Faculty of Theology

International

I. International Research and Relations
II. International Summer Schools in Göttingen
III. Studying abroad

I. International Research and Relations

International Research and Relations
The Faculty of Theology in Göttingen is one of the most research intensive of its kind in Germany. This is not least due to the close cooperation the faculty enjoys with many partners and institutions in Europe and worldwide.
Compared with other German institutions, the faculty has a particularly dense network of international cooperation, which is nurtured mainly through international relations and the activities of academics working here in Gottingen. The faculty is not only home to international research projects, but its academics are also closely involved in long-term research projects such as the Septuaginta-Unternehmen (Septuagint) or the Qumran dictionary.

The links below lead to the homepages and further information on the individual research projects:


International Study Programmes
The Faculty of Theology in Göttingen is also involved in international study programmes: Euroculture (M.A.), and Intercultural Theology (M.A.). Both programmes enjoy a high reputation, have excellent international networking and are unique in Europe.

The links below lead to the homepages and further information on the relevant study programme.


II. Summer Schools in Göttingen

The International Septuagint Summer School has been taking place every year since 2011, with considerable participation of academics at the Faculty of Theology.

  • more information

  • III. Studying abroad

    The faculty would like to encourage its students to complete part of their studies at faculties in Europe and worldwide. The Theological Faculty of the Georgia Augusta University provides optimal conditions through its involvement in international study programmes and long-standing international cooperation in Africa, Asia, North and South America and Europe.

    Dr. Frank Schleritt provides advice for foreign students and consultancy for the planning and financing of stays abroad. In addition, Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Becker, the faculty`s officer for internationalisation, is also available as contact person.

    For many students financing a stay abroad is a major hurdle, and searching for suitable funding is often a very difficult process. Some of the possibilities for financial support are given in the following section. The Team for the International Relations of the University offers comprehensive information and assistance on the subject of planning and financing of stays abroad.
    If you already hold a scholarship at a foundation, we advise you to contact your foundation. As a rule foundations generously support the scholarship holder`s study abroad or internship.
    The Lutheran World Federation also offers financial support for stays abroad, so it pays to enquire here about appropriate options. However, you are strongly advised to do this at an early stage in the process because the application deadlines for scholarships end early (usually 1 January of each year for the following winter semester; German students can apply if they have completed the intermediate exam or BA).
    If you are registered on a list of theology students for your national church, it pays to get in touch with your local church. Some national churches fund stays abroad for study purposes and subsidize, for example, travel expenses.
    In addition, there are some universities which support foreign students with scholarships. You should check whether it is possible to obtain financial support for the desired university.

    Some exchange programmes stand out in particular through the opportunities they offer and their orientation. These include the programme "Study in Israel" or the ecumenical "Academic year at Centro Melantone" in Rome. Programmes and exchange opportunities are presented below:

Theologische Fakultät

Internationales

I. Internationale Forschung und Beziehungen
II. Internationale Septuaginta Summer School in Göttingen
III. Studium im Ausland

I. Internationale Forschung und Beziehungen

Internationale Forschung und Beziehungen
Die Theologische Fakultät in Göttingen ist eine der forschungsintensivsten ihrer Art. Dies verdankt sie nicht zuletzt den zahlreichen engen Kooperationen mit internationalen Partnern und Institutionen im europäischen und internationalen Ausland.
Im deutschen Vergleich verfügt sie über ein besonders dichtes Netzwerk an internationalen Kooperationen, das vor allem von den internationalen Beziehungen und Aktivitäten der hier arbeitenden WissenschaftlerInnen lebt. An der Fakultät sind nicht nur internationale Forschungsprojekte angesiedelt, sondern auch an langfristigen Forschungsprojekten wie dem Septuaginta-Unternehmen oder dem Qumran-Wörterbuch sind WissenschaftlerInnen der Theologischen Fakultät in hohem Maße beteiligt.

Über die untenstehenden Links gelangen Sie zur jeweiligen Homepage und Vorstellung einiger Forschungsprojekte.


