In publica commoda

Material Sciences (B.Sc.)

PLEASE NOTE: This degree programme is being phased out. Enrolment is no longer possible.

Modern materials are the basis for all technological progress. In the interdisciplinary Bachelor's degree programme in Material Sciences, you will get to know the chemical and physical fundamentals concerning materials. The variety of materials dealt with ranges from metals, semiconductors, glass and ceramics to biological materials. This degree programme spans various subjects and, as well as Chemistry and Physics, it also has geoscientific and wood science-based parts. A subsequent Master's degree would enable early entry into material science research in the participating faculties.

Programme name: Material Sciences (B.Sc.)
Degree: Bachelor of Science
Standard period or study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Language requirements: German, English is additionally recommended
Language of the programme: German


  • 1st subject semester: No further admission
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: Please contact us (see right column)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Office)

What is material science?
Modern materials are the fundament of all technological progress. The spectrum of materials ranges from metals, semiconductors, glasses and ceramics to polymers and even biological materials. Modern developments are increasingly based on complex structures, the integration of different materials to composites with completely new characteristics, design principles inspired by nature and the goal of multifunctionality.

The development is expedited by methods of the natural and engineering sciences on the one hand, but also by the development of a fundamental understanding of material structures and behaviour on a microscopic and atomic level on the other hand. The great dream is to specifically produce materials with pre-defined characteristics, whereby the understanding of the binding characteristics of atoms and solid state structures, knowledge of lattice defects and surface and boundary surface characteristics, knowledge of cluster formation or bonded systems with complex structures, represent very essential requirements. The scientific foundation of material production processes, the design of micro structures or use of self-organisation processes as well as the development of an understanding of materials under external strain, require modern concepts of non-equilibrium thermodynamics, kinetics and pattern formation.

In addition to in-depth subject knowledge on the basics of material science, the subject today and in the future requires an overview and interdisciplinarity, whereby particular attention is given to the sustainability of material design.

Interdisciplinary study of material science
Within the framework of the interdisciplinary Bachelor's programme in Material Science, it is exactly this knowledge that is to be conveyed at an introductory level. The involvement of the four Faculties of Chemistry, Geoscience, Geography and Physics as well as the Faculties of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology, offers the unique possibility to shed light on questions regarding material science from different perspectives.

The programme in Material Science aims to develop an understanding of basic material characteristics with a special Göttingen profile of complex materials, energy materials, sustainable materials as well materials in a state of imbalance. Although engineering-scientific questions are not the focus here, the courses offered are application-oriented from the very beginning.

Why study material science in Göttingen?

  • Practical education in the field of fundament-oriented material science
  • Courses offered from many faculties with carefully selected basic knowledge chemistry, physics, geosciences, wood science and mathematics.

    To refresh your mathematical expertise, a 14-day introductory course entitled "Mathematics for Physicists" is recommended. This course takes place before the beginning of the first semester in September.
  • Knowledge is conveyed on the structures of materials, their synthesis and their characteristics. The interplay between structures and characteristics is of central importance, which has a decisive role in material technologies.
  • Advanced lectures on special methods and modern material classes
  • Early introduction to modern material research through basic, in-depth and application internships.
  • Cooperation with the industry

Occupational fields
In the field of material development, existing contacts to renowned industrial companies are used in order to ensure practical and vocational training. These companies will make an increased effort in the future to develop new materials with pre-defined characteristics. Trial and error procedures are not used here, but rather specific syntheses are applied on the basis of sound knowledge of material science. Graduates of this study programme will therefore have especially good occupational perspectives for work in the fields of research and development. These include businesses dealing with novel materials, such as the semi-conductor industry, the processing industry as well as energy technology companies.
In addition, graduates, especially after obtaining an advanced qualification in a consecutive Master's programme, will be qualified to also work in the field of research in university laboratories as well as in research centres, Frauenhofer institutes, etc. They will have learned to deal with complex systems and sophisticated methods, qualifying them for a very broad spectrum of work.

Consecutive and postgraduate programmes
The six-semester Bachelor's programme can be followed by the consecutive Master's programme that can in turn be followed by doctoral studies. Göttingen has a strong position as a research university, offering excellent possibilities for attractive scientific projects.

Recommended language skills
English language skills are recommended.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Chemie3

Kontakt
Dr. Carsten Nowak
Studienbüro Materialwissenschaften
Goldschmidtstr. 1
37077 Göttingen
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39-33893
materialwissenschaften@uni-goettin
gen.de





Informationen zum Fach



Homepages der Fakultäten



Studienaufbau



Vor dem Studium



Weiterführende Informationen

Materialwissenschaften (B.Sc.)


Moderne Materialien sind Grundlage jedes technologischen Fortschritts. Im interdisziplinären Bachelor-Studiengang Materialwissenschaften lernen Sie die chemischen und physikalischen Grundlagen rund um Materialien kennen. Die Bandbreite der behandelten Stoffe reicht von Metallen und Halbleitern über Gläser und Keramiken bis hin zu biologischen Materialien. Das Studium ist fachübergreifend und bietet neben Chemie und Physik auch geo- und holzwissenschaftliche Anteile. Der anschließende Master-Studiengang ermöglicht einen frühen Zugang zu materialwissenschaftlicher Forschung in den beteiligten Fakultäten.


