Faculty of Economic Sciences

Academic Programmes That Make a Difference

The Faculty of Economic Sciences offers a variety of academic programmes that prepare students for professional success. At the bachelor's level, students can select from business administration, economics, business information systems and human resources. At the master's level, programmes range from key areas such as business administration and economics to a more specialized education in information systems, business and human resources, taxation, applied statistics, as well as economic and social history. In total, the Faculty offers five bachelor degree programmes (with one being a so-called two-subject programme), and ten master degree programmes.

With the exception of the two-subject bachelor’s degree programme, all other bachelor’s programmes begin with a one-yearlong orientation phase. This orientation phase ensures that students learn the basic problems and approaches in the economic sciences as well as a number of important other disciplines (e.g. law). In the two-subject bachelor’s programme in economics, students combine economics with one of over 30 possible subjects in the humanities, social sciences, law, philosophy, political science, East Asian studies and law.

At the master’s level, in particular, the tradition of research-oriented teaching requires a strong focus on methods and problem solving skills. Students are then given the opportunity to apply their knowledge to current economic questions. Moreover, they can also participate in research projects. Our students will be equipped to take on challenging tasks both in industry and in pursuit of further studies, such as a doctoral programme.

The Service Centre for Students of the Faculty of Economic Sciences welcomes any questions you might have about our programmes, and serves a central point of contact throughout the duration of your studies.

Overview of the degree offerings of the Faculty of Economic Sciences

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Studienangebot

In der Lehre reicht das Spektrum von fachlich breit angelegten Bachelor-Studiengängen in den Bereichen Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Wirtschaftspädagogik über ein differenziertes Angebot darauf aufbauender Master-Studiengänge im Kernbereich der Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaftslehre bis hin zu spezifischen Angeboten im Bereich der Wirtschaftsinformatik, der Wirtschaftspädagogik, der Steuerlehre und der Angewandten Statistik sowie der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte. Insgesamt werden fünf Bachelor-Studiengänge, darunter ein Zwei-Fächer-Bachelorstudiengang, sowie zehn Masterstudiengänge angeboten. Alle Studiengänge sind akkreditiert und zum größten Teil bereits re-akkreditiert.

Mit Ausnahme des Zwei-Fächer-Bachelorstudiengangs beginnen alle Bachelorstudiengänge mit einer jeweils einjährigen Orientierungsphase, um den Studierenden frühzeitig Anhaltspunkte für ihre konkrete Studienfachentscheidung zu geben. Im Zwei-Fächer-Bachelorstudiengang Volkswirtschaftslehre kombinieren die Studierenden das Fach Volkswirtschaftslehre mit einem von über 30 möglichen Fächern aus den Geistes-, Sozial- oder Rechtswissenschaften wie etwa Philosophie, Politik, Ostasienwissenschaften oder Jura.

Der Tradition der forschungsorientierten Lehre verpflichtet, steht insbesondere im Masterstudium verstärkt die Vermittlung von Methoden- und Problemlösungskompetenz im Vordergrund. Die Studierenden wenden ihr Wissen auf aktuelle Fragestellungen aus der Wirtschaft an. Darüber hinaus können sie an Forschungsprojekten teilnehmen. Sie werden in die Lage versetzt, sowohl anspruchsvolle Aufgaben in der Wirtschaft zu übernehmen als auch sich durch eine Promotion wissenschaftlich weiter zu qualifizieren.

Bei allen Fragen rund ums Studium dient das Service-Center für Studierende - Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Studien-, Prüfungs- und Auslandsstudienberatung als zentrale Anlaufstelle während des gesamten Studienverlaufs.

Überblick über das Studienangebot der Fakultät