The new Copyright Act for the knowledge-based society (Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz - UrhWissG)

What has changed since March 2018?

The revision of the Copyright Act for the knowledge-based society, the Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz (UrhWissG) was issued in 2017 and came into effect on the 01.03.2018. It redefines the legally compliant handling of copyrighted material in education and research. With the help of simple and clear rules, lecturers are able to define which external works are accessible to their students. It is also ensured that the authors receive adequate remuneration for their works.

Furthermore, the act explicitly excludes itemized billing with copyright collecting societies like the VG Wort which is one of the central requirements of teaching at the university.

In the named act there is now a new section, 60 et seq. UrhG, which regulates the use in research and teaching. The old section, 52a UrhG and other regulations are omitted. The most important aspects of the new section 60 et seq. UrhG in a nutshell are the following:

  • Section 60a UrhG allows the usage of parts of up to 15% of a copyrighted work for education and teaching at universities. This applies to both teaching during the semester and its preparation and follow-up.

    Small works such as pieces of music and movies < 5 minutes running time, sheets of music with < 6 pages and other smaller works < 25 pages can be used entirely. This also applies to works that are out-of-print.

    Complete articles can also be used entirely, although only if they are from scientific and professional journals. For articles from the daily press only the general 15% regulation applies, which is mentioned above.

    These regulations allow both the digital provision and the use in lecture halls.

    With this section, the circle of users was extended. Now it includes lecturers and participants of the respective course, lecturers and examiners of the same university as well as third parties if this serves the presentation of classes and/or the results of teaching and learning at the university.

    Another new aspect is the fact that the named regulations now also apply to schoolbooks if they are used outside of schools.

  • According to section 60c UrhG, it is also allowed to use up to 75% of an entire work for own scientific research. The non-commercial scientific research may duplicate 15% of a work.

  • For the first time scientific research methods that use automated evaluation (so called text- and data-mining) are regulated by section §60d UrhG.

  • The regulations for libraries are noted in section 60e UrhG. As well as exhibitions, rentals and the duplication of works by users are defined. For example, up to 10% of duplications are allowed to be forwarded to users when they order them for non-commercial use.

  • Sections 60g-h UrhG regulate the appropriate remuneration of authors. There is no need of tedious individual billing for every usage due to an all-inclusive remuneration of the copyright collecting societies.

  • It is not allowed to limit or forbid the usage of affected works (as stated in section 60 UrhG) for the disadvantage of authorized users through contractual regulations. However, regulations in contracts that were concluded before the 1st of March, 2018 remain valid.


  • (Source: BMJV)


If you follow this link you can download a handout in German regarding the new act for copyrighted material for the knowledge-based society (Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz - UrhWissG)


Disclaimer: This is not binding legal advice. We do not assume any liability considering the correctness, completeness or topicality of the shared information.

Digitales Lernen und Lehren

Das neue Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz (UrhWissG)

Was hat sich ab März 2018 geändert?

Die 2017 beschlossene Neuregelung des Urheberrechts, durch das UrhWissG, ist ab dem 01.03.2018 in Kraft getreten und definiert den rechtssicheren Umgang mit urheberrechtlich geschütztem Material in Bildung und Forschung neu. Damit können Lehrende durch übersichtliche und einfache Regelungen die Zugänglichkeit fremder Werke für ihre Studierenden festlegen und es wird sichergestellt, dass die Urheber*innen eine angemessene Vergütung für ihre Werke erhalten.

Mit dem explizierten Ausschluss einer Einzelabrechnung mit den Verwertungsgesellschaften wie der VG Wort greift das Gesetz zudem eine der wichtigsten Erfordernisse der universitären Lehre auf.

Im Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz (UrhWissG) wird die Nutzung in Lehre und Forschung in einem neuen Abschnitt §§ 60 ff. des UrhG geregelt. Der alte § 52a UrhG und andere Regelungen entfallen. Die wichtigsten Aspekte des neuen §§ 60 ff. UrhG in aller Kürze sind folgende:

  • § 60a UrhG erlaubt die Nutzung von Teilen bis zu 15% eines urheberrechtlich geschützten Werkes für Unterricht und Lehre an Hochschulen. Dies umfasst sowohl die Lehre im Semester wie deren Vor- und Nachbereitung.

    Kleine Werke wie Musikstücke und Filme < 5 Minuten Länge, Noteneditionen < 6 Seiten und sonstige Werke geringen Umfangs < 25 Seiten dürfen vollständig genutzt werden. Dies gilt auch für vergriffene Werke.

    Auch einzelne Artikel dürfen weiterhin ganz verwendet werden – allerdings nur aus wissenschaftlichen oder Fachzeitschriften. Für Artikel aus der Tagespresse gilt nur die oben genannte generelle 15% Regelung.

    Diese Regelungen erlauben nicht nur die digitale Bereitstellung sondern auch die Nutzung im Hörsaal.

    Mit diesem Paragraphen wurde der Nutzer*innenkreis erweitert. Er umfasst nun Lehrende und Teilnehmende der jeweiligen Veranstaltung, Lehrende und Prüfende derselben Hochschule sowie Dritte, sofern dies der Präsentation des Unterrichts und/oder von Unterrichts- und Lernergebnissen an der Hochschule dient.
    Ebenfalls neu ist, dass auch Schulbücher nun unter die aufgeführten Regelungen fallen sofern die Nutzung außerhalb von Schulen erfolgt.

  • Für eigene wissenschaftliche Forschung darf sogar bis zu 75% eines Gesamtwerkes gemäß § 60c UrhG verwendet werden, die nicht-kommerzielle wissenschaftliche Forschung darf 15% eines Werkes vervielfältigen.

  • Zum ersten Mal werden wissenschaftliche Forschungsmethoden, die sich der automatisierten Auswertung (sog. Text- und Data-Mining) bedienen mit dem § 60d UrhG geregelt.

  • Die Regelungen für Bibliotheken sind unter § 60e UrhG festgehalten. Sowohl Ausstellungen, Verleih als auch die Vervielfältigung von Werken durch Nutzerinnen und Nutzern wird definiert. Bspw. wird die Übermittlung von Vervielfältigungen von bis zu 10% eines Werkes auf Bestellung durch Nutzerinnen und Nutzern zu nicht kommerziellen Zwecken ermöglicht.

  • In §§ 60g-h UrhG wird auch die angemessene Vergütung der Urheber geregelt. Durch eine pauschale Vergütung der Verwertungsgesellschaften entfällt die mühsame Einzelabrechnung jeder Nutzung.

  • Auch darf die im § 60 UrhG geregelte Nutzung nicht durch vertragliche Regelungen zum Nachteil der Nutzungsberechtigten beschränkt oder untersagt werden. Regelungen in Verträgen, die vor dem 1.3.2018 geschlossen wurden behalten allerdings weiterhin ihre Gültigkeit.


  • (Quellen: BMJV)


Gesetz zur Angleichung des Urheberrechts an die aktuellen Erfordernisse der Wissensgesellschaft (Urheberrechts-Wissensgesellschafts-Gesetz - UrhWissG)
Download: Bundesgesetzblatt


Disclaimer: Dies ist keine verbindliche Rechtsauskunft. Wir übernehmen keine Haftung für die Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit oder Aktualität der wiedergegebenen Informationen.