Methodenzentrum Sozialwissenschaften

Dynamic figurations of refugees, migrants, and longtime residents in Jordan since 1946: between peaceable and tension-ridden co-existence?


Principal investigator: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Rosenthal (Georg-August Universität Göttingen)

Founded by the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Duration of the project: 1.4.2017- 31.3.2020



Jordan is currently again having to cope with the arrival of a very high number of refugees. We want to find out how this new situation is affecting relationships between different groupings within the population, which includes large numbers of refugees who have entered the country since 1947/48 in different phases of the regional history. It can be assumed that figurations have repeatedly changed of groupings who have lived in Jordan for a long time and new groupings that have arrived successively. Remarkable in the case of Jordan is that so far these processes of transformation in the demographic and socio-political structures have taken place relatively peaceably or, more precisely, with a relatively low level of violence. By studying the social figurations of refugees, other immigrants and longtime residents which have continually changed since 1947/48, and the formation of various groupings and we-groups, we hope to be able to reconstruct the factors which enable or determine the formation of various tension-ridden and peaceable constellations of groupings which are socio-culturally diverse. While research in the field of peace and conflict studies tends to be concentrated on so-called crisis areas, or post-conflict settings, with Jordan we would like to direct attention to a host country in which, apart from the Jordanian Civil War of 1970/71 (also known as Black September), there have been almost no armed conflicts.

It must be remembered that the majority-minority situation in Jordan has changed considerably, not only as a result of the arrival of approximately 800,000 Palestinian refugees in 1947/48 and after (with a population of longtime residents in 1947/48 of around 375,000). The immigration of other groupings of refugees from Iraq, and currently from Syria, has also led to lasting changes in the social figurations and in everyday life. This gives rise to the following questions: in what ways have the figurations of different groupings of refugees and longtime residents changed, and how has stability or peaceful co-existence been maintained on a practical, everyday level?

These questions will be investigated in the conurbation of Amman. Between 1948 und 2015 the population in this urban space has grown to over four million, a 55-fold increase, due among other things to the influx of refugees. We will work in different contexts selected according to theoretical criteria, in families and neighborhoods and refugee camps, using a combination of methods, including participant observation, group discussions, thematically focused interviews and narrative family and biographical interviews. This approach will enable us to reconstruct handed-down narratives and personal experiences of people in diverse social groupings, and their future perspectives, and to study everyday interactions between them.

Methodenzentrum Sozialwissenschaften
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Universität Göttingen





Abstracts



Team

Dynamische Figurationen von Flüchtlingen, Migranten und Altansässigen in Jordanien seit 1946: Zwischen erfolgreichem und konfliktreichem Zusammenleben?




Projektleiterin: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Rosenthal (Georg-August Universität Göttingen)

Finanzierung durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Projektlaufzeit: 1.4.2017- 31.3.2020



Die gegenwärtige Situation in Jordanien ist durch ein erneutes sehr hohes Aufkommen von Flüchtlingen bestimmt. Wir wollen der Frage nachgehen, wie sich diese neue Situation auf die Beziehungen zwischen verschiedenen Gruppierungen der Bevölkerung auswirkt, zu denen eine hohe Anzahl von Flüchtlingen gehören, die seit 1947/48 in verschiedenen Phasen der Geschichte dieser Weltregion ins Land gekommen sind. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die Figurationen zwischen den Gruppierungen, die bereits länger im Land leben, und den immer wieder neu Hinzukommenden immer wieder veränderten. Bemerkenswert im Fall Jordaniens ist dabei, dass diese Transformationsprozesse in den demographischen und soziopolitischen Strukturen auf der Alltagsebene bisher verhältnismäßig konfliktfrei bzw. relativ gewaltarm verliefen. Mit der Untersuchung der sich seit 1947/48 verändernden sozialen Figurationen zwischen Flüchtlingen, anderen Zuwanderern und Altansässigen und der Herausbildung bestimmter Gruppierungen und Wir-Gruppen sehen wir die Möglichkeit, jene Faktoren zu rekonstruieren, die eher gewaltarme oder eher gewaltträchtige Konstellationen von soziokulturell diversen Gruppierungen ermöglichen und bedingen. Während sich die Konfliktforschung i.d.R. auf sogenannte Krisengebiete bzw. Postkonflikt-Settings konzentriert, möchten wir mit Jordanien den Blick auf ein Aufnahmeland lenken, in dem abgesehen vom Jordanischen Bürgerkrieg von 1970/71 bislang fast keine bewaffneten Konflikte stattgefunden haben.

In Jordanien haben sich die Mehrheits- und Minderheitsverhältnisse der Bevölkerung nicht nur durch die seit 1947/48 erfolgte Aufnahme von ca. 800.000 palästinensischen Flüchtlingen (bei ca. 375.000 im Jahr 1948 ansässiger Bevölkerung) erheblich verändert. Vielmehr hat die Zuwanderung von anderen Gruppierungen aus dem Irak und gegenwärtig vor allem aus Syrien einen nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die sozialen Figurationen im Land und das Alltagsleben. Dabei stellen sich folgende Fragen: Wie veränderten und verändern sich die Figurationen zwischen verschiedenen Gruppierungen von Flüchtlingen und Altansässigen und wie wurde und wird Stabilität oder eine gewaltarme Koexistenz im Alltag handlungspraktisch hergestellt?

Diesen Fragen wollen wir im Ballungsraum Amman nachgehen. Dieser urbane Raum ist zwischen 1947/48 und 2015 auch wegen des Zuzugs von Flüchtlingen um mehr als das 55-fache auf über vier Millionen EinwohnerInnen gewachsen. Wir werden in nach theoretischen Kriterien ausgewählten unterschiedlichen Kontexten mit einer Kombination von teilnehmenden Beobachtungen, Gruppendiskussionen, thematisch fokussierten und narrativen familien- und lebensgeschichtlichen Interviews in Familien und Nachbarschaften sowie in Flüchtlingslagern arbeiten. Dieser Zugang soll uns ermöglichen, sowohl die tradierten und selbsterlebten Erfahrungen von Menschen in unterschiedlichen Gruppierungen und deren Perspektiven zu rekonstruieren als auch die Interaktionen zwischen ihnen zu untersuchen.