TO IMAGINE THE WORLD DIFFERENTLY AFTER THE PANDEMIC:

PERSPECTIVES FROM EUROPE AND BEYOND

Monday, 23 November 2020
14.00-15.00 CET – 18.30-19.30 IST – 08.00-09.00 EST
Via Zoom (registration link below)

Covid-19 has had an impact on almost all spheres of our lives. Many commentators are of the opinion that there is no rollback possible. “the virus will shutter the very foundations of our lives”, Slavoj Žižek notes, whether that makes us any wiser is another question still.”
In this panel, we will look into the spheres of fields of distance, exchange, borders – and thus of hygiene, communication and politics.


Plakat Panel III

The panelists:
Elizabeth Goering is Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis, USA. Her research focuses are on how human communication processes create and recreate our social realities.

Margriet van der Waal is senior lecturer in Cultural Studies with the Euroculture Programme, and endowed chair in South African Literature, Culture and History at the University of Amsterdam. Her research interests are about the cultural constructions of identity and how these partake in the public sphere.

Shruti Tambe is Professor and Head of the Department of Sociology and Director of the Euroculture Programme at Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune. She has been working on social movements, labour, Social Policy, Qualitative Social Research and Social Theory.

The panel will be moderated by Lars Klein, Senior Lecturer for Euroculture at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen.