Greek and Roman history in great variety and diversity. As part of your MA program, you can acquire all methods and skills essential for understanding not only the political and historical developments, but also the culture, social structures, monuments and main aspects of life in Ancient Greece and Rome. For a short description of the course program, including the most necessary links and information, see here.


Here you will find more information as well as visualisations of the generic study pattern.

Althistorisches Seminar

Alte Geschichte in Göttingen studieren

Das Fach Alte Geschichte ist an der Universität Göttingen kulturhistorisch ausgerichtet. In der Forschung setzt das Althistorische Seminar seine Schwerpunkte im Bereich der Religions- und Kulturgeschichte sowie der Antikenrezeption. Aktuelle Projekte beschäftigen sich beispielsweise mit:


  • Religion und Bildung
  • Mythosforschung
  • Konzepten von Nachhaltigkeit
  • der Geschlechtergeschichte
  • der Technik- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte
  • dem antiken Schwarzmeerraum.



Die Universität Göttingen bietet das gesamte Spektrum der Altertumswissenschaften an. Die Fächer sind durch das Centrum Orbis Orientalis et Occidentalis (CORO) eng verknüpft. Eine Übersicht der beteiligten Einrichtungen finden Sie hier.


Aufbau des Studiums
Der Masterstudiengang bietet Ihnen die einmalige Möglichkeit, die althistorische Fachausbildung mit einer breiten interdisziplinären Perspektive zu verknüpfen. Dabei können Sie ergänzend zum Fachstudium ("Hauptfach") Antike Kulturen - Alte Geschichte ein bis zwei Modulpakete ("Nebenfächer") nach Ihren Interessensschwerpunkten und Berufszielen individuell wählen. Die angebotenen Masterstudiengänge der Universität Göttingen können Sie unter Studienfächer A-Z einsehen.

Nähere Informationen zum Aufbau des Masters Antike Kulturen - Alte Geschichte erhalten Sie hier.


Was bieten wir?
Das Masterstudium Antike Kulturen - Alte Geschichte bietet die Möglichkeit, die zentralen Themen des antiken Griechenlands und Roms in ihrer Vielfalt und Vielfältigkeit kennenzulernen und zu erforschen. Sie können sich während Ihres Masterstudiums die entsprechenden methodischen Zugänge aneignen, um die politischen und historischen Entwicklungen, die Kultur, die Gesellschaftsstrukturen, die Denkmäler und Lebenswelten Griechenlands und Roms zu erfassen. Eine inhaltliche Kurzbeschreibung des Studienangebotes mit den wichtigsten Links und Informationen erhalten Sie hier.

Weitere Informationen und einen exemplarischen Studienplan finden Sie hier.