Urban Lab: Migration Moves Göttingen


The "Urban Lab: Migration Moves Göttingen" focuses on how local authorities and local initiatives have shaped and continue to shape migration, welcome and inclusion locally in Göttingen but also in Germany and Europe.

Researchers from the Centre for Global Migration Studies (CeMig) at Göttingen Campus and cultural practitioners from the boat people projekt, the Museum Friedland and the Literarisches Zentrum Göttingen e.V. have initiated this series of events in order to objectify the public-political debate that predominantly views migration as a problem. The aim is a scientifically founded dialogue that is empirically grounded on the basis of the experiences of civil society initiatives and artistically translated. It highlights local experiences and resources in a solution-oriented manner.

From June to November 2019 (extended until Februar 2020), a former pharmacy at Schildweg 1 will serve as a venue for events, where research results on municipal migration policy will be transferred to the city in various formats and, conversely, practical experiences from cities will be transferred into research. The "Urban Lab" is a meeting place for science, art and the public. It is a starting point for focusing on immigration and integration processes in Göttingen in a participatory and practice-oriented way.


Stadtlabor Leer 6

Stadtlabor Eröffnung 6



A collaboration by:

Göttingen CeMig Logo mpimmg Logo Museum Friedland Logo Göttingen Literarisches Zentrum Logo boat people project Logo

Funded within the initiative "Niedersächsisches Vorab" of the Volkswagen Foundation

Volkswagen Stiftung Logo Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur Logo Niedersachsen packt an Logo

Stadtlabor: Migration bewegt Göttingen


***Folgt dem Stadtlabor auf Instagram!***

Das „Stadtlabor: Migration bewegt Göttingen“ richtet den Blick darauf, wie Kommunen und lokale Initiativen Migration, Willkommen und Inklusion vor Ort in Göttingen aber auch darüber hinaus in Deutschland und Europa gestaltet haben und fortlaufend zu gestalten versuchen.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Centres for Global Migration Studies (CeMig) am Göttingen Campus sowie Kulturschaffende vom boat people projekt, dem Museum Friedland und dem Literarischen Zentrum Göttingen e.V. haben die Veranstaltungsreihe initiiert, um die öffentlich-politische Debatte, die Migration vorwiegend als Problem bewertet, zu versachlichen. Ziel ist ein wissenschaftlich fundierter und durch Erfahrungen der zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen empirisch geerdeter sowie künstlerisch übersetzter Dialog, der lösungsorientiert kommunale Erfahrungen und Ressourcen aufzeigt.

Von Juni bis November 2019 dient eine ehemalige Apotheke im Schildweg 1 als Veranstaltungsort, wo in verschiedenen Formaten Forschungsergebnisse über kommunale Migrationspolitik in die Stadt und umgekehrt Praxiserfahrungen aus Städten in die Forschung getragen werden sollen. Das „Stadtlabor“ ist Begegnungsstätte zwischen Wissenschaft, Kunst und Öffentlichkeit und Ausgangspunkt, um partizipativ mit Akteuren der Stadtgesellschaft Einwanderungs- und Integrationsprozesse in Göttingen praxisnah zu fokussieren.

Stadtlabor Einweihung 6.6.2019

Mitglieder des Stadtlabor-Teams bei der Eröffnungsveranstaltung am 06. Juni 2019



Ein Kooperationsprojekt von:

Göttingen CeMig Logo mpimmg Logo Museum Friedland Logo Göttingen Literarisches Zentrum Logo boat people project Logo

Gefördert im "Niedersächsischen Vorab" der Volkswagenstiftung

Volkswagen Stiftung Logo Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur Logo Niedersachsen packt an Logo