Organization of the faculty

In 2006 the Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology began a process of reorganization with the aim of creating an efficient, performance-orientated structure, meeting modern requirements for research and teaching, but without disregarding the faculty's traditional roots. The primary intention was to sustain and enhance the nationally and internationally recognized high quality of research and teaching, keeping aware of the fact that growing competition between universities and ever-decreasing resources demand structural and organizational changes at faculty level. We have therefore endeavoured to reorganize our wide variety of research and teaching facilities into a more sustainable structure. This has included a significant reduction in administrative tasks.

The faculty consists of 21 departments in 2 instututes:

Buesgen InstituteBurckhardt Institute

An organizational chart with all institutes, departments and facilities is available for download (pdf).

next page