What are ECTS-Credit Points?

Courses offered by the Faculty Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology are within the framework of the European credit transfer system (ECTS). This system is of interest for all students who plan to study abroad as part of the programme. Studying at a European partner university greatly improves the educational profile of the student. The advantage of the ECTS is that for all courses, points are given in a standardised European wide assessment system (CREDITS), which guarantees academic recognition of studies at a European partner university.
How does ECTS work? First, a bi-lateral agreement between partner universities is reached. A large number of universities are in the ECTS. Information about the universities can be obtained at the faculty coordination office (Socrates coordinator). The prospective students develop an study agreement between the home and host university, for which courses will be recognised. Help can be obtained from a Socrates coordinator. Assessments of the courses are documented in a transcript of records. For this, advice is also given by the Socrates coordinator. For incoming students visiting the faculty of Forestry, an information package is available containing information about the university and practical information about health insurance, registration, accommodation etc.. In addition, the information package contains detailed information about the faculty, programmes offered, course contents, and the work load calculated in credits.

What are CREDITS? Credits are standardised throughout Europe. Sixty credits represent one year of study with a normal work load. Normally 30 credits are given for one semester. The number of credits given is dependent upon the work load, not the degree of difficulty of a course. This means that successful completion of a two hour basic lecture is worth the same number of credits as a two hour advanced lecture. Credits are given for all forms of teaching (lectures, practicals, seminars, project work, dissertations, study visits in companies), as long as this was agreed in a bi-lateral agreement between the home and host universities. At our faculty the following conversion factor between hours per week and credits is used: 1 hour per week equals 1.5 credits. Conversion of “Local grades” of the host university into the grading system of the home university is carried out using a predetermined calculation factor and can be accessed in “ECTS grades”.

Who can help me if I wish to study abroad or if I wish to come to
Göttingen as a visiting student?
You can get advice from the faculty Socrates coordinator.
The co-ordinator is a contact person for students and teaching staff in the faculty. The coordinator gives advice about ECTS, information about host universities, as well as practical information such as how to fill in the different forms.
The Socrates coordinator advises about study abroad (development of the study agreement from compulsory and optional courses of your own interest), helps with the integration of incoming students, and is the contact person for students studying abroad.

back to overview of "Service"

Was sind ECTS-Credit Points?

Die Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie bietet ihre Lehrveranstaltungen im Rahmen des sog. EUROPEAN CREDIT TRANSFER SYSTEM (ECTS) an. Dieses System ist vor allem für Studierende interessant, die während des Studiums einen Auslandsaufenthalt planen. Durch ein Gaststudium an einer europäischen Partneruniversität können die Studierenden ihr Ausbildungsprofil wesentlich erweitern und verbessern. Der Vorteil des ECTS liegt darin, dass für alle Lehrveranstaltungen Punkte (sog. CREDITS) nach einem europaweiten, einheitlichen Bewertungssystem vergeben werden und damit von anderen europäischen Partneruniversitäten als Studienleistung anerkannt werden können.

Wie funktioniert ECTS? Zunächst ist ein bilaterales Abkommen zwischen den Partnerinstitutionen erforderlich. Es sind schon viele europäische Universitäten über ECTS verbunden. Informationen dazu liegen an unserer Fakultät an einer Koordinationsstelle (Sokrates-Beauftragte/r) vor. Die Studierenden wählen in Abstimmung mit der heimischen und der Gastuniversität ein Studienprogramm, das innerhalb ihres Studiums als Studienleistung angerechnet wird („learning agreement“). Hierbei hilft die/der Sokrates-Beauftragte/r. Der Studienerfolg wird für die entsprechenden Veranstaltungen durch ein „transcript of records“ dokumentiert. Die/der Sokrates-Beauftragte/r unterstützt die Studierenden auch hierbei. Für ECTS-Gaststudierende an der forstlichen Fakultät ist ein "Information Package" erhältlich, das allgemeine Informationen über die Universität Göttingen enthält und auch zu praktischen Fragen Auskunft erteilt, wie Krankenversicherung, Einschreibegebühren, Unterkunft etc. Daneben enthält dieses Paket detaillierte Informationen über die Fakultät, die angebotenen Studiengänge, Kursinhalte und den jeweiligen Arbeitsumfang, gerechnet in CREDITS.

Was sind CREDITS? Die CREDITS sind europaweit so festgelegt, dass in einem akademischen Jahr bei einem normalen Studium (Arbeitspensum nach Studienplan) 60 credits oder auf das Semester bezogen ,30 credits erreicht werden. Die CREDITS hängen von der erforderlichen Arbeitszeit ab, aber nicht vom Schwierigkeitsgrad der Lerneinheit, d.h. die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einer 2-stündigen Anfängervorlesung bringt genau so viele CREDITS wie der Besuch einer 2-stündigen Spezialvorlesung. Für CREDITS werden alle Unterrichtsformen (Vorlesungen, Übungen, Seminare, Projektarbeit, Dissertation und praktische Arbeit in der Industrie) anerkannt, wenn dies in dem bilateralen Abkommen zwischen Heimat- und Gastuniversität vereinbart wurde. An unserer Fakultät gilt folgender Umrechnungsfaktor zwischen Semesterwochenstunden (SWS) und CREDITS: 1 SWS = 1,5 CREDITS. Eine Umrechnung von den an der Partneruniversität erzielten Benotungen ("local grades") in das Bewertungssystem der Heimatuniversität erfolgt nach festgelegten Umrechnungstabellen mittels Einschalten von "ECTS-grades".

Wer hilft mir, wenn ich im Ausland studieren möchte oder als Gaststudent/in nach Göttingen kommen will? ECTS wird von einem/er Fakultätskoordinator/in (Sokrates-Beauftragte/r) betreut. Er/Sie dient als Kontaktstelle für Studierende und Lehrkräfte innerhalb der Fakultät, informiert über ECTS, gibt Auskunft über Gastuniversitäten und hilft auch bei praktischen Dingen, z.B. dem Ausfüllen der verschiedenen Formulare. Die/der Sokrates-Beauftragte/r berät die Studierenden über ihren Studienablauf im Ausland (Erstellung des Studienprogramms aus Pflichtkursen kombiniert mit Wahlveranstaltungen nach persönlichen Interessen), hilft bei der Integration der Gaststudenten/innen und ist Ansprechpartner/in für die im Ausland Studierenden.

zurück zur Übersicht "Service"