International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)
International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)

International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)

The IARD-Program

Master of Sciences (M.Sc.) Programme in International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)

Objectives

The M.Sc. Programme International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD) is designed to prepare highly qualified professionals who wish to pursue a career within the private or public sector, research or non-governmental organizations in agribusiness and rural development. Students will develop solid economic and business skills and have the opportunity to broad their understanding of the agricultural and food sector at international level.

Follow us on Facebook

Objectives of the program

  • To apply economic and management theory to problems of agribusiness and rural development
  • To analyze and understand the decisions made by public and private actors in agriculture and agribusiness
  • To develop strategies and solutions to combat hunger, poverty and resource depletion
  • To acquire methodological and theoretical skills for scientific analysis.

  • The core study programme consists of modules covering international agricultural economics, agricultural and rural development policy as well as business administration, management and agribusiness marketing, development economics and rural sociology. As a research-oriented programme, strong emphasis is placed on acquiring methodological research skills in the fields of econometrics, marketing and social sciences. The programme also offers excursions to agribusiness enterprises, international fair trades, governmental and non-governmental organizations (check our NEWS section)

    There are three teaching semesters with a total of no less than fifteen modules. During the three teaching semesters, students are expected to attend a total of 15-17 modules; the last semester is dedicated to field research and writing the Master´s thesis.

    IARD provides excellent career perspectives in national and international governmental and non-governmental organisations and enterprises in the fields of agriculture, agribusiness and international trade. Since 2002 many of our Alumni have embarked on careers with international and national agribusiness enterprises, with organizations such as the FAO, the German Federal Enterprise for International Cooperation (GIZ), several research centres, universities and with various national governments.

    The M.Sc. Program "International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)" is offered by the Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany in partnership with:

  • University of Talca, Chile
  • Bogor Agricultural University (IPB), Indonesia

  • The application for studying in Talca can be done through the study program Sustainable and International Agriculture (SIA).

    Please note, that there are no scholarships available.

    Until 2017, the program was mainly financed by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).


    Last modified: 21.08.2018 JSE

International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)
International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)

International Agribusiness and Rural Development (IARD)

Das IARD Programm

Master of Sciences (M.Sc.) Programm in Internationalem Agribusiness und Ruraler Entwicklung (IARD)

Ziele

Das M.Sc. Programm International Agribusiness und Rural Development (IARD) ist für Studenten bestimmt, die sich weiter für eine Karriere im öffentlichen oder privaten Sektor, in Forschung oder Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen des Agribusiness oder der ländlichen Entwicklung qualifizieren wollen. Die Studenten werden in diesem Programm ökonomische und betriebswirtschaftliche Fähigkeiten vertiefen und haben die Gelegenheit ihr Verständnis in einem internationalen Kontext von Agrarwirtschaft und Lebensmittwirtschaft zu vergrößern.

Follow us on Facebook

Ziele des Programms:

  • Anwendung von Ökonomischen- und Managementtheorien in Bezug zu Problemstellungen im Agribusiness und des Rural Development
  • Analyse und Verständnis der Entscheidungen von privaten und öffentlichen Akteuren im Agribusiness und in der Landwirtschaft
  • Entwicklung von Strategien und Lösungen zur Bekämpfung von Hunger, Armut und Ressourcenverringerung
  • Erwerb von methodischen und theoretischen Fähigkeiten für die wissenschaftliche Analyse

  • Das Kernprogramm besteht aus Modulen, die Themen der internationalen Agrarwirtschaft, der Agrar- und ländlichen Entwicklungspolitik, der Business-Administration, des Managements, des Agribusiness-Marketing und der Soziologie des ländlichen Raumes abdecken. Als ein forschungsorientiertes Programm liegt eine starke Betonung auf dem Erwerb von methodischen Forschungsfähigkeiten auf dem Gebiet der Ökonometrie, des Marketings und der Sozialwissenschaftlichen. Das Programm bietet zudem Exkursionen zu Unternehmen des Agribusiness, des Fairtrade Segments und zu Regierungs- und Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen (weitere Informationen in den NEWS).


    Es gibt drei Unterrichtssemester mit einer zu absolvierenden Zahl von mindestens 15 Modulen. Während der drei Unterrichtssemester wird von den Studenten erwartet, dass sie zwischen 15 und 17 Modulen ablegen. Das letzte Semester ist Feldstudien und der Masterarbeit gewidmet.

    IARD eröffnet exzellente Karriereperspektiven in nationalen bzw. internationalen Regierungs- und Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen sowie Unternehmen der Agrarwirtschaft, des Agribusiness und des internationalen Handels. Seit 2002 haben viele unserer Alumni Karrieren im nationalen und internationalen Agribusiness, in Organisationen wie der FAO, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), verschiedenen Forschungszentren, Universitäten und in verschiedenen nationalen Regierungen begonnen.


    Das M.Sc. Programm "International Agribusiness und Rural Development (IARD)" wird von der Georg-August Universität Göttingen, Deutschland angeboten, die in Partnerschaft mit:

  • Universität Talca, Chile
  • Bogor Agricultural University (IPB), Indonesien

  • Die Bewerbung zum Studium in Talca erfolgt aktuell über den Studiengang Sustainable and International Agriculture (SIA).

    Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich unser gemeinsam mit der Universität Talca angebotenes Masterprogramm IARD zurzeit in einer Phase der Umstrukturierung befindet. Wir können momentan leider keine Bewerbungen um ein DAAD-Stipendium entgegennehmen.

    Das Programm wurde bis 2017 maßgeblich vom Deutsch-Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) finanziert.


    Last modified: 18.02.2019 JSE