Faculty of Chemistry

Research focus of the faculty

The Faculty of Chemistry in Göttingen covers the classical areas of the subject inorganic, organic and physical chemistry in largely the same percentage. In addition to this, three research focuses were established in the last three years, which were strengthened by the respective professions. These are:


  • Energy conversion - processes and materials
  • Functional biomolecular chemistry
  • Molecular catalysis


In addition to the fundamental expertise in the core areas of chemistry, the faculty established modern and interdisciplinary focuses that can excellently utilise the potential of cooperation partners present in the area. In accordance with the competencies combined in the focus points, diverse research groups were created. Furthermore, the focus points are implemented in the teaching strategy of the faculty so that a close link between research and teaching is created.

The research profile will be strengthened by on-going appointments and appointments made shortly. This fits very well with the strategic research development of the university and can contribute important aspects for the university research focus points "Energy conversion" sowie "Functional principles of living matter" in future.


continue to research groups

Fakultät für Chemie

Forschungsschwerpunkte der Fakultät

Die Göttinger Fakultät für Chemie bildet das Fach in seiner klassischen Ausprägung von Anorganischer, Organischer und Physikalischer Chemie in annähernd gleichem Umfang ab. Übergreifend wurden in den vergangenen Jahren systematisch drei Forschungsschwerpunkte etabliert und durch die jeweiligen Berufungen gestärkt. Diese sind:


  • Energiewandlung - Prozesse und Materialien
  • Funktionale Biomolekulare Chemie
  • Molekulare Katalyse


Neben der grundlegenden Expertise in den Kernbereichen der Chemie hat die Fakultät damit moderne und interdisziplinär angelegte Schwerpunkte gesetzt, die das am Standort vorhandene Potential an Kooperationspartnern hervorragend nutzen können. Entsprechend den in den Schwerpunkten versammelten Kompetenzen sind diverse Forschungsverbünde entstanden. Die Schwerpunkte sind darüber hinaus im Lehrangebot der Fakultät implementiert, so dass hier eine enge Verzahnung von Forschung und Lehre erfolgt.

Das Forschungsprofil wird mit den laufenden und in Kürze anstehenden Berufungen weiter geschärft. Es passt sehr gut in die strategische Forschungsentwicklung der Universität und kann zukünftig wesentliche Beiträge für die universitären Forschungsschwerpunkte "Energiekonversion" sowie "Funktionelle Prinzipien lebender Materie" leisten.


zu den Forschungsverbünden