RTG 2455 Benchmark experiments for numerical quantum chemistry

RTG 2455 Benchmark experiments for numerical quantum chemistry

BENCh logo 01

Numerical quantum methods play a central role in chemical research today, with an increasing number of scientific and technological advances relying on model predictions or added theory support. Therefore, it is a general goal of the whole chemistry community to improve the predictive power of such approaches. We believe that an important contribution can be attained by generating benchmark data and frontier experimental evidence. Furthermore, we see it as essential for the future researchers in the field to grow in close contact with both sides of this experience, aided by critical thinking and interdisciplinary education.
The proposed research training group (RTG) “Benchmark Experiments for Numerical Quantum Chemistry” (BENCh) will establish a high-level research programme aiming to provide landmark experiments for quantum chemical methods benchmarking. The students under the programme will benefit from a wide variety of lab techniques and theoretical support, in order to conceive and execute challenging experiments towards the limits of measurement accuracy in each specific field, and/or enabling data gathering in diverse chemical systems/phenomena. The topics will span from gas phase spectrometry, molecular beam techniques, molecular magnetism to X-ray diffraction.
The qualification programme will bear a strong focus on:

• developing a benchmark philosophy in the students – special seminars on quantum mechanical methods, good scientific practice, error analysis and data management.

• building bridges to the theory community at a national and international level – students will be involved in organizing special workshops and blind test challenges aimed at the participation of external groups.

• combination of different approaches to deal with complex systems – each student will receive training in both experimental and theoretical methodologies. The combination of different experimental methods will also be fostered.


Welcome to BENCh

GRK 2455 Bewertende Experimente für die numerische Quantenchemie

GRK 2455 Bewertende Experimente für die numerische Quantenchemie

BENCh logo 01

Numerische Methoden der Quantenmechanik nehmen in der aktuellen chemischen Forschung eine Schlüsselrolle ein. Der wissenschaftliche und technologische Fortschritt hängt zunehmend von Modellvorhersagen und Theorieunterstützung ab. Daher muss es ein gemeinsames Ziel aller Chemiker sein, die Vorhersagekraft solcher Ansätze zu verbessern.Ein wichtiger Beitrag kann darin bestehen, für einen Leistungsvergleich geeignete Schlüsselexperimente zu entwickeln und durchzuführen. Nachwuchsforscher sollten mit beiden Seiten dieser Aktivität vertraut gemacht sowie zu kritischem Denken und interdisziplinärer Bildung angeleitet werden.
Das vorgeschlagene Graduiertenkolleg „Bewertende Experimente für die numerische Quantenchemie“ (BEnch) will ein anspruchsvolles Forschungsprogramm etablieren, in dem Schlüsselexperimente für die quantenmechanische Methodenbeurteilung entwickelt werden. Die Kollegiaten werden von einem breiten Spektrum an experimentellen und theoretischen Fertigkeiten profitieren, um selbst herausfordernde Experimente an den jeweiligen Grenzen der Messgenauigkeit zu entwickeln und durchzuführen sowie Eckdaten zu verschiedenen chemischen Systemen und Phänomenen zu erzeugen und zusammenzutragen. Dabei reichen die Themen von der Gasphasenspektrometrie über Molekularstrahltechniken und molekularen Magnetismus bis hin zur Röntgenbeugung.
Schwerpunkte des Ausbildungsprogramms sollen dabei sein:

• Die Förderung einer Referenzwertkultur bei den Kollegiaten – spezielle Seminare zu quantenchemischen Methoden, guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis, Fehleranalyse, Datenverarbeitung und Speicherung.

• Der Brückenschlag zur Theoriegemeinschaft auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene – Einbindung der Kollegiaten in die Organisation spezieller Workshops und Blindtests unter Beteiligung externer Forschungsgruppen.

• Das Zusammenspiel verschiedener Ansätze zur Beschreibung komplexer Systeme – die Kollegiaten werden experimentell und theoretisch ausgebildet und die Kombination komplementärer und konkurrierender experimenteller Methoden wird gefördert.


Welcome to BENCh