In publica commoda

On this page you will find explanations of the following keywords:




Graduation thesis (final paper, Master’s, diploma thesis)
The graduation thesis is the written part of the final examination at the end of a degree programme. It must be completed within a prescribed period and its purpose is to show that the student is able to accomplish a set task independently using scientific methods, and to present the results in a professional way.


Dissertation
Scientific treatise to earn a doctoral degree. It serves as evidence of independent scientific research and must contain new scientific findings.


Plea
A plea is written about a text or presentation. It begins by presenting the central ideas of the author, which are subsequently questioned critically. The writer of the plea frames a number of questions and discussion points from his/her point of view, with which the discussion is opened in the seminar.


Synopsis
At the beginning of every (written) treatise it is important to get an idea of the effort and benefit involved. The synopsis aims to give a realistic overview of the subject, goal and method, subtasks, time schedule and extent of the work involved. It serves as a roadmap for the written treatise, alterations should be possible at any time.


Written examination
Written examinations take place as a part of final examinations or following a seminar attended by the student – generally with a duration of 2-4 hours.


Comment/discussion
A presentation given in a seminar session is commented on critically by another study group. This comment or “discussion” serves to open a general debate. It should describe the central ideas, point out the strengths and weaknesses of the commented presentation and advance suggestions for discussion to open the general debate.


(Brief) review
Critical discussion of a text or book. The contents are presented in the context of the topic under discussion, reference texts are quoted and the central lines of argument described. An opinion should be given on the questions and problems raised. Length: 1-2 pages.


Protocol
The purpose of a protocol is to summarize and record the most important results of a discussion. Students unable to be present at individual sessions can use the protocol to keep themselves informed about the state of the debate; for participating students, the protocol serves as an aide-mémoire. Length: 1-2 pages.


Presentation/paper
The purpose of a presentation/paper is to provide a written description and discussion of a problem or topic, and to practise the ability for independent scientific work. The student needs to learn to present questions, thoughts and arguments in writing in an orderly, systematic form. This requires the formulation of a topic (question, problem or premise). Length: 10-20 pages, depending on whether the task has been set for beginners or for more advanced students.


Theory paper
The theory paper serves as the basis for a seminar debate. Its main purpose is not to provide information but rather to initiate or pre-structure the debate. It should briefly and concisely focus on certain problems, questions or controversial points of view concerning a given topic. Personal views are expressed. Length: app. 2 pages.

In publica commoda

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie Erläuterungen zu folgenden Stichworten:




Abschlußarbeit (Examens-, Magister-, Diplomarbeit)
Die Abschlußarbeit ist der schriftliche Teil der Prüfung, mit der das Studium endet. Sie ist innerhalb einer vorgegebenen Frist anzufertigen und soll zeigen, daß der/die Student/in eine gestellte Aufgabe nach wissenschaftlichen Methoden selbständig bearbeiten und die Ergebnisse sachgerecht darstellen kann.


Dissertation
Wissenschaftliche Abhandlung zur Erlangung des Doktortitels. Sie dient dem Nachweis selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens und soll neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse enthalten.


Einlassung
Eine Einlassung wird zu einem Text oder Referat geschrieben. Zunächst werden die zentralen Gedanken des Autors oder der Autorin dargestellt und anschließend kritisch hinterfragt. Der Einlassende formuliert aus seiner Sicht eine Reihe von Fragen und Diskussionspunkte, mit denen die Diskussion im Seminar eröffnet wird.


Exposé
Vor jeder größeren (schriftlichen) Arbeit ist es wichtig, Aufwand und Nutzen zu überschlagen. Das Exposé soll einen realistischen Überblick über das Thema, Ziel und Methode, Arbeitsschritte, Zeitplan und Umfang der Arbeit geben. Es dient als Wegweiser bei einer schriftlichen Arbeit, Änderungen sollen jederzeit möglich sein.


Klausur
Eine Klausur wird im Rahmen von Abschlußprüfungen oder im Anschluß an ein besuchtes Seminar geschrieben - meist in 2-4 Stunden.


Kommentar/Korreferat
Ein in einer Seminarsitzung vorgestelltes Referat wird durch eine andere Arbeitsgruppe kritisch kommentiert. Dieser Kommentar oder das Korreferat dient der Eröffnung der Diskussion. Es sollte die zentralen Gedanken herausstellen, auf Stärken und Schwächen des kommentierten Referates hinweisen und Diskussionsvorschläge abgeben, um so den Einstieg in die Diskussion zu eröffnen.


Kurzrezension
Kritische Besprechung eines Textes bzw. Buches. Der Inhalt wird themenrelevant aufbereitet, Textgrundlagen werden genannt und zentrale Argumentationslinien herausgestellt. Zu den aufgeworfenen Fragen und Problemen sollte Stellung bezogen werden. Umfang: 1-2 Seiten.


Protokoll
Aufgabe eines Protokolls ist es, wesentliche Diskussionsergebnisse zusammenzufassen und zu dokumentieren. Studentinnen und Studenten, die an einzelnen Sitzungen nicht teilnehmen konnten, können sich anhand des Protokolls über den Stand der Diskussion informieren; für die Diskussionsteilnehmer ist das Protokoll eine Gedächtnisstütze. Umfang: 1-2 Seiten.


Referat/Hausarbeit
Referate/Hausarbeiten dienen der schriftlichen Darstellung und Erörterung eines Problembereichs oder Themas und der Einübung der Fähigkeit des eigenständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens. Es soll gelernt werden, Fragen, Gedanken und Argumente in einer geordneten, systematischen Form schriftlich darzustellen. Dazu soll ein Thema (Frage, Problem oder These) formuliert werden. Umfang: 10-20 Seiten je nach Anfänger- oder Fortgeschrittenenaufgabe.


Thesenpapier
Das Thesenpapier dient als Grundlage der Seminardiskussion. Es soll nicht vorrangig informieren, sondern die Diskussion vorstrukturieren oder anregen. In kurzer und prägnanter Form soll auf bestimmte Probleme, Fragen oder kontroverse Gesichtspunkte eines Themas aufmerksam gemacht werden. Eigene Einschätzungen werden formuliert. Umfang: ca. 2 Seiten.