Erasmus+ Programme 2014 -2020

Erasmus+, the new EU programme for education, youth and sport, kicked off on 1 January 2014 and will run for seven years (2014-2020). The estimated budget for the Erasmus+ program is €14.5 billion. Around 73 million euros have been made available to German universities for Key Action 1.1 "Learning Mobility of Individuals". The seven-year programme aims to boost skills and employability, and to promote the modernisation of education, training, and child and youth services.

Erasmus+ replaces the Lifelong Learning Program, Youth in Action and the international EU higher education programs in non-EU countries. Some well-known names in the field of education represent the respective education sectors:

COMENIUS (primary education)
ERASMUS (higher education)
LEONARDO DA VINCI (vocational training)
GRUNDTVIG (adult education)

Erasmus+ is divided into 3 action areas (Key Actions):

Key Action 1 (KA1): Mobility of Individuals

Key Action 2 (KA2): Cooperation for Innovation and the Exchange of Good Practices

Key Action 3 (KA3): Support for Policy Reform


“This project has been funded with the support of the European Commission. The author is solely responsible for the content of this publication. The Commission may not be held responsible for the information contained herein.”