Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
Prof. Rupa Viswanath

Prof. Dr. Rupa Viswanath
Professor of Indian Religions
Phone: +49 551 39-12740/-19927
Fax: +49 551 39-14215
email



Prof. Dr. Rupa Viswanath


Rupa Viswanath heads the research group "Indian Religions".

Rupa Viswanath is Professor of Indian Religions at the Centre for Modern Indian Studies at the University of Göttingen, and a Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College at the University of Cambridge. Prior to arriving inGöttingen in 2011, she taught in the South Asia Studies Department at the University of Pennsylvania. Her research and writing address the practices of secular regimes, histories of slavery in colonial South Asia, the political economy of caste, and the historical dynamics of religious authorities and institutions. Her current research examines how the concept of a democratic “people” emerged in the vernacular in late colonial and postcolonial south India, and the kinds of reconfiguration this required of religious subjects and concepts of society.

Prof. Viswanath’s group takes an interdisciplinary approach to "Indian Religions". Research and teaching lie at the intersections of history, religious studies, Indology, anthropology and political science. Thematically, the group considers religious minorities and practices of minoritization, comparative secularisms, religion and empire, transnational religious movements, the relations among religions and forms of democratic practice, and interreligious conflicts and the popular conceptions to which they give rise.



  • Religious minorities and interreligious conflicts

  • Secularisms

  • Religion and empire

  • Religion and democracy



In an op-ed for the India Express on 13 July 2012, Prof. Viswanath discusses an aspect of the textbooks controversy for the Indian Express today. She comments on S.K. Thorat’s recommendation to replace the word “Dalit” with “Scheduled Caste” (SC) in textbooks.

Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)

Prof. Dr. Rupa Viswanath


Prof. Dr. Rupa Viswanath leitet die Forschungsgruppe ‚Indische Religionen‘.

Rupa Viswanath ist Professorin für indische Religionen am Centre for Modern Indian Studies der Goerg-August-Universität Göttingen und Fellow am Lucy Cavendish College, University of Cambridge. Vor ihrer Berufung nach Göttingen 2011 hat sie im South Asia Studies Department der University of Pennsylvania gelehrt. Sie forscht und schreibt über die Praxis sekulärer Regierungsformen, die Geschichte der Sklaverei im kolonialen Südasien, die politische Ökonomie von Kasten und die geschichtliche Dynamik von religösen Führungspersönlichkeiten und Institutionen. Ihre derzeitige Forschung untersucht wie das Konzept eines demokratischen "Volkes" im Alltag des spätkolonialen bzw. postkolonialen Südindiens entstand und welche Veränderungen dies in der Haltung von religiösen Bevölkerungsgruppen und in den konzeptionellen Vorstellungen von Gesellschaft erfordert.

Prof. Viswanaths Forschungsgruppe analysiert indische Religionen aus interdisziplinärer Perspektive; Forschung und Lehre liegen am Schnittpunkt zwischen Geschichte, Religionswissenschaften, Indologie, Ethnologie und Politikwissenschaften. Thematisch beschäftigt sich die Forschungsgruppe mit religiösen Minderheiten und Praktiken zur Herausbildung von Minderheiten, dem Vergleich von Säkularismuskonzepten, Religion und Kolonialherrschaft, transnationalen religiösen Bewegungen, dem Verhältnis von Religionen und Formen demokratischen Handelns sowie interreligiösen Konflikten und gängigen Vorstellungen, die diese Konflikte verursachen.


  • Religiöse Minderheiten und interreligiöse Konflikte
  • Säkularismus
  • Religion und Kolonialherrschaft
  • Religion und Demokratie


In einem Gastkommentar für den "India Express" vom 13. Juli 2012, greift Prof. Viswanath die aktuelle Diskussion um Lehrbücher auf. Sie kommentiert dabei S.K. Thorat’s Empfehlung, den Begriff “Dalit” durch “Scheduled Caste” (SC) in Lehrbüchern zu ersetzen.