Guest researcher at the Department of Church history

Mattias Skat Sommer (PhD, Aarhus University) has been awarded a two-year postdoctoral scholarship by the Carlsberg Foundation. From June 2020 he will work on a research project entitled TOLERATION at the Department of Church History in co-operation with Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Dr. h.c. Thomas Kaufmann.

In research on tolerance in early modern Christianity, scholarship has favoured a top-down perspective which has been successful in describing toleration as a philosophical and political idea in urban environments. Scholars have, however, not adequately examined how religious communities lived with tolerance and how they themselves practised tolerance.

TOLERATION addresses this gap by focusing on sources which until now have received only little attention, namely, archival records (sermons, pamphlets, chronicles, correspondence, descriptions of processions etc.) and material culture (religious buildings) of religious exiles in the duchy of Schleswig-Holstein from the sixteenth through eighteenth centuries, based at four sites: Glückstadt, Friedrichstadt, Altona, and the oktroyierte Köge.

Through a combination of archival records and material culture, TOLERATION studies how communities envisioned their own social and religious status and remembered their history ('selfing'), and their relationship to other communities ('othering').

In today's multicultural Nordic societies, religious plurality and toleration are the norm. It was not always like that. TOLERATION studies possible roots of the tolerant culture by looking at the interplay between religious groups and political authorities in early modern times.

On the other hand, it suggests that while toleration of minorities is often an idea coming from the top of society, it may not always be mirrored in minorities' perception of other minorities.

The history of toleration in early modern Schleswig-Holstein has been studied before, but not from a bottom-up perspective, not comparatively, and not spanning more centuries. TOLERATION suggests that three scholarly conditions will lead to ground-breaking insights into the idea and practices of toleration and religious exile in the Nordic area:

1. An intensified focus on the formative period in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries.
2. A focus on sources that not only origin in an urban context.
3.A bottom-up approach, stressing how people lived with toleration rather than how authorities sought to impose toleration.


Cantact at Fakulty (June 2020):
Mattias Skat Sommer
Room: 2.137
HBK: 15
Phone: +49 (551) 39-27138
mattiasskatsommer@gmail.com

Gastwissenschaftler am Seminar für Kirchengeschichte


Mattias Skat Sommer (PhD, Universität Aarhus) wurde von der Carlsberg-Stiftung mit einem zweijährigen Postdoktorandenstipendium ausgezeichnet. Ab Juni 2020 wird er in Zusammenarbeit mit Professor Dr. Thomas Kaufmann an einem Forschungsprojekt mit dem Titel TOLERATION in der Fakultät am Lehrstuhl für Kirchengeschichte arbeiten.

In der Forschung zur Toleranz im frühneuzeitlichen Christentum hat die Wissenschaft eine Top-down-Perspektive bevorzugt, der es gelungen ist, Toleranz als philosophische und politische Idee im urbanen Umfeld zu beschreiben. Wissenschaftlich ist jedoch nicht ausreichend untersucht, wie Religionsgemeinschaften mit Toleranz lebten und wie sie selbst Toleranz praktizierten.

TOLERATION soll diese Lücke beheben, indem sich auf Quellen konzentriert wird, die bisher nur wenig Beachtung gefunden haben: nämlich Archivalien (Sermonen, Broschüren, Chroniken, Korrespondenz, Beschreibungen von Prozessionen usw.) und materielle Kultur (religiöse Gebäude) von religiösen Exilanten im Herzogtum Schleswig-Holstein vom 16. bis 18. Jahrhundert an vier Orten: Glückstadt, Friedrichstadt, Altona und der oktroyierten Köge.

Durch eine Kombination aus Archivalien und materieller Kultur soll im Rahmen des Projektes TOLERATION untersucht werden, wie Gemeinschaften sich ihren eigenen sozialen und religiösen Status vorstellten und sich an ihre Geschichte ("Selbst") und ihre Beziehung zu anderen Gemeinschaften ("Anderssein") erinnerten.

In den heutigen multikulturellen nordischen Gesellschaften sind religiöse Pluralität und Toleranz die Norm. Es war nicht immer so. TOLERATION untersucht mögliche Wurzeln der toleranten Kultur, indem sie das Zusammenspiel zwischen religiösen Gruppen und politischen Autoritäten in der frühen Neuzeit betrachtet.

Andererseits deutet sie darauf hin, dass die Duldung von Minderheiten zwar oft eine Idee ist, die von der Spitze der Gesellschaft kommt, sich aber nicht immer in der Wahrnehmung anderer Minderheiten durch Minderheiten widerspiegelt.

Die Geschichte der Toleranz im frühen modernen Schleswig-Holstein wurde schon früher untersucht, aber nicht aus einer Bottom-up-Perspektive, nicht vergleichsweise, und nicht mehrere Jahrhunderte. TOLERATION legt nahe, dass drei wissenschaftliche Bedingungen zu bahnbrechenden Einblicken in die Idee und den Praktiken der Toleranz und des religiösen Exils im nordischen Raum führen werden:

1. Eine verstärkte Fokussierung auf die prägende Periode im siebzehnten und frühen achtzehnten Jahrhundert.
2. Ein Fokus auf Quellen, die nicht nur in einem urbanen Kontext stehen.
3.Ein Bottom-up-Ansatz, der betont, wie menscheninitiert und nicht durch Behörden vorgegeben, Toleranz zu erzwingen.


Kontakt in der Fakultät (ab Juni 2020):
Mattias Skat Sommer
Raum: 2.137
HBK: 15
Tel.: +49 (551) 39-27138
mattiasskatsommer@gmail.com