In publica commoda

Collaborative Research - Research Units

Research Units of the DFG are research groups of outstanding researchers in which those involved collaborate closely on specific medium-term research projects whose anticipated findings would not be able to be achieved within the scope of the individual grants programme. Research Units can be clustered at one location or distributed over several research locations. They will be funded for two four-year periods (for applications from 1 October 2018 onwards; prior to that two three-year periods).

Further designs of Research Units:

  • Centres for Advanced Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences are specifically tailored to the working methods used in these particular fields. One specific feature is a fellow programme for visiting researchers from Germany and abroad.
  • Clinical Research Units are associations in the field of disease- or patient-oriented (translational) clinical research and aim at a long-term implementation of scientific working groups in clinical institutions.

  • Proposals may be submitted at any time (for Centres for Advanced Studies applies an annual call by the DFG). The application process comprises two stages. Initially, a draft proposal is submitted to the DFG. In case of a positive evaluation, a full proposal can be submitted and will be evaluated during an on-site review.


    The Research Department supports you during the application and review process:

    We consult with you regarding the preparation of your proposals, facilitate the compilation of the research profiles of participating researchers, help you when it comes to the cooperation with universitary committees, confer with the DFG and offer you an extensive reviewing service.

    Any further details specific to your project or concerning precise processes will gladly be discussed in individual consultations. We therefore cordially invite you to contact us early on.

    You do have the possibility to apply for start-up funding which you can use for the preparation of your application.

    Please consider that university committees may need to be involved before draft or full proposals can be submitted to the DFG.

In publica commoda

Forschung in Verbünden - Forschungsgruppen

DFG-Forschungsgruppen sind eine mittelfristig angelegte, enge Zusammenarbeit von mehreren herausragend ausgewiesenen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern an einer besonderen Forschungsaufgabe, mit dem Ziel, Ergebnisse zu erreichen, die über die Einzelförderung deutlich hinausgehen. Forschungsgruppen können gebündelt an einem Ort durchgeführt werden oder sich auf mehrere Standorte verteilen. Sie werden für zweimal vier Jahre gefördert (eine Neuregelung seit 01.10.2018; zuvor zweimal drei Jahre).

Besondere Formen von Forschungsgruppen:

  • Kolleg-Forschungsgruppen sind ein speziell auf geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Arbeitsformen zugeschnittenes Förderangebot. Ihr besonderes Merkmal ist ein Fellow-Programm.
  • Klinische Forschungsgruppen sind Verbünde in der krankheits- oder patientenorientierten (translationalen) klinischen Forschung und zur dauerhaften Implementierung von wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen in klinischen Einrichtungen.


  • Anträge können jederzeit gestellt werden (mit Ausnahme der Kolleg-Forschungsgruppen, hier erfolgt jährlich eine Ausschreibung der DFG). Für die Antragstellung gilt ein zweistufiges Verfahren, so dass zunächst bei der DFG eine Antragsskizze eingereicht wird. Bei einer positiven Begutachtung der Antragsskizze folgt in einer zweiten Stufe die Einreichung eines vollständigen Antrags und eine Begehung (in der Regel vor Ort).


    Die Abteilung Forschung begleitet und unterstützt Sie während des Antragsprozesses:

    Wir beraten Sie bei der Erarbeitung Ihrer Anträge, unterstützen Sie bei der Erstellung der Forschungsprofile, kümmern uns um die Beteiligung der universitären Gremien, sind im Austausch mit der DFG und bieten Ihnen einen umfassenden Begutachtungsservice.

    Auf Ihr Vorhaben bezogene Details und konkrete Verfahrensschritte stimmen wir gerne mit Ihnen in persönlichen Beratungsgesprächen ab. Wir laden Sie ein, hierzu frühzeitig mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen.

    Zudem haben Sie die Möglichkeit über uns eine Anschubfinanzierung für die Ausarbeitung Ihres Projekts, formlos und unkompliziert zu beantragen.

    Bitte beachten Sie auch, dass vor einer Einreichung der Skizzen und Vollanträge bei der DFG verschiedene Gremien der Universität in das Antragsverfahren einzubeziehen sind.