Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch

Prof. Dr. Ravi Ahuja
Professor of Modern Indian History
phone +49 551 39-19927/-10720
fax: +49 551 39-14215

Prof. Dr. Ravi Ahuja

… is head of the research group ‘Modern Indian History’ at the Centre for Modern Indian Studies of Georg-August-University Göttingen.

Ravi Ahuja has worked on various aspects of India’s social history from 18th to 20th century including urban history, the history of infrastructure and the social history of war. His research interests have increasingly moved towards contemporary history. Current research projects examine the social history of South Asian seafarers and the emergence of a labour-centred social policy in mid-twentieth century India. After teaching at the South Asia Institute in Heidelberg and conducting research at the Centre for Modern Oriental Studies in Berlin he was appointed Professor of Modern South Asian History at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) in London. He joined CeMIS as its founding director in 2009.

Ravi Ahuja favours research-oriented modes of teaching. CeMIS’s Modern Indian History research group offers a broad spectrum of courses that reflects the vivid and diverse historiography on South Asian societies. Apart from historical survey courses for first-year undergraduate students, our teaching covers themes of social and economic history like urban history, gender history, the history of technology and medicine, the history of social movements or the social history of war.

CeMIS’s Modern Indian History section is highly research active with a strong emphasis on training research students. In order to provide a fertile research environment and facilitate intensive communication between the members of the research group, the ‘bandwidth’ of our research has been defined as comprising mainly the following major themes:

  • Labour history and history of work

  • History of capital(ism)

  • History of economic and social policy

  • Social history of industrial (urban as well as rural) space

  • History of infrastructure

Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Prof_Ravi_Ahuja

Prof. Dr. Ravi Ahuja
Professor für Moderne Indische Geschichte
Tel.: +49 551 39-19927/-10720
Fax: +49 551 39-14215
email



Prof. Dr. Ravi Ahuja


... leitet die Forschungsgruppe „Moderne Indische Geschichte“ am Centre for Modern Indian Studies der Universität Göttingen.

Ravi Ahuja hat zu verschiedenen Aspekten der indischen Sozialgeschichte des 18. bis 20. Jahrhunderts geforscht, die Stadtgeschichte, Infrastrukturgeschichte und die Sozialgeschichte des Krieges mit einschließen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte haben sich zunehmend auf die Zeitgeschichte verlagert. Seine laufenden Forschungen betreffen die Sozialgeschichte maritimer Arbeit in Südasien und die Entstehung einer indischen arbeitszentrierten Sozialpolitik in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Nachdem er unter anderem am Heidelberger Südasien-Institut gelehrt und am Berliner Zentrum Moderner Orient geforscht hatte, war er als Professor für Moderne Südasiatische Geschichte an der School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, beschäftigt. Am CeMIS nahm er 2009 als Gründungsdirektor seine Tätigkeit auf.

Ravi Ahuja bevorzugt forschungsnahe Lehrformen. Die Forschungsgruppe „Moderne Indische Geschichte“ bietet ein breites Spektrum von Lehrveranstaltungen an, welche die lebendige und vielfältige südasiatische Sozialgeschichtsschreibung widerspiegeln. Abgesehen von historischen Einführungskursen für Studienanfänger, decken wir mit unserem Lehrangebot Themenfelder wie Stadtgeschichte, Geschlechtergeschichte, Technik- und Medizingeschichte, Geschichte sozialer Bewegungen oder Sozialgeschichte des Krieges ab.

Der Arbeitsbereich „Moderne Indische Geschichte“ am CeMIS legt großen Wert auf intensive Forschungsaktivität und insbesondere auf eine gründliche Ausbildung von Doktorand/innen. Um ein fruchtbares Forschungsumfeld zu schaffen und die inhaltliche Diskussion unter den Mitgliedern der Forschungsgruppe zu intensivieren, ist die „Bandbreite“ der Forschungen im Wesentlichen auf folgende Problemfelder eingegrenzt:


  • Geschichte der Arbeit

  • Unternehmensgeschichte und Geschichte des Kapitalismus in Südasien

  • Geschichte der Wirtschafts- und Sozialpolitik

  • Sozialgeschichte industrieller (städtischer wie ländlicher) Räume

  • Geschichte der Infrastruktur