Faculty of Economic Sciences


  • Dr. Jana Oehmichen: Award "EIBA 2016 Best Paper"
    Dr. Jana Oehmichen, Chair of Management and Control (Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff), Mariano L.M. Heyden and Nikolaos Kavadis have won the EIBA 2016 Best Paper Award of the track "International Corporate Governance, Finance, and Accounting" at the annual conference of the European International Business Academy (EIBA) for their working paper titled "Alleviating Boardroom Gender Inequality in Emerging Markets: Can Foreign Institutional Investors Counteract Local Institutional Forces?". The conference took place from December 2-4, 2016 in Vienna, Austria.

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Fabian Jintae Froese, Dr. Anna Katharina Bader and Lena E. Kemper: VHB and PERSONALquarterly Best Paper Award 2016
    Lena E. Kemper, Dr. Anna Katharina Bader and Prof. Dr. Dr. Fabian J. Froese have won the PERSONALquarterly Best Paper Award at the annual meeting of the division "Human Resource Management" of the "German Academic Association for Business Research" (VHB), the largest German association for business research, in Paderborn, for their paper entitled "When different attitudes toward women collide: The case of Scandinavian subsidiaries in Japan". Based on a qualitative study, the authors identify strategies how executives from Scandinavia, which is known for gender equality, can implement gender equality and promotion of women within Japanese workplaces. The meeting took place from September 21-23, 2016 at the University of Paderborn.

  • Dr. Steffen Jahn: Best Conceptual Paper Award at the Academy of Management (AOM) meeting
    Dr. Steffen Jahn, an assistant professor (Akademischer Rat) in the Chair of Marketing, with a focus on consumer behaviour (Prof. Dr. Yasemin Boztuğ), was recognized for his outstanding academic contribution "The Motivational Readiness Model of Entrepreneurship" at the Academy of Management (AOM) meeting. Together with Jun.-Prof. Dr. Mario Geißler of the Chemnitz University of Technology, he was awarded this year's "Best Conceptual Paper Award" in the entrepreneurship division. The award was presented to Dr. Jahn at the conference, which was sponsored by the journal Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice.

    The Academy of Management has nearly 20,000 members from more than 120 countries and is the largest professional association of academics in the field of business administration. The main AOM meeting takes place once a year, which took place this year in Anaheim, CA (US) from August 4-9, bringing together 10,000 participants.

  • Sebastian Firk: Recognized for outstanding research at 2016 AFAANZ Conference
    Sebastian Firk, PhD candidate at the Faculty of Economic Sciences Chair of Management and Controlling (Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff), has been recognized for his outstanding research paper "CFO commitment and value based management" at the 2016 doctoral symposium on the annual conference of the Accounting & Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand (AFAANZ). Together with Jordan Ripply (University of Alabama, USA), he was the winner of the "Research Pitching Competition". The challenge was to briefly summarize, respectively pitch, the current research project: CFO commitment and value based management

    The AFAANZ is the premier body representing the interests of accounting and finance academics and other persons interested in accounting and finance education and research in Australia and New Zealand. Its 2016 conference took place from July 3-5, at the Jupiters Hotel, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. Sebastian Firk was nominated to take part in the conference as an EAA representative on the 32nd doctoral colloquium of the European Accounting Association (EAA). The meeting took place from May 7-10, 2016 in Vaals (close to Maastricht), The Netherlands.