Academic Advisory Board

The members of the Academic Advisory Board (AAB) are external, internationally acclaimed scholars. They discuss research foci with the director and oversee the process of selecting scholars for the fellowship program. Fellows are invited by the director with the approval of the Board, which is responsible for quality assurance and reports on the Lichtenberg-Kolleg to the Presidential Board.

Every four years, the Lichtenberg-Kolleg is audited by external experts in cooperation with the Academic Advisory Board.

Members of the Academic Advisory Board:

  • Marise Cremona
    Professor of European Law, European University Institute, Firenze, Italy
  • Ivan Gaskell
    Professor of Cultural History and Museum Studies, Bard Graduate Center, New York City, USA
  • Philip Gorski
    Professor of Sociology, Yale University, New Haven, USA
  • Fania Oz-Salzberger
    Professor of History, University of Haifa, Israel
  • Arie Rip
    Professor of Philosophy of Science and Technology, University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands
  • Jyotirmaya Sharma
    Professor of Political Science, University of Hyderabad, India
  • Mina Teicher
    Professor at Bar-Ilan University, Director of the Emmy Noether Mathematical Institute, Ramat Gan, Israel
  • Evelyn Welch
    Professor of Renaissance Studies, Vice-Principal for Arts and Sciences, King's College London, UK
  • Björn Wittrock
    Professor at Uppsala University, Principal of the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study, Uppsala, Sweden