Projekt goe-fungi

Mycorrhizas are the symbiosis between higher plants and fungi. The fungi enhances the nutrient supply of the plant by absorbing phosphate, nitrogen and other nutrients as well as water from the soil which are then transports to the plant. In return the fungus is given carbon compounds made by the plant via photosynthesis (Smith und Read 1997). Mycorrhizae are carbon sinks, up to 20% of all carbon compounds produced by the plant via photosynthesis are delivered to the fungi (Smith und Read 1997).

The Ectomycorrhiza (ECM) has three main components: hartig net, hyphal sheath and fungal mycelium in the soil. The hyphae of the ECM-fungi penetrate the root by growing between the root cells and enclosing the cells completely (hartig net), but the hyphae do not penetrate the root cells themselves. The branching of the net enhances the surface area for nutrient exchange between the plant and the fungi. The hartig net is the same for all Ectomycorrhizae. In contrast to this, the hyphal sheath is different for each fungal species. The hyphal sheath can vary in color, branching, shape of the hyphae in the soil, appearance of the rhizomorph and the structure of the inner surface of the hyphal sheath (Agerer 1987-2006).

Different projects at the institute investigated the relationship of ECM-communities and their diversities at various locations. The goal of the projects was to identify factors that influence the composition of the ECM-communities and their diversities. In the Graduierentenkolleg 1086 the impact of tree species composition was investigated, in the Beech Research group (Buchenforschergruppe) the influence of carbon was investigated. Within a project of Biodiversity Exploratories (Biodoversitätsexploratorien) the influence of the management system of the forest and the soil composition on the ECM communities was investigated.
In all projects soil samples were collected and the existing ECM was analyzed by distinguishing the difference in appearance of the hyphal sheath (morphotypes). The morphotypes were photographed and described. The different fungi species of the different morphotypes were identified with the help of DNA sequencing (ITS-Region) and a comparison of these sequences with sequences already found in different databases (UNITE und NCBI ). The DNA sequences were submitted to the NCBI web page. Some of the fungi could not be identified to the species level; they were classified as UECM (Unknown Ectomycorrhiza).

At the moment databases such as NCBI offer many sequences from different species of Ectomycorrhiza collected in various studies. Unfortunately there are few open source pictures linked to the sequences showing the different morphotypes. This internet page wants to contribute to linking sequences from NCBI to pictures of the different Ectomycorrhiza species.

Contact:
Dr. Christa Lang

Projekt goe-fungi

Mykorrhizen sind eine Symbiose zwischen höheren Pflanzen und Pilzen. Der Pilz verbessert die Nährstoffversorgung der Pflanzen, indem er Phosphat, Stickstoffverbindungen und andere Nährstoffe sowie Wasser aus dem Boden aufnimmt und zur Pflanze transportiert; er erhält im Gegenzug von der Pflanze Kohlenstoffverbindungen aus der Photosynthese (Smith und Read 1997). Die Mykorrhizen sind eine starke Kohlenstoffsenke, bis zu 20 % der Nettoprimärproduktion der Photosynthese werden von der Pflanze an die Pilze abgegeben (Smith und Read 1997).

Die ECM besteht aus drei Hauptbestandteilen: dem Hartig´schen Netz, dem Hyphenmantel und dem ausstrahlenden Myzel in den Boden. Die Hyphen des ECM-Pilzes dringen zwischen den Wurzelzellen in die Wurzel ein und umgeben die Zellen vollständig (Hartig´sches Netz), die Hyphen dringen aber nicht in die Wurzelzellen ein. Durch die starke Verzweigung des Netzes wird die Oberfläche für den Nährstoffaustausch zwischen Pflanze und Pilz deutlich vergrößert. Das Hartig´sche Netz ist bei allen Ektomykorrhizen gleich aufgebaut. Der Hyphenmantel dagegen ist von Pilzart zu Pilzart unterschiedlich. Die Hyphenmantel unterscheiden sich sowohl in der Farbe, der Verzweigung, der Form der Hyphen, die in den Boden ausstrahlen, im Vorkommen der Rhizomorphe und der Struktur der Innenseite des Hyphenmantels (Agerer 1987-2006).
In unterschiedlichen Projekten des Institutes wurden an verschiedenen Standorten und Beständen die ECM-Gesellschaften und Diversität untersucht. Ziel dieser Projekte war es Faktoren zu ermitteln, die die Zusammensetzung der EM-Gesellschaft und die Diversität beeinflussen. Im Graduierentenkolleg 1086 wurde der Einfluss der Baumartenzusammensetzung, in der Buchenforschergruppe der Einfluss des Kohlenstoffs, in einem Projekt innerhalb Biodoversitätsexploratorien der Einfluss des Managementsystems der Wälder und der Bodenzusammensetzung auf EM-Gesellschaft untersucht .
Bei allen Projekten wurden Bodenproben gesammelt und unter einem Binokular die vorhandene ECM anhand des unterschiedlichen Aussehens des Hyphenmantels (Morphotypen, s.o.) unterschieden. Die Morphotypen wurden fotografiert und beschrieben.
Mit Hilfe von DNA-Sequenzierungen (ITS-Region) und einem Vergleich der Sequenzen mit verschiedenen Datenbanken (UNITE und NCBI ) wurden die Pilzarten der unterschiedlichen Morphotypen bestimmt. Die DNA-Sequenzen wurden in der NCBI-Datenbank hinterlegt. Manche Pilzarten konnten nicht bis zur Art ebene bestimmt werden, sie wurden als UECM (Unknown Ectomycorrhiza) bezeichnet.

Zurzeit sind in den Datenbanken wie z.B. NCBI sehr viele Sequenzen von Ektomykorrhizaarten aus ganz unterschiedlichen Studien hinterlegt, leider gibt es nur selten zu den Sequenzen der Pilzarten auch frei zugängliche Fotos der entsprechend Morphotypen. Wir möchten mit dieser Seite einen Beitrag dazu leisten frei zugängliche Sequenzen in NCBI mit frei zugänglichen Fotos von Ektomykorrhizaarten zu verknüpfen.



Kontakt:
Dr. Christa Lang