Museum of Zoology

Museum of Zoology

Located in the Johann Friedrich Blumenbach Institute of Zoology and Anthropology at the University of Göttingen, the Zoological Museum houses more than 100,000 prepared animals in jars, boxes and cabinets. Many of them are valuable treasures, evidence of newly discovered species (holotypes), rare or, in the meantime, extinct species that were gathered together in the 18th, 19th and 20th century from many parts of the world and are proof of the potential of evolution in the animal kingdom.

Johann Friedrich Blumenbach, famous as a naturalist and founder of anthropology, was the first curator at the Königliches Akademische Museum established in 1773. He also supervised the zoological collection that moved to the newly built Museum of Natural History in 1878 in the Berliner Straße. Due to good relations with the great explorers of their time, the collections continually grew along with their importance, and the Museum of Zoology received world recognition.

From the very beginning, the collections served research and teaching purposes. It was only in the middle of the last century that the gates were opened to anyone interested in viewing the diversity of the birds, insects or reptiles. Today, a visit to the Museum of Zoology is an established component for teaching the diversity of species and evolution. Sundays are reserved for families and individual visitors who are looking for the opportunity to gather information on a specific focus of the exhibitions.

In order to live up to these requirements, exhibition rooms have originated in which individual objects are accompanied by explanatory texts and pictures. A highlight is the presentation of a sperm whale skeleton, which occupies almost one-fourth of the exhibition space with its 17 metres. Many other important exhibits are stored in the magazines of the Museum of Zoology for research purposes until they are brought into the light of public attention for special exhibitions. more...

Zoologisches Museum
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Schmetterlinge

Kontakt:

Anschrift:
Berliner Str. 28
37073 Göttingen
Tel.: 0551 39-5524
Führungen und Kinderveranstaltungen:
39-5463 oder 5455
email

Lageplan


Das Museum bleibt am 28.12.2014 geschlossen








Archiv







Das Museum bleibt am 28.12.2014 geschlossen





Willkommen im Zoologischen Museum


Im Johann-Friedrich-Blumenbach-Institut für Zoologie und Anthropologie der Universität Göttingen angesiedelt, beherbergt das Zoologische Museum weit über 100.000 präparierte Tiere in Gläsern, Schachteln und Kästen. Viele davon sind kostbare Schätze, Belege für neu entdeckte Arten (Holotypen), seltene oder inzwischen ausgestorbene Arten, die im 18., 19. und 20. Jahrhundert aus vielen Teilen der Welt zusammengetragen wurden und Belege für das Potenzial der Evolution im Tierreich darstellen.

Johann Friedrich Blumenbach, berühmt als Naturforscher und Begründer der Anthropologie, war der erste Kurator im 1773 gegründeten Königlichen Academischen Museum. Ihm unterstanden auch die Zoologischen Sammlungen, die 1878 in das neu erbaute Naturhistorische Museum in der Berliner Straße umzogen. Durch gute Beziehungen zu den großen Forschungsreisenden ihrer Zeit konnten die Sammlungen kontinuierlich erweitert werden, womit auch ihre Bedeutung wuchs – das Zoologische Museum erlangte Weltgeltung.

Von Beginn an dienten die Sammlungen Forschungs- und Lehrzwecken. Erst Mitte des letzten Jahrhunderts wurden die Pforten auch jenen geöffnet, die aus reinem Interesse die Vielfalt der Vögel, Insekten oder Reptilien betrachten wollten. Heutzutage ist der Besuch des Zoologischen Museums gerade für Schulklassen fester Bestandteil des Unterrichts über Artenvielfalt und Evolution. Der Sonntag ist für Familien und Einzelbesucher reserviert, die die Gelegenheit suchen, sich gezielt zu einem Schwerpunkt der Ausstellungen zu informieren.

Um diesen Bedürfnissen gerecht zu werden, sind Ausstellungsräume entstanden, in denen das einzelne Exponat durch Bilder und Texte erläutert wird. Ein Höhepunkt ist die Präsentation des Skeletts eines Pottwals, das mit 17 Meter Länge fast ein Viertel der Ausstellungsfläche beansprucht. Viele andere bedeutende Exponate werden in den Magazinen des Zoologischen Museums zu Forschungszwecken verwahrt, bis sie für Sonderausstellungen an das Licht der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit geholt werden. mehr...