Electronic Finance

Type of CourseSeminar
TermWinter term 2013/14
Credits6


Dates/Times/Locations
keine Angabe, 10:00-18:00, Block: 20.01.2014
Room: MZG/Blauer - 6.117
Tuesday, 18:00-20:00, single: 22.10.2013
Room: MZG/Blauer - 6.117


Exams
Thursday, -12:00, Paper Submission: 09.01.2014


Instructors
Muntermann, Jan, Prof. Dr.
Zülch, Mirko Jan, Dr.
Sinanaj, Griselda, Dr.
Weinrich, Timo, M.Sc.


Course Language: German

Learning Objectives:

The subject of this seminar is the analysis of future challenges in the financial industry, which are mainly driven by the increasing diffusion and dissemination of information technology (IT). Under the heading "Electronic Finance" i.e., IT-driven changes in the financial industry are analyzed from an institutional, organizational, and strategic perspective. This seminar includes two main objects of research: (1) innovations in e-finance at the corporate and market level and (2) IT management in the financial industry.


(1) Innovations in e-finance at the corporate and market level
This topic deals with emerging IT-driven business models, decision making processes, market transformations, and related business and market innovations in the e-finance realm. As an example, the innovations within financial markets have greatly increased in recent years. Due to the developments in the IT, new financial products have arised and market infrastructures have changed significantly.

(2) IT management in the financial industry

This topic focuses on emerging IT management issues, which in particular dominate the agenda of top management in knowledge-intensive industries in general and in the financial services industry, specifically. Today, IT is the lifeblood of the globalized and interconnected financial markets and financial services industry. Especially in this area, business strategies and business processes heavily depend on IT, which means that the strategic management of IT is becoming a long-term issue for top management.

Examination:

  • Presentation (approx. 30 minutes)
  • Paper (about 12 pages)

Examination requirements and evaluation:

Independent incorporation into a subject in the field of innovation in e-finance or IT management in the financial industry. Written and oral preparation of the topic and cross-topic discussions. The students are divided into groups consisting of two, in order to collaboratively work on a seminar topic. At the end of the course each group hands in a written seminar paper and presents their findings. The written paper is evaluated with 4 ECTS and the presentation is evaluated with 2 ECTS.

Recommended previous knowledge:

Compulsory module "Information and Communication Systems"

Prior registration is required:

Registration via online seminar space allocation: http://www.uni-goettingen.de/de/85033.html

Timetable:

  • 1.-22. June 2013: Registration
  • 22. October 2013, 6-8 pm: Kick-off event and allocation of topics (mandatory), Room 6.117
    (Blauer Turm, 6th Floor)
  • 9. January 2014, 12 am: Deadline for seminar work (mandatory)
  • 20. and 21. January 2014: Presentation of seminar papers (mandatory)

Electronic Finance

VeranstaltungsartSeminar
SemesterWiSe 2013/14
Credits6


Termine
keine Angabe, 10:00-18:00, Block: 20.01.2014
Raum: MZG/Blauer - 6.117
Dienstag, 18:00-20:00, Einzel: 22.10.2013
Raum: MZG/Blauer - 6.117


Prüfungstermine
Donnerstag, -12:00, Abg. Hausarbeit: 09.01.2014


Modulverantwortliche
Muntermann, Jan, Prof. Dr.
Zülch, Mirko Jan, Dr.
Sinanaj, Griselda, Dr.
Weinrich, Timo, M.Sc.


Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch

Lernziele/Kompetenzen:

Gegenstand dieses Seminars ist die Analyse zukünftiger Herausforderungen in der Finanzindustrie die maßgeblich durch die zunehmende Diffusion und Verbreitung von Informationstechnologie (IT) getrieben werden. Unter dem Stichwort "Electronic Finance" werden also IT-getriebene zukunftsweisende Veränderungen in der Finanzindustrie analysiert, aus institutioneller, organisationaler sowie strategischer Perspektive. Dieses Seminar beinhaltet zwei wesentliche Untersuchungsgegenstände: (1) Innovationen im E-Finance auf der Firmen- und Markt-Ebene und (2) ITManagement in der Finanzindustrie.

(1) Innovationen im E-Finance auf der Firmen- und Markt-Ebene
Dieser Themenkomplex befasst sich mit neu aufkommenden IT-getriebenen Geschäftsmodellen, Entscheidungsprozessen, Markttransformationen und damit verbundene Geschäfts- und Marktneuheiten im E-Finance Bereich. Als Beispiel wären hier die Innovationen auf den Finanzmärkten zu nennen, welche in den vergangenen Jahren stark zugenommen haben. Durch die Entwicklungen in der IT sind hier neue Finanzprodukte entstanden und Marktinfrastrukturen haben sich wesentlich verändert.

(2) ITManagement in der Finanzindustrie
Dieser Themenkomplex konzentriert sich auf aufkommende IT-Management-Themen, die die Tagesordnung des Top-Managements in wissensintensiven Wirtschaftszweigen im Allgemeinen und in der Finanzdienstleistungsbranche insbesondere dominieren. Heutzutage ist IT der Lebensnerv der globalisierten und vernetzten Finanzmärkte und Finanzdienstleistungsindustrie. Besonders in diesem Bereich sind Geschäftsstrategien und Geschäftsprozesse stark abhängig von der IT, was dazu führt, dass das strategische Management von IT zu einem langfristigen Thema für das Top-Management wird

Prüfung:

  • Präsentation (ca. 30 Minuten)
  • Hausarbeit (ca. 12 Seiten)

Prüfungsanforderungen und Evaluation:

Eigenständiges Einarbeiten in ein Thema aus dem Bereich Innovationen im E-Finance oder IT-Management in der Finanzindustrie, schriftliche sowie mündliche Aufbereitung des Themas sowie themenübergreifende Diskussionsbeiträge. Die Studenten werden in Gruppen, bestehend aus zwei Personen, eingeteilt, um ein Seminarthema in Zusammenarbeit zu bearbeiten. Jede Gruppe muss am Ende eine schriftliche Seminararbeit abgeben und die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit in einer Präsentation vorstellen. Dabei wird die schriftliche Seminararbeit mit 4 ECTS und die Präsentation mit 2 ECTS bewertet

Empfohlene Vorkenntnisse: Pflichtmodul "Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme"

Anmeldung per Online-Seminarplatzvergabe: http://www.uni-goettingen.de/de/85033.html

Zeitplan:

  • 1.-22. Juni 2013: Anmeldefrist
  • 22. Oktober 2013 - 18-20 Uhr: Kick-Off Veranstaltung und Themenzuteilung (verpflichtend), Raum 6.117 (Blauer Turm, 6. Stock)
  • 9. Januar 2014, 12 Uhr: Abgabefrist für die Seminararbeiten (verpflichtend)
  • 20. und 21. Januar 2014: Präsentation der Seminararbeiten (verpflichtend)