In publica commoda

Social Sciences (Ph.D./doctorate)

Subject: Social Sciences (Ph.D./doctorate)
Degree: Doctorate (Dr. disc. pol.) or Ph.D.
Standard period of study: Six semesters
Start: Every winter and summer semester
Admission: Limited admission (application to the Faculty of Social Sciences)
Application Deadline: March 15th (for summer semester) and September 15th (for winter semester)
Language of the programme: German, English

Programme description
The aim of the doctoral programme in Social Sciences at the Faculty of Social Sciences is to qualify the students for taking on responsible tasks in research and education and in non-university fields of occupation. A research-oriented, post-graduate course of education with a set curriculum enables students to master the modern theories and methods of the social sciences, to critically reflect upon them and apply them as well as to produce scientific knowledge. In addition, key qualifications are also conveyed.

The dissertation topic will be selected from a subject that is represented at the Faculty of Social Sciences: Ethnology, Gender Studies, Education , Political Science, Sociology or Sports Science.

The joint object of research of the individual disciplines at the Faculty of Social Sciences is the social action of humans at a historically and socially definable location. Based on current social processes and problems the conditions for individual and collective actions are examined, their cultural, gender and class specific forms described and its effects and consequences on macrosocial as well as microsocial level are examined. The aim is to use this unique combination found only at the Faculty of Social Sciences in Göttingen in order to theoretically and empirically penetrate current fields of science from different perspectives. Theoretical methods of the social sciences are applied in order to do so. The joint Centre of Methods of the Faculty of Social Sciences ensures methodical advising and support for empirical research projects. The research at the Faculty of Social Sciences is mainly formed in the following years with two research foci: “Educational Research: Education and Occupational-Biographical Transitions in the Early Course of Life” and “Globalisation of Economic Activity and Institutional Change”.

Programme structure
The programme is completely modularized. In the first and second year of study, students will take courses on the basics of methods and scientific theories of the social sciences as well as on modern theories in the social sciences. A workshop serving as an opportunity to check on progress and prospects takes place during the lecture-free period in the second year. In the third year of study, the dissertation is the main topic of focus. Doctoral colloquia are offered every year. Good knowledge of English and German are required.

Occupational fields
Academic education and research work in university and non-university research institutes, managerial positions in the field of public relations and media, in administration, knowledge management, international organisations and intercultural transfer, adult education and continuing education, in associations, advisory agencies as well as in marketing and opinion research.

Admission requirements
Degree from a university programme or at a comparable institute of higher education in a discipline represented at the Faculty of Social Sciences. The above average completion of a programme of study is documented by a Master's degree, a “Magister” or “Diplom” examination or a comparable academic degree with a grade of at least “good” (up to 2.5).

In publica commoda

Sozialwissenschaften (Ph.D./Promotion)

Name des Studienangebots: Sozialwissenschaften (Ph.D./Promotion)
Abschluss: Promotion (Dr. disc. pol.) oder Ph.D.
Regelstudienzeit: sechs Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät)
Bewerbungsfristen: 15. September (Wintersemester); 15. März (Sommersemester)




Darstellung des Studienangebots
Ziel des Promotionsstudiums „Sozialwissenschaften“ an der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät ist es, die Studierenden zu qualifizieren, verantwortliche Aufgaben in Forschung und Lehre und in außeruniversitären Berufsfeldern zu übernehmen. Ein forschungsorientierter, curricular festgelegter postgradualer Ausbildungsgang befähigt die Studierenden dazu, die neueren Theorien und Methoden der Sozialwissenschaften zu beherrschen, kritisch zu reflektieren und anzuwenden sowie wissenschaftliche Fachkenntnisse hervorzubringen. Darüber hinaus sollen die Studierenden Schlüsselqualifikationen erwerben.

Das Thema der Dissertation ist aus einem Fach zu wählen, das an der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vertreten ist: Ethnologie, Geschlechterforschung, Erziehungswissenschaft, Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie oder Sportwissenschaften.

Gemeinsamer Forschungsgegenstand der einzelnen Disziplinen in der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät ist das soziale Handeln der Menschen an einem historisch und gesellschaftlich bestimmbaren Ort. Vor dem Hintergrund aktueller gesellschaftlicher Prozesse und Probleme werden Bedingungen individuellen und kollektiven Handelns untersucht, seine kultur-, geschlechts- und schichtenspezifischen Formen beschrieben und seine Auswirkungen und Folgen auf makrosozialer wie auf mikrosozialer Ebene erforscht. Ziel ist es, die an keinem anderen Standort vorzufindende Kombination der in der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vereinten Fächer zu nutzen, um aktuelle Gegenstandsbereiche aus verschiedenen Perspektiven theoretisch und empirisch zu durchdringen. Dabei werden theoriegeleitete sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden angewandt. Das gemeinsame Methodenzentrum der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät stellt die methodische Beratung und Unterstützung bei empirischen Forschungsprojekten sicher. Die Forschungen an der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät werden in den folgenden Jahren vor allem durch zwei Forschungsschwerpunkte bestimmt: „Bildungsforschung: Bildungs- und berufsbiografische Übergänge im frühen Lebensverlauf“ und „Globalisierung wirtschaftlichen Handelns und institutioneller Wandel“.

Aufbau des Studiums
Das modularisierte Studienprogramm sieht im ersten und zweiten Jahr Veranstaltungen zu methodischen und wissenschaftstheoretischen Grundlagen in den Sozialwissenschaften sowie zu neueren Theorien in der Sozialwissenschaft vor. Ein Workshop als „Zwischenbilanz“ findet in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit im 2. Jahr statt. Im dritten Studienjahr steht die Fertigstellung der Dissertation im Vordergrund. Doktorandenkolloquien werden in jedem Studienjahr angeboten. Vorausgesetzt werden gute Kenntnisse der englischen und der deutschen Sprache.

Berufsfelder
akademische Lehr- und Forschungstätigkeiten in universitären und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, Führungspositionen im Bereich von Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Medien, in Verwaltungen, im Wissensmanagement, in internationalen Organisationen und im interkulturellen Transfer, in der Erwachsenenbildung und Weiterbildung, in Verbänden, Beratungsagenturen sowie in der Markt- und Meinungsforschung.

Zugangsvoraussetzung
Abschluss eines Studienganges an einer Universität oder einer vergleichbaren Hochschule in einer Fachrichtung, die an der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vertreten ist. Der überdurchschnittliche Abschluss des Studiums wird durch einen Masterabschluss, eine Magister- oder Diplomprüfung oder einen gleichwertigen akademischen Abschluss mit mindestens der Note „gut“ (bis 2,5) nachgewiesen.