How do I become a Doctoral Student?

The Faculty of Business and Economics offers a structured doctoral programme that is accredited and includes course requirements.

Acceptance into a doctoral programme requires meeting certain admission criteria. One primary requirement is identifying a professor who agrees to supervise your thesis, and will need to provide documentation confirming this agreement (Supervision Agreemant).

The following web pages include information on individual chairs and research areas of professors:


If you would like to become a doctoral student, one option is to become a research associate. In this case, you work for a professor and in addition to your research, take on responsibilities such as teaching and supervising seminar and thesis papers. Vacancies for research associate positions are advertised by the respective chairs. If you are hired as a research associate, the professor of the chair becomes your doctoral supervisor.

In addition to working as a research associate, it is also possible to become a doctoral student by joining a Research Training Group (RTG) or a doctoral programme that is financed by a third party, such as the German Research Foundation. Typically, RTGs do not have a teaching requirement, but are generally expected to supervise seminar and thesis papers. Vacancies for positions in RTGs are advertised publicly.
For an overview of current RTGs and doctoral programmes of the Göttingen Graduate School of Social Sciences (GGG), click here.

Another funding opportunity is by obtaining scholarships from various organizations and foundations. It is also possible to conduct doctoral studies while working. In this case, you will be required to provide confirmation by a professor who has agreed to supervise your doctoral studies.

Göttingen Graduate School of Social Sciences (GGG)
Doctoral students must complete 20 ECTS (credit points) in the following areas: "Academic Competencies" (10 ECTS), "Subject Competencies" (4 ECTS), and "Interdisciplinary and Key Qualifications" (6 ECTS). Such courses are offered by the GGG, of which all doctoral students of the Faculty of Business and Economics are automatically a member.

The GGG aims to support doctoral students and doctoral supervisors in the social sciences. The GGG offers diverse and flexible trainings, advisory services, and support services. In addition to the Faculty of Business and Economics, the following faculties are also members of the GGG: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, and the Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology. Doctoral students from different disciplines have the opportunity to exchange knowledge from their respective areas. There is also an "International Helpdesk" that provides additional support and advisory services for international doctoral students.

Further information can be found at: www.ggg.uni-goettingen.de

Wie werde ich Doktorand/ -in?

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät bietet den strukturierten Promotionsstudiengang "Wirtschaftswissenschaften" an. Er ist akkreditiert und modularisiert.

Für die Aufnahme des Promotionsstudiums müssen jedoch bestimmte Zugangsvoraussetzungen erfüllt sein. In jedem Fall muss vor allem eine Betreuungszusage einer Professorin oder eines Professors vorliegen, in der bestätigt wird, dass die Professorin/ der Professor Ihre schriftliche Arbeit betreut. Auf folgenden Webseiten können Sie sich über die Professuren der Fakultät sowie die jeweiligen Forschungsschwerpunkte der Professorinnen und Professoren informieren:


Wenn Sie an der Fakultät promovieren möchten, können Sie dies zum Beispiel als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin/ wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tun. Sie arbeiten in diesem Fall an einer Professur der Fakultät und übernehmen zusätzlich zu Ihrer Promotion Aufgaben in der Lehre und betreuen in der Regel ebenfalls Seminar- und Abschlussarbeiten. Stellen als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin/ wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter werden je nach Bedarf von den jeweiligen Professuren ausgeschrieben. Werden Sie eingestellt, ist die Inhaberin/ der Inhaber der Professur auch Betreuerin/ Betreuer Ihrer Doktorarbeit.

Darüber hinaus können Sie etwa auch als Mitarbeiterin oder Mitarbeiter in einem Graduiertenkolleg oder Promotionsprogramm, das von dritter Seite, z.B. von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, finanziert wird, promovieren. In einem Graduiertenkolleg fallen in der Regel keine Tätigkeiten in der Lehre an, allerdings wird gegebenenfalls erwartet, dass Sie Seminar- und Abschlussarbeiten von Studierenden betreuen. Stellen in Graduiertenkollegs werden ebenfalls nach Bedarf öffentlich ausgeschrieben. Eine Übersicht über die Graduiertenkollegs und Promotionsprogramme der Göttinger Graduiertenschule für Gesellschaftswissenschaften (GGG) finden Sie hier.

Weitere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten sind Stipendien von Organisationen und Stiftungen. Sie können auch neben Ihrer Berufstätigkeit promovieren. In jedem Fall benötigen Sie allerdings als Grundvoraussetzung immer die Betreuungszusage einer Professorin/ eines Professors.

Hier berichten Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fakultät von ihrer Motivation für eine Promotion.

Göttinger Graduiertenschule Gesellschaftswissenschaften
Promotionsstudierende müssen 20 ECTS (Kredit-/ Leistungspunkte) in den Bereichen "Wissenschaftliche Kompetenzen" (10 ECTS), "Fachliche Vertiefung" (4 ECTS) sowie "Interdisziplinarität und Schlüsselqualifikationen" (6 ECTS) erbringen. Entsprechende Kurse werden beispielsweise von der Göttinger Graduiertenschule Gesellschaftswissenschaften (GGG) angeboten. Wenn Sie für ein Promotionsstudium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät angenommen sind, sind Sie ebenfalls Mitglied der GGG.

Die GGG richtet sich an Promovierende und Promotionsbetreuende der Gesellschaftswissenschaften. Sie bietet ein vielfältiges und flexibles Angebot an Schulungen, Beratungen und Fördermaßnahmen an. Neben der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät sind die Juristische Fakultät, die Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät, die Fakultät für Agrarwissenschaften sowie die Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie an der Graduiertenschule beteiligt. Promovierende unterschiedlicher Disziplinen können sich so gegenseitig austauschen und sich zusätzliche Kenntnisse in ihrem Fach und den angrenzenden Disziplinen aneignen. Das "International Helpdesk" bietet zusätzliche Unterstützung und Beratung für internationale Promovierende.

Mehr Informationen: www.ggg.uni-goettingen.de