In publica commoda

Course evaluation goes online:

From paper-based evaluation to Online-in-Präsenz evaluation

The implementation of the two-part testing phase of the course evaluation: Online-in-Präsenz at the University of Göttingen started in WiSe 2018/2019. In SoSe 2019 the testing of the Online-in-Präsenz evaluation process will be extended to additional faculties.

Online-in-Präsenz - What’s this?

Students of the pilot faculties will evaluate their classes Online-in-Präsenz towards the end of term time...

Online: Instead of paper-based as before, the surveys are now provided in digital form and are conducted via Stud.IP with internet-ready devices like laptops, tablets or smartphones.

In-Präsenz: The students will be invited to access the online survey in class. If classes (e.g. block events) take place outside of the regular term time, the evaluation will be conducted during the penultimate teaching unit.

For the moment, all questionnaires for course evaluation remain unchanged. Corresponding samples can be found here: sample questionnaires.

The teaching staff is able to access their results promptly in Stud.IP after the minimum acceptable return rate of six participants has been exceeded. When the surveys are closed at the end of the evaluation period, the final and officially valid reports are accessible and will be send to teachers via e-mail.

In WiSe 2018/2019 the following faculties evaluated Online-in-Präsenz for the first time:
Faculties of the pilot phase

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Chemistry
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (Mathematics only)
  • Faculty of Biology and Psychology
  • Faculty of Business and Economics
  • Faculty of Social Sciences

In SoSe 2019 the following faculties will also be part of the extended testing phase:
Faculties of the testing phase

  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (Computer Science only)
  • Faculty of Physics
  • Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology
  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
  • Faculty of Geoscience and Geography