Abteilung Interkulturelle Germanistik

Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne

Head of the Department of Intercultural German Studies and the German-Chinese Institute for Intercultural German Studies and Culture Comparison


Hiltraud Casper-Hehne studied German and History at the TU Braunschweig. She received her doctorate from the Institute of German Linguistics and worked as a lecturer of the German Academic Exchange Service in Shanghai (China). After a variety of teaching activities at the TU Braunschweig, she took over as head of the department “German as a Foreign Language” and also became “Akademische Rätin” (lecturer) at the Language Centre, later also Deputy Director. From 1997 onwards the scientist worked on her habilitation on intercultural everyday communication, which was completed in 2003. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne was Chairman of the Board of the “Fachverband Deutsch als Fremdsprache” (“German as a Foreign Language Association”) from May 2001 to May 2009.

Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne has been Professor of Intercultural German Studies/Linguistics since 01 April 2004. Prof. Casper-Hehne has initiated various research projects for Eastern Europe and Asia in the field of Intercultural German Studies, including the project “Interkultur” within the framework of the EU higher education programme Asia-Link to promote cooperation between Europe and China. A bi-national Master's programme with a double degree was put in place. The scientist is founding director of the German-Chinese Institute for Intercultural German Studies and Cultural Comparison and has been appointed China Commissioner of the University of Göttingen. From 2007 to 2009 she was a member of the Senate of the University.

She has been Vice President for Research and International Affairs since April 2009 and Vice President for International Affairs at the University of Göttingen since April 2011. In 2015, the University of Göttingen received the Institutional Award for Innovation in Internationalisation from the European Association for International Education.

Prof. Casper-Hehne was a member of the board of the HERA network from 2012 to 2014 and of the Executive Board of the Coimbra Group from 2014 to 2016. In 2014, she also headed the German Council of Economic Experts on the development of a BMBF strategy for China. She has been a member of the Language Advisory Board of the Goethe-Institut since 2015 and a board member of the German Academic Exchange Service since 2016. Since the beginning of 2018 she has been a member of the EU Ad-hoc Expert Group on European Universities.

Prof. Casper-Hehne has led numerous international, European and national projects in the field of German as a foreign and second language as well as language promotion. For instance, from 2014 to 2016 she was the overall project manager of the project “Umbrüche gestalten” (“Shaping upheavals”), which was dedicated to the obligatory integration of language promotion and language training into teacher training at nine universities in Lower Saxony.

Hiltraud Casper-Hehne's current research focuses on language promotion and language education, cultural studies, applied linguistics and conversation analysis.

Abteilung Interkulturelle Germanistik

Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne

Leiterin der Abteilung Interkulturelle Germanistik und des deutsch-chinesischen Instituts für Interkulturelle Germanistik und Kulturvergleich


Hiltraud Casper-Hehne studierte Germanistik und Geschichte an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig. Sie wurde am Institut für Germanistische Linguistik promoviert und arbeitete als Lektorin des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes in Shanghai (China). Nach vielfältigen Lehrtätigkeiten an der TU Braunschweig übernahm sie dort die Leitung der Abteilung „Deutsch als Fremdsprache“ und wurde zudem Akademische Rätin am Sprachenzentrum, später dann auch stellvertretende Leiterin. Von 1997 an arbeitete die Wissenschaftlerin an ihrer Habilitation zur interkulturellen Alltagskommunikation, die 2003 abgeschlossen wurde. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne war von Mai 2001 bis Mai 2009 Vorstandsvorsitzende des Fachverbands Deutsch als Fremdsprache.

Prof. Dr. Hiltraud Casper-Hehne nimmt seit dem 1. April 2004 die Aufgaben einer Universitätsprofessorin für Interkulturelle Germanistik/Sprachwissenschaft wahr. In der Interkulturellen Germanistik hat Prof. Casper-Hehne verschiedene Forschungsvorhaben für den osteuropäischen und den asiatischen Raum initiiert, darunter das Projekt „Interkultur“ im Rahmen des EU Hochschulprogramms Asia-Link zur Förderung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und China. Realisiert wurde dabei ein binationaler Masterstudiengang mit Doppelabschluss. Die Wissenschaftlerin ist Gründungsdirektorin des Deutsch-Chinesischen Instituts für Interkulturelle Germanistik und Kulturvergleich und wurde zur China- Beauftragten der Universität Göttingen ernannt. In der universitären Selbstverwaltung war sie von 2007 bis 2009 Mitglied des Senats.

Seit April 2009 ist sie Vizepräsidentin für Forschung und Internationales, seit April 2011 Vizepräsidentin für Internationales der Universität Göttingen. 2015 erhielt die Universität Göttingen den Institutional Award for Innovation in Internationalisation der European Association for International Education.

Prof. Casper-Hehne war 2012 – 2014 Mitglied im Board des HERA Netzwerks, 2014 – 2016 Mitglied des Executive Board der Coimbra Group. 2014 leitete sie zudem den Sachverständigenrat zur Entwicklung einer Chinastrategie des BMBF. Seit 2015 ist sie Mitglied des Beirats Sprache des Goethe-Instituts und seit 2016 Vorstandsmitglied des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes. Seit Anfang 2018 ist sie Mitglied der EU Ad-hoc Expert Group on European Universities.

Prof. Casper-Hehne leitete zahlreiche internationale, europäische und nationale Projekte im Bereich Deutsch- als Fremd- und Zweitsprache sowie Sprachenförderung. So war sie 2014 bis 2016 Gesamtprojektleiterin des Projektes der neun lehramtsausbildenden niedersächsischen Hochschulen „Umbrüche gestalten“, das sich der obligatorischen Integration von Sprachenförderung und Sprachenbildung in die Lehramtsausbildung widmete.

Die aktuellen Forschungsschwerpunkte von Hiltraud Casper-Hehne liegen in den Bereichen Sprachenförderung und Sprachenbildung, Kulturwissenschaft sowie Angewandte Sprachwissenschaft und Gesprächsanalyse.