Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
platzhalter7px

Contact details
Research Department
Division Strategic Measures
Von-Siebold-Str. 4
37075 Göttingen
Tel. +49 551 39-10950
zukunftskonzept@uni-goettingen.de





The Courant Research Centres



Upcoming:



Further Information

Courant Research Centres


The University of Göttingen has set up seven Courant Research Centres within the framework of its Institutional Strategy funded in the first program phase of the German Excellence Initiative. The centres take an interdisciplinary approach to address innovative research topics. External experts were involved in the process to identify these topics. Each Courant Research Centre offers excellent working conditions for up to three junior research groups. Supported by senior colleagues, the junior groups are dedicated to studying specific aspects of the centre’s overarching theme.

The Courant Research Centres derive their name from the mathematician Richard Courant. Shortly before his death, he was asked about the unique human and scientific spirit that characterizes his Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University. Courant’s answer was, “It is Göttingen. Göttingen is here.” This “Göttingen spirit” is the expression for a research environment that is based on cooperation and a free exchange of ideas both within and between the disciplines.

This novel concept has proven successful in attracting excellent scientists and scholars from all over the world to the Göttingen Research Campus. Junior research group leaders are offered junior professorships with tenure-track options. These positions were particularly attractive to female researchers since they provide a reliable career path, support for dual career couples and measures designed to better reconcile work and family life. 53% of junior research group leaders appointed in the Courant Research Centres were female.

Following a positive evaluation in the sixth year of their professorship, the professors are permanently integrated into their respective faculties. Each centre’s goal is to develop into an interdisciplinary research unit or provide the basis for a joint research project that is third-party funded.

The Courant research centres have proven a viable tool to establish and further develop new research foci. The university intends to set up another Courant Research Centres in 2014. Its theme has been selected from among six concepts brought forward by scientists from several faculties and non-university research institutions at the Göttingen Research Campus.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
platzhalter7px

Kontakt
Abteilung Forschung
Bereich Strategische Maßnahmen
Von-Siebold-Str. 4
37075 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39-10950
zukunftskonzept@uni-goettingen.de





Aktuell geförderte Courant-Forschungszentren



Bisher geförderte Courant-Forschungszentren



Weitere Informationen

Courant Forschungszentren


Die Universität Göttingen hat im Rahmen ihres Zukunftskonzepts sieben Courant Forschungszentren mit Fördermitteln der ersten Programmphase der Exzellenzinitiative eingerichtet. Die interdisziplinären Zentren repräsentieren innovative neue Forschungsthemen, die in einem extern unterstützen Auswahlprozess identifiziert wurden. Sie bieten hervorragende Arbeitsbedingungen für jeweils bis zu drei Forschernachwuchsgruppen. Diese bearbeiten mit Unterstützung bereits etablierter Kollegen spezifische Fragestellungen zum Thema des Zentrums.

Namensgeber für die Forschungszentren ist der Mathematiker Richard Courant. Kurz vor seinem Tod wurde er in seinem New Yorker Institut auf den besonderen Geist angesprochen, der dort menschlich wie wissenschaftlich herrsche. Er antwortete: „It is Göttingen. Göttingen is here.“ Dieser „Göttingen spirit“ steht als Symbol für die besondere Atmosphäre des Austausches und der Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in diesen Forschungszentren.

Der Universität Göttingen ist es mit diesem neuartigen Konzept gelungen, herausragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der ganzen Welt für den Göttingen Campus zu gewinnen und an Göttingen zu binden. Die Leiterinnen und Leiter der Nachwuchsgruppen werden auf Juniorprofessuren berufen und erhalten die Option auf eine unbefristete Professur (tenure track). Eine sichere Karriereperspektive, Maßnahmen zur verbesserten Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf sowie ein Dual Career-Angebot haben diese Professuren gerade auch für Wissenschaftlerinnen besonders attraktiv gemacht. Die Nachwuchsgruppen-Leitungspositionen in den Courant Forschungszentren wurden zu 53 Prozent mit Juniorprofessorinnen besetzt.

Die Courant Forschungszentren haben sich als Instrument zur Etablierung und Entwicklung neuer Forschungsschwerpunkte bewährt.

Nach positiver Evaluation im sechsten Jahr werden die Professuren dauerhaft in die beteiligten Fakultäten integriert.