Internationale Studiengänge
Die Theologische Fakultät in Göttingen ist zudem an zwei internationalen Studiengängen beteiligt: Dem Studiengang Euroculture (M.A.) sowie Intercultural Theology (M.A.) Beide zeichnen sich durch eine hohe Reputation, exzellente internationale Vernetzung und ihre europaweite Einzigartigkeit aus.

Über die untenstehenden Links gelangen Sie zu der Homepage des jeweiligen Studiengangs.


II. Summer Schools in Göttingen

Seit 2011 findet in Göttingen jährlich die Internationale Septuaginta Summer School statt, unter erheblicher Beteiligung von WissenschaftlerInnen der Theologischen Fakultät.

  • mehr Informationen

  • III. Studium im Ausland
    Die Fakultät möchte ihre Studierenden ermutigen, einen Teil ihrer Studien an ausländischen Fakultäten zu absolvieren, europa- und weltweit. Hierfür bietet die Theologische Fakultät der Georgia-Augusta-Universität optimale Voraussetzung durch ihre Einbindung in internationale Studiengänge und seit langem bestehende internationale Kooperationen in Afrika, Asien, Nord- und Südamerika sowie Europa.

    Eine Studienberatung für ausländische Studierende und Beratung zur Planung und Finanzierung von Auslandsaufenthalten gibt Herr Dr. Frank Schleritt, zudem steht Herr Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Becker als Internationalisierungsbeauftragter der Fakultät als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung.

    Für viele Studierende ist die Finanzierung eines Auslandsaufenthaltes eine große Hürde, zudem ist die Suche nach passenden Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten oft eine mühselige Angelegenheit. Im Folgenden soll nur auf einige Möglichkeiten zur finanziellen Unterstützung hingewiesen werden. Das Team Internationale Beziehungen der Universität bietet umfassende Informationen und Hilfestellungen rund um das Thema Planung und Finanzierung von Auslandsaufenthalten.
    Sollten Sie bereits StipendiatIn bei einer Stiftung sein, ist es ratsam, in Kontakt mit Ihrer Stiftung zu treten. In der Regel unterstützen Stiftungen Auslandsaufenthalte für Studienzwecke oder auch Praktika ihrer StipendiatInnen großzügig.
    Der Lutherische Weltbund unterstützt Auslandsaufenthalte finanziell, so dass es sich lohnt, sich hier über entsprechende Möglichkeiten zu informieren. Dies allerdings frühzeitig, da die Bewerbungsfristen für Stipendien früh enden (in der Regel zum 1. Januar eines Jahres für das darauffolgende Wintersemester; bewerben können sich deutsche Studierende mit abgeschlossener Zwischenprüfung oder einem B.A.-Abschluss).
    Sollten Sie auf der Liste der Theologiestudierenden Ihrer Landeskirche eingetragen sein, lohnt es sich, in Kontakt mit Ihrer Landeskirche zu treten. Einige Landeskirchen unterstützen Auslandsaufenthalte für Studienzwecke finanziell und bezuschussen zum Beispiel Reisekosten.
    Zudem gibt es einige Universitäten, die ausländische Studierende mit Stipendien unterstützen; Sie sollten sich darüber informieren, ob im Falle ihrer Zieluniversität die Möglichkeit besteht, auf diese Weise eine Hilfe bei der Finanzierung zu erhalten.

    Einige Austauschprogramme zeichnen sich durch die von ihnen gebotenen Möglichkeiten und ihre Ausrichtung besonders aus, so zum Beispiel das Programm Studium in Israel oder das ökumenische Studienjahr am Centro Melantone in Rom. Die Programme und Austauschmöglichkeiten werden im Folgenden vorgestellt.


    • Ben-Gurion-Universität des Negev, Israel: Deutschsprachige Sommeruniversität

    • Candler School of Theology (Emory University in Atlanta, USA)

    • Ökumenisches Studienjahr in Rom (Melanchthon-Zentrum)

    • Erasmus [Link zur Homepage]

    • São Leopoldo, Brasilien

    • SiMO: Near East School of Theology in Beirut, Libanon

    • Studium in Israel

    • sonstige Möglichkeiten