In publica commoda

Indology (B.A.) (two subjects)

Investigate the diversity of India with well-established specialist knowledge: Indology at Göttingen offers optimal training in the culture and religious history of India.
Research foci cover Indian religions and literature as well as indian medicine, cultural, art and contemporary history. Language training in Sanskrit or Hindi is essential to this end. Learning these languages will enable academic involvement in special topics.

Programme name: Indology (B.A.) (two subjects)
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start: Only winter semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)

Programme description
Students of the degree programme “Indology” will acquire skills leading to independent academic work and comprehensive knowledge of the culture, history and geography of India from its first beginnings up to the present. The focus is on the various religions of the country. These will be explored using specific methods from religious studies, because despite of all forms of modernisation and the enormous technological boom since the deregulation of the Indian economy, these religions play an important and decisive role in Indian culture and society now as they did before, as well as shaping many areas of everyday life. As religion never exists separately from society, in this degree programme high value will be placed on providing a historical, societal, cultural and literary context. In order to be able to work with Indian sources, a knowledge of the language is indispensable. Thus, the B.A. includes a programme of dedicated philological training. In this way, it is guaranteed that graduates possess a broad knowledge and spectrum of competence which will open a wide range of occupational fields to them.

Research foci in Göttingen:
The investigation of religions and literature from the Indian subcontinent on the basis of work on and with original texts.

Recommended prior knowledge:
Very good reading skills in the English language are recommended.

Language requirements to be fulfilled during the academic programme:
Acquisition of Sanskrit or Hindi.

Programme structure:
The Bachelor's degree is split into basic studies lasting three semesters and main studies lasting the same length of time.

Subject combinations:
In a two-subject Bachelor's degree, Indology can be combined with all subjects which are involved in this type of Bachelor's programme. Depending upon the intended future area of activity, a corresponding combination of subjects should be selected.

Occupational fields:
A B.A.-degree in Indology leads to professional activities providing religious, cultural and literary information related to the Indian region. Occupational fields can be found at universities and, with the relevant additional qualifications, in museums, libraries, and cultural establishments as well as in publishing, journalism and tourism and also work with migrants. To this end, combinations of Indology with other philological and general courses of study, such as Religious Studies, Ethnology and European Ethnology/Cultural Anthropology, are available. In the case of a second subject such as Medicine, Modern Indian Studies, Law or Economics, new possibilities are emerging in the fields of medicine and diplomacy as well as free enterprise and politics.

In publica commoda

Indologie (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Die Vielfältigkeit Indiens erforschen durch fundiertes Fachwissen: Die Göttinger Indologie bietet eine optimale Ausbildung im Bereich der Kultur und Religionsgeschichte Indiens.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen indische Religionen und Literaturen sowie indische Medizin, Kultur- und Kunstgeschichte. Die essentielle Basis für das Verständnis der indischen Kultur und ihrer Zeugnisse bildet eine fundierte Sprachausbildung in Sanskrit oder Hindi, die eine wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit Kulturgütern und Traditionen erst ermöglicht.



Name des Studienfachs: Indologie (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2018:

  • 1. Fachsemester: keine Zulassung (Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Studierende des Studienfachs "Indologie" sollen die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und umfangreiche Kenntnisse über die Kultur, Geschichte und Landeskunde Indiens von den ersten Anfängen bis in die aktuelle Gegenwart erwerben. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei die verschiedenen Religionen dieses Landes, die durch Anwendung spezifisch religionswissenschaftlicher Methoden erschlossen werden sollen. Denn ungeachtet aller Modernisierungsprozesse und des enormen technologischen Aufschwungs seit der Liberalisierung der Wirtschaft Indiens spielen Religionen nach wie vor eine entscheidend wichtige Rolle für Kultur und Gesellschaft Indiens und prägen viele Bereiche des täglichen Lebens. Da Religion niemals losgelöst von der Gesellschaft existiert, wird in diesem Studiengang großer Wert auf die Vermittlung des historischen, gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und literarischen Kontexts gelegt. Auch eine Beschäftigung mit der traditionellen indischen Medizin, dem Āyurveda, ist im Göttinger Seminar in Forschung und Lehre angelegt. Um mit indischen Quellen arbeiten zu können, ist eine Kenntnis der Sprachen unabdingbar. Deshalb umfasst das B.A. Studium eine dezidierte sprachlich-philologische Ausbildung. Auf diese Weise wird gewährleistet, dass die Absolvent(inn)en über ein breites Wissens- und Kompetenzspektrum verfügen, das ihnen vielfältige Berufsfelder eröffnet.

Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen:
Erforschung von Religionen und Literaturen des indischen Subkontinents auf Grundlage der Arbeit an und mit Originaltexten.

Wissenschaftliche Beschäftigung mit dem Āyurveda (Traditionelle Indische Medizin), seinen Textgrundlagen und praktischen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten im Rahmen Integrativer Medizin.

Empfohlene Vorkenntnisse:
Sehr gute Lesekenntnisse im Englischen werden empfohlen.

Sprachanforderungen, die während des Studiums zu erfüllen sind:
Erlernung von Sanskrit oder Hindi.

Aufbau des Studiums:
Der Bachelor ist in ein dreisemestriges Grundstudium und ein ebenso langes Aufbaustudium unterteilt.

Fächerkombinationen:
Im Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor kann das Fach Indologie unter den angebotenen Profilen mit allen Fächern kombiniert werden, die sich an dieser Art des Bachelor-Studiums beteiligen. Je nach angestrebtem späterem Tätigkeitsbereich sollte eine entsprechende Fächerkombination gewählt werden.

Berufsfelder:
Der BA-Abschluss Indologie qualifiziert zur religions-, kultur- und literaturvermittelnden Tätigkeit mit Bezug auf den indischen Raum. Berufsfelder finden sich an Universitäten und, bei entsprechender Zusatzqualifikation, in Museen, Bibliotheken, Kultureinrichtungen, im Verlagswesen, im Journalismus oder Tourismus sowie in der Arbeit mit Migrant(inn)en. Hierzu bietet sich die Kombination der Indologie mit anderen Philologien und Studienfächern wie Religionswissenschaft, Ethnologie oder Europäische Ethnologie/Kulturanthropologie an. Bei einem Zweitfach wie Medizin, Moderne Indienstudien, Jura oder VWL ergeben sich zudem neue Möglichkeiten im medizinischen und diplomatischen Bereich sowie der freien Wirtschaft und Politik.