In publica commoda

Indology (M.A.)

Programme: Indology (M.A.)
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Summer and winter semester
Degree programme options: Joint Honours MA in Indology (42 C); module packages: Indology as MA minor subject (36 C/18 C)
Admission requirements for Joint Honours MA: Overview
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Programme description:
Students of the M.A. subject Indology will become proficient in independent academic work as well as the identification and solution of academic problems.
During the B.A. academic programme students studied religion in a wide historical context from its beginnings to the present day. In this course of studies, this background will be built upon by providing deeper knowledge of important individual aspects of Indian religions in their historical, societal, cultural and literary contexts. Detailed knowledge will be added regarding Hindu and Buddhist traditions and the intellectual history of India. Students will also gain a comprehensive overview of certain areas of the performing and visual arts as well as of Indian literature. Due to an increase in their previously acquired knowledge of Sanskrit or Hindi, M.A. students will also become proficient in work on and with difficult primary texts.

Research foci in Göttingen:
The investigation of religions and literature from the Indian subcontinent on the basis of work on and with original texts.

Subject combinations:
In the Master's degree programme, Indology can be combined with all subjects which are involved in this type of Master's programme. Depending upon the intended future area of activity, a corresponding combination of subjects should be selected.

Occupational fields:
The M.A. academic programme in Indology serves as an academic qualification for occupational fields in and outside universities. Occupational fields can be found at universities and, with the relevant additional qualifications (internships, subject combinations), in museums, libraries and cultural establishments as well as in publishing, journalism and tourism and also work with migrants. To this end, combinations of Indology with other philological and general courses of study, such as Religious Studies, Ethnology and European Ethnology/Cultural Anthropology, are available. In the case of a second subject such as Medicine, Modern Indian Studies, Law or Economics, new possibilities are emerging in the fields of medicine and diplomacy as well as free enterprise and politics.

In publica commoda

Indologie (M.A.)

Name des Studienangebots: Indologie
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Indologie (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Indologie (36 C/18 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Überblick
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)



Darstellung des Studienangebots:
Studierende des M.A.-Studienfachs Indologie sollen zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten sowie zum Erkennen und Lösen von wissenschaftlichen Problemen befähigt werden.
Aufbauend auf die im BA-Studiengang erfolgte Beschäftigung mit Religionen in einem historisch breiten Korridor von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart erfolgt in diesem Studiengang eine Vertiefung der Kenntnis wichtiger Einzelaspekte indischer Religionen in ihrem historischen, gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und literarischen Kontext. Es werden Detailkenntnisse zu hinduistischen und buddhistischen Traditionen, zur indischen Geistesgeschichte und ein umfassender Überblick über ausgewählte Bereiche der darstellenden und bildenden Künste sowie Literatur Indiens erworben. Durch die Vertiefung der zuvor erworbenen Sanskrit- oder Hindi-Kenntnisse werden M.A. Studierende außerdem zur Arbeit an und mit schwierigen Primärtexten befähigt.

Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen:
Erforschung von Religionen und Literaturen des indischen Subkontinents auf Grundlage der Arbeit an und mit Originaltexten.

Fächerkombinationen:
Im Masterstudium kann das Fach Indologie unter den angebotenen Profilen mit allen Fächern kombiniert werden, die sich an dieser Art des Master-Studiums beteiligen. Je nach angestrebtem späterem Tätigkeitsbereich sollte eine entsprechende Fächerkombination gewählt werden.

Berufsfelder:
Das M.A.-Studienprogramm Indologie dient der akademischen Qualifikation sowohl für universitäre als auch für außeruniversitäre Tätigkeitsbereiche. Berufsfelder finden sich an Universitäten und, bei entsprechender Zusatzqualifikation (Praktika, Fächerkombination), in Museen, Bibliotheken, Kultureinrichtungen, im Verlagswesen, im Journalismus oder Tourismus sowie in der Arbeit mit Migrant(inn)en. Hierzu bietet sich die Kombination der Indologie mit anderen Philologien und Studienfächern wie Religionswissenschaft, Ethnologie oder Europäische Ethnologie/Kulturanthropologie an. Bei einem Zweitfach wie Medizin, Moderne Indienstudien, Jura oder VWL ergeben sich zudem neue Möglichkeiten im medizinischen und diplomatischen Bereich sowie der freien Wirtschaft und Politik.