Name des Studienangebots: Materialwissenschaften (B.Sc.)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachvoraussetzungen: Deutsch

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2015:

  • 1. Fachsemester: Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester

  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

  • Internationale Bewerber: Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester



Der Studiengang
Moderne Materialien sind Grundlage jedes technologischen Fortschritts. Dabei reicht die Bandbreite von Metallen, Halbleitern, Gläsern, Keramiken, über Polymere bis hin zu biologischen Materialien. Moderne Entwicklungen basieren zunehmend auf komplexen Strukturen, der Integration unterschiedlicher Materialien zu Kompositen mit völlig neuen Eigenschaften, auf naturinspirierten Designprinzipien und dem Ziel der Multifunktionalität.

Die Entwicklung wird einerseits durch natur- und ingenieurswissenschaftliche Methoden vorangetrieben, andererseits aber auch durch die Entwicklung eines grundlegenden Verständnisses von Materialstruktur und -verhalten auf mikroskopischer und atomarer Ebene. Der Wunschtraum ist es, Materialien mit vordefinierten Eigenschaften gezielt herzustellen, wobei dem Verständnis von Bindungseigenschaften von Atomen, von Festkörperstrukturen, Kenntnisse von Gitterdefekten, von Oberflächen- und Grenzflächeneigenschaften, das Wissen über Clusterbildung oder über Verbundsysteme mit komplexen Strukturen ganz wesentliche Voraussetzungen darstellen. Sowohl die wissenschaftliche Fundierung von Materialherstellungsprozessen, Design von Mikrostruktur bzw. Nutzung von Selbstorganisationsprozessen als auch die Entwicklung eines Verständnisses von Materialien unter äußerer Belastung erfordern moderne Konzepte der Nichtgleichgewichtsthermodynamik, Kinetik und Musterbildung.

Neben fachlicher Tiefe in den Grundlagen der Materialwissenschaften braucht es heute und zukünftig Überblick und Interdisziplinarität, wobei Materialdesign unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Nachhaltigkeit dabei eine entscheidende Rolle spielen wird.

Interdisziplinäres Studium
Im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Bachelor-Studienganges Materialwissenschaften sollen gerade diese Kenntnisse auf einführendem Niveau vermittelt werden. Dazu tragen die vier Fakultäten für Chemie, für Physik, für Geowissenschaften und Geographie sowie für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie bei und bieten so die einzigartige Möglichkeit materialwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln zu beleuchten.

Der Studiengang Materialwissenschaften zielt auf das Verständnis grundlegender Materialeigenschaften, mit einem besonderen Göttinger Profil komplexer Materialien, Energiematerialien, nachhaltige Materialien sowie Materialien im Nichtgleichgewicht. Obwohl ingenieurwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen hier nicht im Zentrum stehen, ist das Lehrangebot von Beginn an anwendungsorientiert.

Warum in Göttingen Materialwissenschaften studieren?

  • praxisnahe Ausbildung auf dem Gebiet der grundlagenorientierten Materialwissenschaften

  • fakultätsübergreifendes Lehrangebot mit einem sorgfältig ausgewählten Basiswissen in Chemie, Physik, Geowissenschaften, Holzwissenschaften und Mathematik.
    Zur Auffrischung mathematischer Kenntnisse wird ein 14-tägiger Einführungskurs „Mathematik für Physiker“ empfohlen. Dieser Kurs findet vor Beginn des ersten Semesters im September statt.

  • Vermittlung von Kenntnissen über die Strukturen von Materialien, ihrer Synthese und ihren Eigenschaften. Dabei kommt der Wechselbeziehung zwischen Struktur und Eigenschaften eine zentrale Bedeutung zu, die in den Materialtechnologien eine herausragende Rolle spielt

  • weiterführende Vorlesungen zu speziellen Methoden und modernen Materialklassen

  • frühzeitiges Heranführen an die moderne Materialforschung durch Grund-, Vertiefungs- und Anwendungspraktika

  • Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie



Sprachempfehlung
Englische Sprachkenntnisse werden empfohlen

Berufsfelder
Im Bereich der Materialentwicklung werden bestehende Kontakte zu namhaften Industriefirmen genutzt, um eine praxisnahe Ausbildung zu garantieren. Diese Firmen werden in Zukunft verstärkt Anstrengungen unternehmen, um neue Materialien mit vordefinierten Eigenschaften zu entwickeln. Dabei geht es nicht mehr um „trial-and-error“ Verfahren, sondern um gezielte Synthesen auf der Basis fundierter Kenntnisse der Materialwissenschaften. Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Studienganges werden also aller Voraussicht nach besonders gute Berufschancen besitzen insbesondere für Tätigkeiten in den FuE-Bereichen. Dazu gehören auch solche Unternehmen, die sich mit neuartigen Materialen befassen, wie beispielsweise die Halbleiterindustrie, das verarbeitende Gewerbe sowie Betriebe der Energietechnik.
Darüber hinaus werden die Absolventen, vor allem nach einer weiterführenden Qualifikation im anschließenden Masterstudiengang, auch im Bereich der Forschung sowohl in universitären Labors als auch in Forschungszentren, Fraunhofer-Instituten etc. Einsatzmöglichkeiten finden. Da sie gelernt haben werden, mit komplexen Systemen und anspruchsvollen Methoden umzugehen, sollten sie für ein sehr breites Aufgabenfeld geeignet sein.

Aufbauende und weiterführende Studiengänge
Auf dem sechs-semestrigen Bachelorstudiengang baut ein vier-semesteriger Masterstudiengang Materialwissenschaften auf, an den sich eine Promotionsphase anschließen kann. Der forschungsstarke Standort Göttingen bietet hier hervorragende Möglichkeiten für attraktive wissenschaftliche Projekte.