IV. Physikalisches Institut


Festkörper und Nanostrukturen


The IV. Physical Institute is devoted to fundamental research on solid state physics and nanostructures. Our experiments aim at a deep understanding of microscopic and quantum mechanical processes in metals and semiconductors.

We develop sophisticated nanostructure characterization methods with ultimate temporal and spatial resolution. We work on new functional materials for information technology and solid state lighting and we contribute to the further development of silicon based solar cells.

Our faculty participate with high commitment in lectures on undergraduate physics, as well as in advanced courses on solid-state physics and material science. Several advanced lab courses take place in our research laboratories, for example on ultra-short laser pulses, molecular beam epitaxy and the Quantum-Hall effect.

Address

Friedrich-Hund-Platz 1
37077 Göttingen
Tel: 0551 / 39-24542
Fax: 0551 / 39-24560

IV. Physikalisches Institut


Festkörper und Nanostrukturen


Das IV. Physikalische Institut erforscht grundlegende Phänomene in Festkörpern und Nanostrukturen. Unsere Fragestellungen zielen dabei auf das tiefe Verständnis mikroskopischer und quantenmechanischer Prozesse in Metallen und Halbleitern, die wir experimentell untersuchen.

Wir entwickeln modernste Methoden zur Charakterisierung von Nanostrukturen mit höchster Orts- und Zeitauflösung, arbeiten an funktionalen Materialen für die Informationstechnologie und für energieeffiziente Beleuchtung der Zukunft, und leisten einen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung Silizium basierter Solarzellen.

In der Lehre sind wir in den Grundvorlesungen sowie in Veranstaltungen aus dem Schwerpunkt "Festkörper- und Materialphysik" aktiv vertreten. In unseren Laboren bieten wir zahlreiche Fortgeschrittenen Praktika an, die sich beispielsweise mit Ultrakurzpulslasern, Molekularstrahlepitaxie oder dem Quanten-Hall-Effekt befassen.

Adresse

Friedrich-Hund-Platz 1
37077 Göttingen
Tel: 0551 / 39-24542
Fax: 0551 / 39-24560