Center for Theory of Culture and Society

Center for Theory of Culture and Society


The Center for Theory of Culture and Society (Zentrum für Theorie und Methoden der Kulturwissenschaften) is a network-like consortium of over 70 members of the University of Göttingen. The Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Social Sciences function as supporting organizations. Nevertheless, the center is also open to members from all other faculties.


The center has two main functions: (1) to develop cross-discipline and cross-faculty third-party funds projects with a focus on the reflection and creation of theory as well as the explicit development of methods in the involved disciplines and (2) to support individual and joint research projects focusing on cultural studies with the establishment of questions based on theory or methodology especially during the application stage.


The necessity to establish a Center for the reflection of theories and methods is the result of the Cultural Turns, which strongly changed the humanities and social sciences since the late 1980s. Thereby, culture serves as an “umbrella term” for a modification of research and argumentation methods. With the Cultural Turns, a corpus of reference texts, problem areas and modes of thinking and argumentation were developed in the humanities and social sciences which are based on an explicit reflection of theories. Thus, theory incorporates elements of epistemology and the theory of science as well as the formation of patterns of interpretation and narration which transcend individual research cases. This results in a common language, in which the different disciplines of the humanities and social sciences can interact with each other despite the disparity of their research topics, fields and eras.


The goal of the ZTMK is to provide a theoretical basis for empirical (joint) research, to advance the meta-theoretical reflection in disciplines which do not belong to the natural sciences and to make empirical research compatible from a transdisciplinary perspective while shaping a scientifically more reflected point of view. This means the ZTMK focusses especially on the cooperation with other institutions at the University of Göttingen to facilitate the development of comprehensive theoretical research. Notably, the center works together with the Global and Transregional Studies Group Göttingen to create innovative theories for research fields and questions arising from globalization processes.


Membership


Interested in becoming a member of the ZTMK?


more...

Zentrum für Theorie und Methoden der Kulturwissenschaften
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
ztmk logo klein hoch

Zentrum für Theorie und Methoden der Kulturwissenschaften
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen
Deutschland

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr. Stefan Haas
Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte
Lehrstuhl für Theorie und Methoden der Geschichtswissenschaft
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen
Deutschland
ztmk[at]uni-goettingen.de



Aktuelle Veranstaltungen



Fakultäten



Zeitschriften

Willkommen



am

Zentrum für Theorie und Methoden
der Kulturwissenschaften
(Center for Theory of Culture and Society)



Das Zentrum für Theorie und Methoden der Kulturwissenschaften ist ein netzwerkartiger Verbund von über 70 Mitgliedern der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Als Trägerfakultäten fungieren die Philosophische und die Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät. Das Zentrum steht aber Mitgliedern aller Fakultäten offen.


Das Zentrum dient (1) der Generierung fächer- und fakultäten-übergreifender Drittmittelverbundprojekte mit Schwerpunkten in der Theoriereflexion und Theoriebildung als auch der expliziten Methodenentwicklung der beteiligten Disziplinen sowie (2) der Unterstützung von Einzel- und Verbundprojekten mit kultur-wissenschaftlichem Fokus bei der Begründung theoretisch-methodologischer Fragen besonders im Antragsstadium.


Die Notwendigkeit einer Einrichtung eines Zentrums für Theorien- und Methodenreflexion ist das Resultat der Cultural Turns, die die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften seit den späten 1980er Jahren nachhaltig verändert haben. Kultur dient dabei als "umbrella term" für eine sich auf die Turns berufende Modifikation der Arbeits- und Argumentationspraxis. Mit den Cultural Turns entwickelt sich in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften ein Korpus von Referenztexten, Problemfeldern und Denk- und Argumentationsweisen, die auf einer expliziten Theoriereflexion beruhen. Dabei integriert Theorie sowohl Elemente der Epistemologie und Wissenschaftstheorie als auch der Bildung Einzelfälle übergreifender Interpretations- und Narrationsmuster. Dadurch entwickelt sich eine gemeinsame Sprache, in der sich die geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen trotz der Disparität ihrer Forschungsthemen, -felder und zeiträume miteinander verständigen können.


Das Ziel des ZTMK ist es, empirische (Verbund-)Forschung theo- retisch besser zu fundieren, die metatheoretische Reflexion in den Nicht-Naturwissenschaften voranzubringen und empirische For- schungen transdisziplinär anschlussfähig und wissenschaftlich reflektierter zu gestalten.





Mitgliedschaft



Interesse an einer Mitgliedschaft?


mehr...