Faculty of Economic Sciences

Excellent Research with Impact

The diverse research fields of the faculty overlap in three key areas: Compliance and Governance, Marketing and Consumer Science and Global Change and Development. These research areas transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries. In doing so, these research areas help foster interdisciplinary collaboration across all the subject areas including business economics, information systems, economic and social history, statistics and econometrics.

Researchers and academics from different subject areas collaborate on joint research projects as well as in interdisciplinary centres across the university:


Professors of the Faculty coordinate the following Research Training Groups (RTGs) funded by the German Research Foundation: “Globalization and Development” (RTG 1723), “Resource Efficiency in Corporate Networks” (RTG 1703) and “Scaling Problems in Statistics” (RTG 1644).

In addition, the Faculty of Economic Sciences has a strong focus on applied research and teaching. Faculty researchers often conduct studies for various industries and associations. Numerous collaborative projects, in particular, those that are funded by federal ministries, are often conducted with external parties.

Click here for further information on the faculty’s research areas.

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Forschung

Ihre vielfältigen Forschungsaktivitäten bündelt die Fakultät in den drei Kernbereichen Compliance and Governance, Marketing and Consumer Science sowie Global Change and Development. Sie hat damit gezielt Schwerpunkte definiert, die eine Forschung über die traditionellen Fächergrenzen der Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaftslehre hinaus erlauben und bestehenden Göttinger Stärken Rechnung tragen. Als Querschnittsbereiche eng mit den Forschungsschwerpunkten verzahnt sind die Wirtschaftspädagogik, die Wirtschaftsinformatik, die Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte sowie die Statistik und Ökonometrie.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler verschiedener Schwerpunkte koopieren miteinander in Verbundprojekten und sind ferner in unterschiedlichen interdisziplinären Zentren der Universität aktiv:


Darüber hinaus sind die von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Graduiertenkollegs "Globalization and Development" (GRK 1723), "Ressourceneffizienz in Unternehmensnetzwerken" (GRK 1703) sowie "Skalenprobleme in der Statistik" (GRK 1644) an der Fakultät angesiedelt.

Zudem hat die Fakultät einen deutlichen Bezug zur Anwendungsorientierung in Forschung und Lehre. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler führen beispielsweise Studien für Industrie und Verbände durch. Zahlreiche insbesondere von Bundesministerien geförderte Verbundprojekte finden in Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus der Praxis statt.

Ausführliche Informationen zu den Forschungsschwerpunkten der Fakultät finden Sie hier.