W3 Professorship "Algebra / Discrete Mathematics"


The Mathematical Institute of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science at the Georg August University of Göttingen has a vacancy for a W3 professorship "Algebra / Discrete Mathematics" in the civil service (grade W3 NBesO) with tenure.

The Mathematical Institute of Georg August University of Göttingen enjoys high international reputation. It has a unique tradition world-wide, mentioning with Gauß, Riemann, Hilbert, Klein, Noether, Siegel, and Grauert just a few of the most renowned proponents.

The W3 professorship "Algebra / Discrete Mathematics" will strengthen the research focus "Algebra, Geometry, Number Theory". Among its internationally connected research units, the number theory group is particularly visible. This research focus is linked to the second basic research focus, which includes the areas of topology, analysis, functional analysis and differential geometry. The W3 professorship "Algebra / Discrete Mathematics" is intended to help shape and further expand this connection.

Jointly, the institute is active in many research projects with external funding. This includes numerous individual research grants as well as research in collaborate projects. Currently, one focus is the Research Training Group "Fourier analysis and spectral theory".

Within the framework of these and further activities, the scientific life at the institute is characterized by numerous workshops, symposia, summer schools, and visits of guests, among those also the prestigious Gauss-professorships of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences.

Mathematics in Göttingen has the tradition to attracts strong students from all over the world. To prepare them for new challenges, the Mathematics Department of the faculty has developed a new study program "Mathematical Data Science". It is expected that the professorship will contribute to the development of this new program. In Göttingen, both the more theoretical and the more applied branches of mathematics collaborate in teaching and research. The affinity to contribute to joint projects is indispensable for any mathematician in Göttingen.

For more details on specific aspects of the profile of mathematics in Göttingen and in particular of the professorship feel free to contact




Proceedings

W3-Professur "Algebra / Diskrete Mathematik"


Am Mathematischen Institut der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen ist eine W3-Professur "Algebra / Diskrete Mathematik" im Beamtenverhältnis (BesGr. W3 NBesO) auf Lebenszeit zu besetzen.

Das Mathematische Institut der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen genießt hohes internationales Ansehen. Es blickt auf eine weltweit einzigartige Tradition zurück mit einer Ahnenreihe, bei der mit Gauß, Riemann, Hilbert, Klein, Noether, Siegel und Grauert nur wenige der Exponenten genannt sind.

Die W3-Professur "Algebra / Diskrete Mathematik" verstärkt den Forschungsschwerpunkt "Algebra, Geometrie, Zahlentheorie". Besonders sichtbar ist die international gut vernetzte und ausgewiesene Zahlentheorie-Gruppe. Verbunden ist dieser Schwerpunkt mit dem zweiten grundlagenorientierten Forschungsschwerpunkt, der u.a. die Bereiche Topologie, Analysis, Funktionalanalysis und Differenzialgeometrie umfasst. Die W3-Professur "Algebra / Diskrete Mathematik" soll diese Verbindung mitgestalten und weiter ausbauen.

Gemeinsam ist das Institut auch sehr erfolgreich mit Drittmittelprojekten, mit zahlreichen DFG-Einzelprojekten sowie der Forschung in verschiedenen Verbünden. Das GRK 2491 "Fourier Analysis and Spectral Theory" ist hier aktuell ein Fokus.

Im Rahmen dieser und anderer Aktivitäten ist unser wissenschaftliches Leben durch zahlreiche Workshops, Symposien, Sommerschulen und Gäste geprägt, darunter auch die renommierten Gauß-Gastprofessoren der Göttinger Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Die Göttinger Mathematik hat die Tradition, leistungsstarke Studierende von überall auf der Welt anzuziehen. Um den neuen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden, hat der Bereich Mathematik der Fakultät den Studiengang "Mathematical Data Science" neu entwickelt. Es wird erwartet, dass die Professur sich in der Entwicklung des Lehrangebots in diesem Bereich einbringt. In ihrer Gesamtheit arbeiten in Göttingen die theoretischen und anwendungsorientierten Bereiche der Mathematik in Forschung und Lehre zusammen. Eine Affinität zur Mitarbeit in gemeinsamen Projekten ist unabdingbar für alle Mathematiker in Göttingen.

Auskunft über weitere spezifische Aspekte des Profils der Mathematik in Göttingen und der Stelle geben gerne