Conference

Conference "Sustainable Land Use"

The Conference Topic

Agricultural and forestry land use systems around the globe face many challenges: Increased demand for food due to population and income growth; climate change and the associated weather fluctuations; changes in land use, especially in developing and emerging countries, as well as globally frequent intensification of production. All these factors are currently endangering important ecosystem functions and thus calling into question the sustainability of land use.
Solutions towards more sustainable land use require an inter- and transdisciplinary perspective in order to incorporate the ecological, economic as well as social dimensions of sustainable land use.

On the basis of current research and ongoing projects, the conference aims to point the way to this integrative perspective and bring science, politics and the public together.The conference will focus on scientific and socio-scientific perspectives on soil that take into account the very different starting situations both in Europe and around the globe. In addition, the social and societal aspects associated with dynamic change in land use systems will be addressed. A third focus is devoted to questions of biodiversity in terrestrial land use systems.

This interdisciplinary approach is the hallmark of the conference series "Science for Peace and Sustainability" conducted by the University of Göttingen, the Association of German Scientists (Vereinigung Deutscher Wissenschaftler e.V.), and the Adam von Trott Foundation. It also forms an essential pillar of the research focus "Sustainable Use of Natural Resources" at the University of Göttingen and also reflects the spectrum of the Centre for Biodiversity and Sustainable Land Use (CBL), which is co-organizing the conference this year.

Konferenz

Konferenz "Nachhaltige Landnutzung"

Herzlichen Dank und auf Wiedersehen!


Mehr als 300 Teilnehmer_innen haben am 15. und 16. November 2019 an der Universität Göttingen über "Nachhaltige Landnutzung" diskutiert. Wir danken alle Referent_innen für ihre spannenden Beiträge und den Teilnehmer_innen für die angeregten Diskussionen. Zur Dokumentation der Konferenz 2019 gibt es unter anderem einen Zusammenschnitt der Diskussion vom Samstagabend auf der Seite vom NDRinfo. Weitere Impressionen und Eindrücke von der Konferenz finden sich in der Bildergalerie und unsem Konferenzvideo.

More than 300 participants discussed "Sustainable Land Use" at the University of Göttingen on 15 and 16 November 2019. We would like to thank all speakers for their exciting contributions and the participants for the lively discussions. For reviewing the conference there is a summary of the discussion on Saturday eveningn available on the NDRinfo website and further impressions of the conference can be found in the picture gallery and our ocnference video.



Bitte beachten Sie: Beim Abspielen dieses Videos werden Daten an Youtube übertragen. Zusätzlich zur Datenschutzerklärung der Universität gelten an dieser Stelle uneingeschränkt die Datenschutzbestimmungen von YouTube.
Please note: When playing this video, data is transferred to Youtube. In addition to the University's privacy policy, the YouTube privacy policy applies here without restriction



Das Konferenzthema

Agrar- und Forstsysteme der Landnutzung sind heute weltweit vielen Herausforderungen ausgesetzt: Gesteigerte Nachfrage nach Lebensmitteln aufgrund von Bevölkerungs- und Einkommenswachstum; der Klimawandel und damit einhergehende Wetterschwankungen; Landnutzungsänderungen vor allem in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern sowie global häufig vorhandene Intensivierung der Produktion. All diese Faktoren führen aktuell zu einer Gefährdung von wichtigen Ökosystemfunktionen und stellen damit die Nachhaltigkeit der Landnutzung in Frage.

Lösungsansätze hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Landnutzung erfordern eine inter- und transdisziplinäre Perspektive, um der ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Dimension der nachhaltigen Landnutzung gerecht zu werden.

Auf der Basis von aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten und laufenden Projekten will die Konferenz Wege zu dieser integrativen Perspektive aufzeigen und Wissenschaft, Politik und Öffentlichkeit ins Gespräch bringen.

Schwerpunkte sind naturwissenschaftliche und gesellschaftswissenschaftliche Perspektiven auf die Land- und Bodennutzung, die die sehr unterschiedlichen Ausgangssituationen sowohl in Europa als auch weltweit berücksichtigen. Darüber hinaus werden die sozialen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekte, die mit dem dynamischen Wandel in Landnutzungssystemen einhergehen, thematisiert. Ein dritter Schwerpunkt widmet sich Fragen der Biodiversität in terrestrischen Landnutzungssystemen.

Diese interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise ist Kennzeichen der von der Universität Göttingen, der Vereinigung Deutscher Wissenschaftler e.V. (VDW) und der Stiftung Adam von Trott ausgerichteten Veranstaltungsreihe „Wissenschaft für Frieden und Nachhaltigkeit“. Sie bildet zudem eine wesentliche Säule des Forschungsschwerpunkts „Nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen“ der Universität Göttingen und spiegelt auch das Spektrum des Zentrums für Biodiversität und Nachhaltige Landnutzung (CBL) wider, welches in diesem Jahr die Konferenz mitausrichtet.