Behavior and Cognition
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
BeCog Logo

responsible for the program:
Prof. Dr. Annekathrin Schacht
Experimental Psycholinguistics
Nikolausberger Weg 23
37073 Göttingen


for questions, please contact:
Dr. Rebecca Jürgens
Cognitive Ethology
Kellnerweg 4
37077 Göttingen
Phone: +49-551-3851-218

Email



Quick Facts



Implementation WS 2012
Degree Dr. rer.nat. or Ph.D.
Regular duration three years
Application deadline January 31st for the following summer term, July 31st for the following winter term
selection criteria good Master degree in a relevant subject, proficiency in English, confirmation of supervision
Funding no funding provided by BeCog




Flyer

About the PhD program


The focus of this study program is on the foundations and the evolution of nonhuman and human primate behavior. Research projects are undertaken in the fields of psychology, anthropology and evolutionary biology, with an emphasis on comparative approaches. Core areas are the evolution of social behavior, group behavior and group coordination, developmental psychology, as well as the cognitive and physiological foundations of behavior. The program is run by the Faculty of Biology and Psychology of the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, the "Courant Research Centre Text Structures" and the German Primate Center. Interdisciplinary collaboration and exchange are an important element of this study program.
Doctoral students are affiliated with one (or sometimes two) of the research groups of this program. Each project is supervised by a three-member thesis committee. A regular research colloquium provides a platform for progress reports and discussions. Participation in scientific meetings and workshops is encouraged. In addition to the core research, a moderate amount of course work and teaching is required (total number of credits: 20). Summer schools and retreats are an important element of the study program.
To be accepted in BeCog, students must provide a letter confirming supervision, signed by a scientific member of BeCog. Thus, students interested in this program should contact in time the heads of the labs affiliated with this program to check for open positions and funding possibilities. Unfortunately, BeCog cannot provide funding or scholarships

Behavior and Cognition
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
BeCog Logo

Verantwortlich für den Studiengang:
Prof. Dr. Annekathrin Schacht
Experimentelle Psycholinguistik
Nikolausberger Weg 23
37073 Göttingen


Für Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Dr. Rebecca Jürgens
Kognitive Ethologie
Kellnerweg 4
37077 Göttingen
Tel.: +49-551-3851-218

Email



Quick Facts



Beginn WS 2012
Abschluss Dr. rer.nat. oder Ph.D.
Regelstudienzeit drei Jahre
Bewerbungsfrist 31. Januar für das folgende Sommersemester; 31. Juli für das folgende Wintersemester
Zugangskriterien guter Masterabschluss in relevantem Fach, Englischkenntnisse, Betreuungszusage
Finanzierung keine Finanzierung durch BeCog möglich




Flyer

Darstellung des Promotionsstudiengangs


Der Fokus dieses Promotionsstudiengangs liegt auf den Grundlagen und der Evolution des Verhaltens von nichtmenschlichen Primaten und Menschen. Die Projekte sind im Bereich der Psychologie, Anthropologie und Biologie angesiedelt, und zahlreiche Fragestellungen werden aus einer vergleichenden Perspektive betrachtet. Schwerpunkte sind das Sozialverhalten nichtmenschlicher Primaten, Gruppenverhalten und Gruppenkoordination, Entwicklungspsychologie, sowie die kognitiven und physiologischen Grundlagen von Verhalten. Am Studiengang sind die Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie, das "Courant Research Centre Textstrukturen" und das Deutsche Primatenzentrum beteiligt. Die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und der Austausch über Fächergrenzen hinweg sind ein wichtiges Element des Ausbildungsprogramms.
Die Studierenden sind mit ihren Promotionsprojekten in die Forschungstätigkeit von ein (oder zwei) der beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen integriert. Jeder Promovend/Promovendin wird durch einen dreiköpfigen Betreuungsausschuss (Thesis Committee) betreut. Im regelmäßig stattfindenden Forschungscolloquium berichten die Promovenden und Promovendinnen über den Fortschritt ihres eigenen Projektes. Zudem wird die frühzeitige Beteiligung an Konferenzen und Tagungen gefördert. Zusätzlich zum eigentlichen Forschungsprojekt wird die Teilnahme an Methodenkursen und an der Lehre gefordert. Die Gesamtzahl zu erwerbender Credits beträgt 20. Sommerschulen und Retreats stellen ein wichtiges Element des Programms dar.
Verpflichtend für die Teilnahme an BeCog ist die Vorlage einer Betreuungszusage. Aus diesem Grund sollten an diesem Studiengang Interessierte frühzeitig die Leiter der beteiligten Abteilungen kontaktieren und sich nach freien Plätzen und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten erkundigen. BeCog kann leider keine Finanzierung von Promotionsvorhaben zur Verfügung stellen